Has anybody actually used VST connect

All topics on the VST Connect products and Studio Pass
andyp13
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by andyp13 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 9:00 pm

Reading this forum, It seems that VST connect doesn’t actually work yet Steinberg are still trying to sell it?
I was thinking about buying it but tried SE first (which doesn’t work) reading the posts here is quite frightening as it just doesn’t seem to work for anyone.....
Has anybody found a working alternative?

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9363
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:50 pm

Yes, I have used it (both SE and Pro) over the past few days, and have it working. I've not yet done a whole session, just testing functionality. As was indicated in your other thread, it's possible to have a mismatch of versions, I would try the latest Performer version and the latest Cubase Pro version on the engineer side.

If you want to test I'm happy to help, shoot me a pm.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

andyp13
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by andyp13 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:56 pm

-steve- wrote:
Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:50 pm
Yes, I have used it (both SE and Pro) over the past few days, and have it working. I've not yet done a whole session, just testing functionality. As was indicated in your other thread, it's possible to have a mismatch of versions, I would try the latest Performer version and the latest Cubase Pro version on the engineer side.

If you want to test I'm happy to help.
Hi Steve, that would be great.. Im trying to test it myself with VST Connect SE on my PC and VST Performer on my MacBook they see each others names and the Performer lights up etc but Connect remains grayed out and lifeless.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9363
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:57 pm

Are you using the Id login or the Steinberg.net login?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

andyp13
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by andyp13 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:59 pm

Im using my steinberg login details

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9363
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:03 pm

Try using the Id login instead to connect your computers, and they also have to be on separate networks for SE to work. But there's a VST Connect Pro trial available.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

andyp13
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by andyp13 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:06 pm

Not sure what you mean by ID Log in?

andyp13
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by andyp13 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:09 pm

OK I click the 'ID' box put in my user name and I get a number

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9363
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:10 pm

Then you send that number to person running Performer
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9363
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:18 pm

What version of Cubase are you running?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

andyp13
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by andyp13 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:19 pm

Got Somebody tried to connect to you, but uses an incompatible version

Im runing 10.5

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9363
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:20 pm

Got Somebody tried to connect to you, but uses an incompatible version
Yes, i saw the dialog.

The exact version number. 10.5.12?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

andyp13
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by andyp13 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:21 pm

10.5.0 Build 68

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9363
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:24 pm

Update to the latest version, we can't test otherwise.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

andyp13
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by andyp13 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:26 pm

doing it now

andyp13
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by andyp13 » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:41 pm

I have lights - i can hear you :-)

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9363
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by -steve- » Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:49 pm

We got it working. Main thing was the OP had to update to the latest Cubase Pro release.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

User avatar
musicullum
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by musicullum » Tue Mar 24, 2020 2:36 pm

great, good to know!
musi

andyp13
Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by andyp13 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 3:49 pm

I can now connect but cant record :-( I know its something I need to do at my end, is there a simple setup guide I can access?

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9363
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by -steve- » Tue Mar 24, 2020 5:34 pm

You gotta read this carefully: http://connectvst.com
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

User avatar
musicullum
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by musicullum » Tue Mar 24, 2020 5:35 pm

check https://connectvst.com. What is "my end"? In Cubase or Nuendo, access VST Cloud/VST Connect/Create Performer Track, set it to record and you should be fine.
musi

User avatar
musicullum
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by musicullum » Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:58 am

musi

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by fuzzydude » Sat Mar 28, 2020 8:19 am

-steve- wrote:
Mon Mar 23, 2020 11:49 pm
We got it working. Main thing was the OP had to update to the latest Cubase Pro release.
Does the latest vst connect pro work successfully in the latest version of nuendo (just released)?

I installed the new version of vst connect pro, currently running nuendo 10.2.20. In a new session it freezes and also getting blank gui when I close and reopen the plugin. The the performer, monitor and cue plugins in the session also have blank gui’s.

Note. I can successfully connect to a remote artist during trial just cannot proceed due to the regular freezes and blank gui issue.

Both myself and performer are using the latest beta release 4.0.40.180.
Last edited by fuzzydude on Sat Mar 28, 2020 1:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Comps+OS: Macbook Pro's 10.13.6 I PC's - i7's - M2's - SSD's I Win10 Pro x64 (V-1903) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1873
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by Puma0382 » Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:22 am

No mention of Nuendo support on the website
Last edited by Puma0382 on Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:28 am, edited 2 times in total.
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.12, WaveLab Pro v10.0.20, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.1, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Has anybody actually used VST connect

Post by fuzzydude » Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:26 am

Puma0382 wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:22 am
No mention of Nuendo support on the website...
I know, hence the question. I do believe we're on the radar as its an option within Nuendo and I know they are working on the ADR function (Nunedo only) for VSTConnect Pro. Thanks
Comps+OS: Macbook Pro's 10.13.6 I PC's - i7's - M2's - SSD's I Win10 Pro x64 (V-1903) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

Post Reply

Return to “VST Connect”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests