mp3 import cuts file length

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
chednb
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:25 pm
Contact:

mp3 import cuts file length

Post by chednb » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:28 am

Hi guys!

When I do an audio export in wav (44.1kHz, 16bit) and mp3 (44.1kHz, 128kbit), the compiled files have different file lengths after importing them again in Cubase Pro 8.5.30. The mp3 is to short (see attachment).

But when i measure the file length of the exported audio files in WaveLab, the wav and mp3 file have both exactly the same length as it should be...
What's going wrong here? Is there an import option in Cubase for mp3 files (didn't find any preference)? Or is this an other problem related to the file format of mp3 (due to compression or something else...??)?

cheers
Attachments
mp3-wav.png
(30.77 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Win10 Pro 64bit v.1903 | Nuendo 10 latest | i7-4820K 3.7GHz | 32GB DDR3 RAM | RME Fireface UFX+

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3785
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: mp3 import cuts file length

Post by Prock » Fri Jun 08, 2018 12:59 pm

I'm not sure but, I read somewhere that this is cause by the sample rate(?).

Regardless, I would try moving the end marker a bit more to the right to catch the whole file. Then cut it if necessary.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

chednb
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:25 pm
Contact:

Re: mp3 import cuts file length

Post by chednb » Fri Jun 08, 2018 2:58 pm

mmhhh... but I think the problem is the import. The exported files have exactly the same length.
Files are 44.1 and the session is also 44.1, so why should be there any problmes with the sample rate while / after importing?
Thanks for your advice, but I don't want to work around, in my opinion, this should work in a "pro" DAW. :D
Win10 Pro 64bit v.1903 | Nuendo 10 latest | i7-4820K 3.7GHz | 32GB DDR3 RAM | RME Fireface UFX+

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3785
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: mp3 import cuts file length

Post by Prock » Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:52 pm

I agree that it should work with no issue. But, I have seen this same thing reported a few times recently. Search the forum for what was discussed and fix (if any).

My use of the term "sample rate" is probably wrong. My searching seems to bring up using a higher latency setting (buffer size). Who knows... again, search the forum if no one replies.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

dalton
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: mp3 import cuts file length

Post by dalton » Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:59 pm

I am having the same problem. When I import the mp3 into another project the last 7 seconds are cutoff, but the files on its own is fine. Any updates on this?

arve.furset
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: mp3 import cuts file length

Post by arve.furset » Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:57 pm

imported mp3 always is too long and wrong startpoint. Big problem when importing mp3 from other DAWs and working further on arrangement in Cubase.
Wav import is correct length. No problem in Logic and Ableton Live.
please fix this asap.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests