Can not find a device. Please connect the device.

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
OzMazAU
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:36 pm
Contact:

Can not find a device. Please connect the device.

Post by OzMazAU » Fri Sep 23, 2016 7:30 pm

Hi Folks.
I'm after some guidance.

Every now and then, Cubase freezes and I am forced to close it via Task Manager.
When I do this Cubase loses the sound card I have selected and reverts back to Generic Low Latency ASIO driver.
I use a Roland Quad-Capture device to handle sound and MIDI.

I then do the following:
1. Open Device Setup.
2. Select VST Audio System in the devices tree.
3. I select QUAD-CAPTURE from the drop down list for field ASIO Driver.
4. Cubase asks me "Do you want to switch the ASIO driver?"
5. I click on the Switch button.
6. Cubase then informs me that "Can not found a device. Please connect the device."

The only way forward is to restart Windows, start Cubase and all is fine, I can select QUAD-CAPTURE.

Restarting Cubase does not solve the behaviour.

Help!
Why does Cubase complain?

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4464
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can not find a device. Please connect the device.

Post by Grim » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:21 pm

Are you using a USB2 or USB3 port?

Have you disabled USB selective suspend?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

OzMazAU
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Can not find a device. Please connect the device.

Post by OzMazAU » Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:09 pm

Hi Grim,

I'm using USB2.

I've disabled USB Selective Suspend, it was active.

Now to wait for another 'freeze'.

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4464
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can not find a device. Please connect the device.

Post by Grim » Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:47 pm

USB2 is a better bet for this interface. Hopefully selective suspend will help.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

beanstalk40
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:43 am
Contact:

Re: Can not find a device. Please connect the device.

Post by beanstalk40 » Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:17 pm

I used quad capture for almost 3 years and faced the exact same issue very often... never found a solution... i'd just resume working after a windows and cubase restart... quite annoying... finally found a workaround by using the quad capture's physical ins and outs but with ASIO4all...

Have now shifted to an Audient ID4... havent faced this problem since...
Machine 1 - WIN 7 x64, Cubase 9 Pro, Intel Core i7 4790k, Gigabyte GA-Z97M-D3H, 16GB RAM, EMU 1820M

Machine 2 (laptop) - WIN 8.1 x64, Cubase 9 Pro, HP Envy J111TX, Core i7 4700MQ, 8GB RAM, Audient ID4

OzMazAU
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Can not find a device. Please connect the device.

Post by OzMazAU » Tue Nov 07, 2017 4:56 pm

What I do is disconnect the USB cable from the back of Quad Capture and after a few seconds put it back in.
Windows now finds Quad Capture.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests