Edit In Place

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
jgg
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:25 am
Contact:

Edit In Place

Post by jgg » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:23 am

I have C8.5, and just noticed that there are no icons in the MIDI tracks for Edit In Place. All the icons described in the manual are present up to Show Lanes. Then none of the following ones appear. Where are they?

I can go to the MIDI menu, and open Edit In Place that way, it works fine. But, because there's no icon on the MIDI track, I can't turn Edit In Place off!! The MIDI menu doesn't do that, it seems. So how can I get rid of Edit In Place when I'm done?

I've checked Preferences, and can't find anything there related to icons on the tracks, or Edit In Place.
Thanks for any help.
Win7, full C8.5.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3014
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Edit In Place

Post by Romantique Tp » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:58 am

Several of these buttons are optional, you have to customize the track controls if you want them to show up.

The key command for edit in-place is Ctrl+Shift+i.
To close the editor, press Ctrl+Shift+i again or press Enter.

The Lower Zone MIDI editor in Cubase 9.5 is more convenient so you'll probably not use this much if you ever upgrade. I would recommend remembering the shortcut instead of adding this button to your track controls.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

jgg
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 5:25 am
Contact:

Re: Edit In Place

Post by jgg » Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:46 am

Thank you! I'm wondering how to customize the track controls, should I want to include any of the other items shown in the manual...?

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3014
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Edit In Place

Post by Romantique Tp » Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:54 am

Click this little gear icon to the bottom right of the track list:
https://i.imgur.com/d1kwcxM.png

Cubase includes some track control presets by default. You can pick another one by clicking the bottom left of the track list. (The area where it says "Standard" in my screenshot)

Note that MIDI and Instrument tracks can have different controls.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

firebird3737
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:48 am
Contact:

Re: Edit In Place

Post by firebird3737 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Thanks for the tip...edit in place is a gem if you know how to get in, get out...again, use the great tip suggested above, and add the icon to your track control presets - then, click on, click off on the icon to open/close edit in place

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2675
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Edit In Place

Post by raino » Wed Jul 18, 2018 10:05 pm

firebird3737 wrote:
Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:18 pm
Thanks for the tip...edit in place is a gem if you know how to get in, get out...again, use the great tip suggested above, and add the icon to your track control presets - then, click on, click off on the icon to open/close edit in place
Wait until you see the Lower Zone in Cubase 9.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest