GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

see the video.

(note: the video capturing process itself may be taxing the CPU, but the behaviour is exactly the same as on the video when screen capturing is not taking place.)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1c399ibujuwi9 ... w.mp4?dl=0
(download for better quality compared to streaming from a browser.)
Last edited by lukasbrooklyn on Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by enjneer »

For me, the GUI has been very laggy too. Instantly noticeable. Looks like when frames start getting dropped in a video game.

Is this the price of ASIO Guard 2?
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

User avatar
vanhaze3000
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by vanhaze3000 »

For me, navigating in C8's GUI doesn't feel snappier than C7 at all.

Another example:

Audiowarp a complete track of about 3.30 min length and open that in Sample Editor.
Now zoom in and out ; the GUI lag is (still) horrible.

I am on OSX 10.9.5 , C8, ,macbook 2011, SSD, 8 gig ram.
Macbook Pro Retina 2015 * OSX Catalina 10.15.7

User avatar
stereolost
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 5:49 am
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by stereolost »

Same here. Empty projects seem snappier, large projects are awful.
3.49 hHz Intel Core i7 16GB RAM
UAD Apollo Thunderbolt
OSX 10.8.4 - Cubase 8
Komplete 9U, East West CCC, Omnisphere, Superior Drummer, Slate Digital, KVR Freeware

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by Jalcide »

Yup. I'm seeing it especially with meters like the BX Meters. It tends to get worse over time, too.

It's often why I reboot.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

so can this be moved to the issues section? it's a vague description, yet a slightly annoying issue, and doesn't seem to be an isolated case given the responses here. i don't know how to explain the problem better, there no are steps required to 'reproduce' per se..
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

claesbjo
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by claesbjo »

Switching between screen sets is very slow on my 2010 3.33 mac pro. 'takes like a second or 2 to switch..too long in the heat of the moment.
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. osx 10.10.1. Cubase 8.0.20, Logic PRO 10.1

claesbjo
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by claesbjo »

lukasbrooklyn wrote:see the video.

(note: the video capturing process itself may be taxing the CPU, but the behaviour is exactly the same as on the video when screen capturing is not taking place.)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/s5yz3fis4bfpv ... w.mp4?dl=0
(download for better quality compared to streaming from a browser.)
Interesting, this is how it has been on my Mac Pro 2010 all the time, so no wonder I´ve not noticed any difference in the event-dragging operations. Dragging events with waveforms in them have have sometimes well..been a drag.. :roll:

Maybe this is a new way of meeting the old "PC is much snappier then OS X" debate..Instead of increasing OS X GUI performance, they decrease the PC GUI performance..sorted!
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. osx 10.10.1. Cubase 8.0.20, Logic PRO 10.1

RICCSWE
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:36 am
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by RICCSWE »

Same problem for me, very laggy gui. When aero is of it is slightly better but still very laggy graphical performance.
C7 is a lot more snappy.

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

claesbjo wrote:
lukasbrooklyn wrote:see the video.

(note: the video capturing process itself may be taxing the CPU, but the behaviour is exactly the same as on the video when screen capturing is not taking place.)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/s5yz3fis4bfpv ... w.mp4?dl=0
(download for better quality compared to streaming from a browser.)
Interesting, this is how it has been on my Mac Pro 2010 all the time, so no wonder I´ve not noticed any difference in the event-dragging operations. Dragging events with waveforms in them have have sometimes well..been a drag.. :roll:

Maybe this is a new way of meeting the old "PC is much snappier then OS X" debate..Instead of increasing OS X GUI performance, they decrease the PC GUI performance..sorted!
that is platform socialism for ya.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

Ok, another example of C8 gui slugishness I found is when horizontally zooming in and out while the project is playing. The project cursor will, while resizing takes place, momentarily show up a couple bars away from its intended position, then return to where it belongs (a matter of dozens of ms, an issue nontheless). C7 did not exhibit this issue.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

bump for tips / suggestions / explanations.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

patcub
Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by patcub »

yes we want snapiness ! :D

dlpmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by dlpmusic »

enjneer wrote:For me, the GUI has been very laggy too. Instantly noticeable. Looks like when frames start getting dropped in a video game.

Is this the price of ASIO Guard 2?
Yes... This is what I am seeing. I am driving a very large multi monitor setup with a 4k TV at 3840 x 2160. I have a QuickTime running inside Cubase as well. I see cubase's counter occasionally drop frames as well as the QuickTime. The worse part is the cursor stutters a bit. I spent half the day trouble shooting trying different video cards and drivers and then finally opened the same sequence in 7.53 and it was smooth as can be.

Cubase 8 is running incredibly zippy for me in my giant 2000+ track template but the graphics are taxing the computer for sure compared to 7.53.
Cubase 10.x, I7 8 5960k Core, 32 gb
Halion 6.x, Large VE PRO setup with about 3000 Tracks

https://www.samplefuel.com

MrSmith
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:57 am
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by MrSmith »

RICCSWE wrote:C7 is a lot more snappy.
Words I never thought I'd agree with

It's pretty bad, as depicted in OPs video. Vertical rezooming also got more sluggish. The whole experience is a lot choppier than 7.5

It's these sort of quality-of-life DAW issues that are most important to me. I'm not sure how much of the user base this issue actually affects. Those of us w/ "orchestral" templates, whose track counts are in the hundreds (thousands in my case), definitely suffer because the more [visible] tracks you have, the more sluggish the GUI gets (esp. vertical zooming).

I'm aware that it's likely unrealistic to expect that the GUI-response could remain unaffected by the track count, however, it seems that a topic like this is very low-priority for DAW developers, especially SB. I eagerly await the day when I can see something like "Performance - GUI optimized on W7/OSX, functions smoother" in a change log

Until then, I'm happily producing on 7.5. Man I missed those small fonts 8-)

So No Music 2

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by So No Music 2 »

Just a shot. I was having this trouble when I first installed Cubase 8. I finally tracked it down to the fact that mediabay had reset itself to scanning my entire C: drive and my F: drive (where I have "My Documents") and for some reason it would never finish.

I finally reset it to the one folder I had in 7, and performance (including laggy gui) were instantly better. Though I still think 8 needs better gpu to behave as smoothly as 7. I do video editng, so I have a pretty high end card.

Maybe this will help someone.

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

reported some of this to the Issues:

http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 30&t=71990
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

themarqueeyears
Junior Member
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by themarqueeyears »

On my system using an average amount of tracks for a pop song I'm finding the big stand out feature of C8 over C7.5 is the fact the GUI is way way snappier - like lightening fast!

I'm on a pro built PC workstation for audio.

Maybe if I ran very large projects then I would get this issue?

MrSmith
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:57 am
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by MrSmith »

8.0.5 gathering dust over here. Has anyone fixed this issue?

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

MrSmith wrote:8.0.5 gathering dust over here. Has anyone fixed this issue?
not that i know of. it's not been officially confirmed either (please correct me if i'm wrong). dtto about c8 for these reasons; i haven't run it in over 2 months.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

hillbrad3wn
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 12:06 am
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by hillbrad3wn »

A huge +1 for this problem. One of the biggest parts I notice is just scrolling through the mixer window...so much laggier than C6. I am on win 7 with a very fast PC and this is just unacceptable. Working with a few tracks probably wouldn't show this problem (cause you aren't even scrolling in the mix window!) but when working with big projects ANY amount of speed loss from past versions is just a deal breaker. Get it together Steinberg. Needs to be fixed in the next update

MrSmith
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 8:57 am
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by MrSmith »

Could someone who works at Steinberg please address this issue: http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 30&t=71990 ?

This issue is only relevant for projects that have high track counts. In a session with <50 tracks, you wouldn't encounter any choppiness at all.

High-track count performance seems to be degrading as SB is releasing new versions and adding other features.

I wish they would acknowledge this issue. Even if it is to just say "There's nothing we can do about it"

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

the frustrating part is when you hear about an issue like the one where mixconsole blinks white before it actually comes up, that it is how it's designed.

yes, if you're just a programmer ticking boxes, you could say that - but it just shows noone in-house is really using the software you're making. if that were the case, glitches like these would not pass as something that's not too important and may or may not be dealt with at a later time.

to be sure, one can still make music with it, but hopefully you are aware you're making your software the opposite of 'pro' (sic).
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

any official word on this?
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

MERC476
Member
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:28 pm
Contact:

Re: GUI in fact laggier on C8 compared to C7

Post by MERC476 »

RICCSWE wrote:Same problem for me, very laggy gui. When aero is of it is slightly better but still very laggy graphical performance.
C7 is a lot more snappy.
How can you run C8 without Aero theme? I thought it absolutely had to be on. Thanks

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests