Sustain pedal mutes track

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
TavernSenses
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:08 pm
Contact:

Sustain pedal mutes track

Post by TavernSenses » Sat Mar 31, 2018 2:42 pm

When I press the sustain pedal of my keyboard, a certain track in my project is muted, even when its "record enable" button is deactivated. When I press it again it is unmuted.

This of course is unwanted, and slipped in somewhere per accident. The problem is, I don't know what "accident". That track appears to be identical in its input and channel settings to all the other tracks. So can't figure it out why this happens, and only to that track. Anyone?
DAW: Cubase Elements 9.5, Libraries: EastWest Symphonic Gold keyboard: StudioLogic NumaCompact2, PC: 6 cores AMD Ryzen 5 1600 processor, 16 GB RAM, X370 MSI motherboard, OS: Windows 10, audio hardware: no separate sound card, pair of Logitec PC speakers / subwoofer + headphones (both with 3.5mm stereo plug)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4976
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sustain pedal mutes track

Post by Grim » Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:44 pm

Is your keyboards midi i/o assigned to any remote device in your device setup?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

TavernSenses
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sustain pedal mutes track

Post by TavernSenses » Wed May 16, 2018 3:18 pm

Grim wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:44 pm
Is your keyboards midi i/o assigned to any remote device in your device setup?
Sorry, been away from Cubase for a while. Nope, no other device. By the way, it affects all tracks now. They all turn mute as soon as I press the sustain pedal. When I release it, they unmute.

I check the activity on MIDI-OX. It says "40" for DATA1 and "7F" (=127) for DATA2 when I press the sustain pedal, and "40" for DATA1 and "00" for DATA2 when I release the sustain pedal. Guess DATA2 is the on/off channel with 7F for "on" and 00 for "off".

The outgoing midi channel is the same as for the outgoing key presses and releases. The pedal works fine with my keyboard when I play it stand-alone (it has on-board sound).
Last edited by TavernSenses on Wed May 16, 2018 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DAW: Cubase Elements 9.5, Libraries: EastWest Symphonic Gold keyboard: StudioLogic NumaCompact2, PC: 6 cores AMD Ryzen 5 1600 processor, 16 GB RAM, X370 MSI motherboard, OS: Windows 10, audio hardware: no separate sound card, pair of Logitec PC speakers / subwoofer + headphones (both with 3.5mm stereo plug)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4976
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sustain pedal mutes track

Post by Grim » Wed May 16, 2018 5:38 pm

So you definitely have NO remote devices listed in your device setup, like in this pic??

Image
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

TavernSenses
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sustain pedal mutes track

Post by TavernSenses » Wed May 16, 2018 6:07 pm

Sorry, thought you meant "physical device". Yes, the "Generic Remote" and the "VST Quick Controls". Can the sustain pedal controller (I guess that's CC64) be manipulated somewhere in this dialogue box?
DAW: Cubase Elements 9.5, Libraries: EastWest Symphonic Gold keyboard: StudioLogic NumaCompact2, PC: 6 cores AMD Ryzen 5 1600 processor, 16 GB RAM, X370 MSI motherboard, OS: Windows 10, audio hardware: no separate sound card, pair of Logitec PC speakers / subwoofer + headphones (both with 3.5mm stereo plug)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4976
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sustain pedal mutes track

Post by Grim » Wed May 16, 2018 6:22 pm

You can probably just de-assign the Studiologic as Midi Input and midi output for the generic remote.
Unless you have a good reason for it to be assigned.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

TavernSenses
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sustain pedal mutes track

Post by TavernSenses » Wed May 16, 2018 6:30 pm

Thx for putting me on the right track, Grim. Have read the manual section on the "Remote Device", which now makes sense. Through the "learn" function have attributed the CC64 function to Fader 1 to Fader 16, each for a different MIDI channel (1-16). For some reason, I lost general sound, but at least I can see visually that the MIDI input continues when I keep the pedal pressed, so it must be working. Also, the pedal no longer has any effect on the mute buttons!
DAW: Cubase Elements 9.5, Libraries: EastWest Symphonic Gold keyboard: StudioLogic NumaCompact2, PC: 6 cores AMD Ryzen 5 1600 processor, 16 GB RAM, X370 MSI motherboard, OS: Windows 10, audio hardware: no separate sound card, pair of Logitec PC speakers / subwoofer + headphones (both with 3.5mm stereo plug)

TavernSenses
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sustain pedal mutes track

Post by TavernSenses » Wed May 16, 2018 6:38 pm

That's so funny. Keeping the pedal pressed now switches the volume of one of the tracks to zero. At least it no longer affects the mute buttons.
DAW: Cubase Elements 9.5, Libraries: EastWest Symphonic Gold keyboard: StudioLogic NumaCompact2, PC: 6 cores AMD Ryzen 5 1600 processor, 16 GB RAM, X370 MSI motherboard, OS: Windows 10, audio hardware: no separate sound card, pair of Logitec PC speakers / subwoofer + headphones (both with 3.5mm stereo plug)

TavernSenses
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sustain pedal mutes track

Post by TavernSenses » Wed May 16, 2018 6:45 pm

OK, I have deleted the entire content of the "Generic Device", and everything works FINE :D !!! Touch wood.
DAW: Cubase Elements 9.5, Libraries: EastWest Symphonic Gold keyboard: StudioLogic NumaCompact2, PC: 6 cores AMD Ryzen 5 1600 processor, 16 GB RAM, X370 MSI motherboard, OS: Windows 10, audio hardware: no separate sound card, pair of Logitec PC speakers / subwoofer + headphones (both with 3.5mm stereo plug)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4976
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sustain pedal mutes track

Post by Grim » Wed May 16, 2018 6:52 pm

You could just have highlighted it on the left and hit the minus button to remove it rather than deleting it's contents....but I guess it gets you to the same endpoint ;)
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests