eLicenser error message

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
vkinetic
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 2:58 pm
Location: Bundeena, Sydney, Australia
Contact:

eLicenser error message

Post by vkinetic » Sun Apr 29, 2018 2:30 pm

When I open either Wavelab 8 or Cubase Pro 8.5 I often (although not always) get the following error message:

eLicenser Control- Error

"Application 'eLicenser Runtime DLL' has caused the following error

USBDeviceOS_Finish expected but received"

I have updated to the latest eLicenser Control Centre 6.10.7.6225 and also ran the maintenance cleanup but I still get the message often. However there doesn't seem to be any impact on either application (or at least I haven't come across any yet)

I am running Win 10 Pro 64 bit build 1709

I'm simply reporting this as the developers might want to know since so far there doesn't seem to be any impact on my system. I tried to do this on the eLicenser web site but ended up on a merry go round that ended up at these forums.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser error message

Post by Romantique Tp » Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:33 pm

This could mean that your eLicenser is dying. It's a good idea to buy a new one. All you have to do is connect your new dongle to your computer, and drag and drop your licenses using the eLicenser Control Center.

If you're still using the Cubase SX 1-era dongle (very long, blue), then replacing it with a new one will also make Cubase perform considerably snappier.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

vkinetic
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 2:58 pm
Location: Bundeena, Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: eLicenser error message

Post by vkinetic » Mon Apr 30, 2018 5:02 am

Thank you. Yes mine is a long and blue one. But when I look at one of the suppliers it looks the same or similar to mine:

https://www.turramusic.com.au/Pages/Cat ... ?CIID=2452

Does this one look like the current one?:

https://www.storedj.com.au/steinberg-key-usb-elicenser

Thanks very much for your help

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser error message

Post by Romantique Tp » Mon Apr 30, 2018 5:11 am

These are the different eLicenser models:
https://vgy.me/OT5qYG.jpg

The two to the left are the ones that are most likely to stop working. The first one is the one that has performance issues.

If you're able to contact that store via email, ask them if they have an eLicenser with this box:
https://vgy.me/6bxXDP.jpg
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

vkinetic
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 2:58 pm
Location: Bundeena, Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: eLicenser error message

Post by vkinetic » Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:56 pm

Will do, thanks again Romantique

vkinetic
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 2:58 pm
Location: Bundeena, Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: eLicenser error message

Post by vkinetic » Sat May 05, 2018 2:14 pm

Romantique Tp wrote:
Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:33 pm
This could mean that your eLicenser is dying. It's a good idea to buy a new one. All you have to do is connect your new dongle to your computer, and drag and drop your licenses using the eLicenser Control Center.

If you're still using the Cubase SX 1-era dongle (very long, blue), then replacing it with a new one will also make Cubase perform considerably snappier.
Thank you - I have purchased the latest (short) eLicenser dongle. I have plugged it into the computer after removing the old one and started the eLicenser Control Panel but my licenses aren't there (except for one software license which I don't even know what product its for)

So how do I get my licenses onto the new dongle?

Thanks

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser error message

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat May 05, 2018 2:25 pm

You have to connect both eLicensers to the same computer and drag and drop them into the new eLicenser.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

vkinetic
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 2:58 pm
Location: Bundeena, Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: eLicenser error message SOLVED

Post by vkinetic » Sat May 05, 2018 2:27 pm

Yes sorry all sorted - thanks so much for your help

Eboy
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:59 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser error message

Post by Eboy » Sun May 13, 2018 3:21 pm

Sorry to hijack the thread - is it possible to hold the license on two dongles for two computers - its a pain taking a dongle place to place?

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: eLicenser error message

Post by Romantique Tp » Sun May 13, 2018 4:45 pm

Not currently, but this might change in the near future.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests