Page 1 of 1

VST Connect SE Input Channel insert error

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 2:44 am
by Darian88
Hello Cubase Pros,
I am a long time Cubase user since SX3 and very familiar with the DAW. However, I am new to using VST connect SE. I continue to get an error stating that the plug-In needs to be inserted on an Input channel. I have manually added it onto different channels and still get the message. I've also read the manual and search this forum and others to find a resolution, but without success. It's not impossible that I might have overlooked the solution in my eagerness and time constraints to get the matter resolved. I would greatly appreciate any assistance from any of you that are using this feature frequently and successfully in your business. I appreciate your time and support.


Thanks.

Re: VST Connect SE Input Channel insert error

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 2:52 pm
by Matthias Quellmann
Hi Darian,

I am sorry that VST Connect is giving you a hard time.

We have improved the workflow for setting up a session to just a single click in the latest version.

I have attached a template for a VST Connect SE session. Have a look at the setup to find out where you took the wrong turn. I guess you have tried to insert the plug-in in an audio track instead of an input channel.

download/file.php?id=6750

Re: VST Connect SE Input Channel insert error

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 3:59 pm
by musicullum
Darian88 wrote:Hello Cubase Pros,
I am a long time Cubase user since SX3 and very familiar with the DAW. However, I am new to using VST connect SE. I continue to get an error stating that the plug-In needs to be inserted on an Input channel. I have manually added it onto different channels and still get the message.
An Input channel is one with a red fader handle (can only be created from the devices/VST Connections menu/Inputs tab), you must not insert it in a regular audio track channel that you create from the arrangement or mixer.
You should use the "Create VST Connect" function along with an empty project; if that is not available (older Cubase versions), pls try to create a project from the VST Connect template.

Re: VST Connect SE Input Channel insert error

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:53 pm
by Darian88
Thanks Gentlemen. I truly appreciate the support with this matter, especially supplying the VST Connect Template. After studying the template, my project setup was incorrect in a few areas. However, I am still getting the same message with the template provided. I made no adjustments to it, only opened the VST connect editor and received the same message (see attachment). Is this normal behavior when opening the editor? Thanks again.

Re: VST Connect SE Input Channel insert error

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:53 am
by Matthias Quellmann
Hi Darian,

have you tried it with a clean project? You are on Cubase 8 right. So please start a new project and just go to projects/vst connect/vst connect se/create vst connect.

Re: VST Connect SE Input Channel insert error

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:48 pm
by Darian88
Thank you Matthias. I got the issue resolved.

Re: VST Connect SE Input Channel insert error

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:26 pm
by spanax
please tell the rest of us how you got the issue resolved. Thank you.

Re: VST Connect SE Input Channel insert error

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:11 pm
by musicullum
Clean project, project menu (Cubase 8) or VST Cloud menu (Cubase 9), VST Connect/Create VST Connect.