Solo!

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Pichen
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:14 am
Contact:

Solo!

Post by Pichen » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:05 pm

Hi,

Probably easy task for some hardcore pro but I do have hard time finding a solution from "preferences".
Soloing key "S" works only on the main window, if there's another active window it won't recognise the function. It used to work like that on older versions as I remember. Total time waster, hopefully somebody knows better.

Andre

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12276
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Solo!

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:31 pm

Hi,

Do you mean the Key Command? This doesn't work at all Windows. But it should work in Project window, MixConsole and Channel Settings Window. Doesn't work in Editors.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Pichen
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Solo!

Post by Pichen » Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:51 pm

Yes, that's what I meant. I forgot to "always on top" for Plug-ins but it doesn't work for Channel Settings, can't find any preferences for that.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12276
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Solo!

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:15 am

Sorry, I was wrong, it doesn't work in the Channel Settings Window.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Solo!

Post by JMCecil » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:28 pm

No it doesn't work. Yes it is irritating. There are many, many, many complaints and FRs around the crappy keycommand targeting that resulted from the addition of the mixconsole. This many years later and it still isn't sorted out.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Pichen
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:14 am
Contact:

Re: Solo!

Post by Pichen » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:56 pm

Thanks for making things clear, JMCecil!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3698
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Solo!

Post by JMCecil » Mon Feb 19, 2018 7:14 pm

I'm actually kind of touchy on this subject :) I have tendonitis in my hands, so I use the keyboard over the mouse whenever possible. Having the windowing/focus all jacked up has caused me no ends of trouble. To this day I still have trouble making sure I have the focus on the correct window. It is not consistent for when focus is required. On top of the focus issues, the addition of the OSX oriented "application bar" has added unnecessary complexity to the tabbing process on Windows. Although still stupidly cumbersome on Windows, the tabbing consistency has improved considerably in C9 and 9.5.

So, in general you need to make sure that the thing you are trying to do is in focus prior to hitting the keycommand. It's not always easy, especially if you are on a roll. Maybe C10 will see efforts to fix keycommand targeting. But, I wouldn't hold my breath.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests