Moving Content From C Drive

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
xenteq
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:59 pm
Contact:

Moving Content From C Drive

Post by xenteq » Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:24 am

Has anyone found a reliable way of moving the installed content from the C drive to another installed drive?

Also, does anyone know why the content is scattered all over the place? VST sounds, VST3 presets, VST Plugins etc seem to be in various places; Documents, AppData, Program Data, Program Files seem to be the main ones.

Apart from VST Plugins paths which can be set in the plugin manager, are there any ways to change to the defaults?

Failing that has anyone tried using a symbolic links with MS-DOS 'mklink' command? That would seem to be one way of shunting it all elsewhere and freeing up C drive space.
Cubase 9.0.10 Pro (64bit) Windows 10 Pro, i7 4790 3.6GHz, 32Gb RAM
ESI ESU 1808 Audio Interface, ESI M8UXL MIDI Interface

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by Jeff Hayat » Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:31 am

xenteq wrote:Has anyone found a reliable way of moving the installed content from the C drive to another installed drive?
Define "the installed content" :?:

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1175
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by greggybud » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:06 am

If you mean Steinberg content such as Halion and groove agent I just went through this with tech support.

Apparently Steinberg doesn't realize that SSD drives are still a bit expensive and with increasing content with every new version this can be a problem. Besides, all other samples is on a separate E drive so why should Steinberg be special?

Create shortcuts in the C drive for every file in the content.

Put your actual content in another drive.

If you are a Cubase Virgin, and have never installed Cubase before I'm told you can select your drives for your content, but once you have selected your drives I think you are stuck with that unless you mess with the registry. It doesn't matter if you have updated, upgraded...once you initially install with locations, you are stuck...until you reinstall Windows or delete files in the registry.

If I'm wrong about any of the above I apologize since Louis has attempted to help me here. I eventually had to go through tech support and they suggested create shortcuts.

Good luck. It did work for me.
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

xenteq
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by xenteq » Tue Dec 16, 2014 4:19 am

Jeff Hayat wrote:
xenteq wrote:Has anyone found a reliable way of moving the installed content from the C drive to another installed drive?
Define "the installed content" :?:
Well, the VST Sounds (Hallion/Groove Agent) are a big chunk of it (multiple Gs).

But also, any VST Presets I create are being sent to the C Drive - not a real space problem, but I would have preferred to have them on a different drive.

I don't see why there couldn't be a single 'Cubase Stuff' folder that you get a choice where to locate on install that contains a directory structure for all the VST content; sounds, fx, presets etc, rather than stuff all over the C drive in different folders.

greggybud wrote:If you mean Steinberg content such as Halion and groove agent I just went through this with tech support.

Apparently Steinberg doesn't realize that SSD drives are still a bit expensive and with increasing content with every new version this can be a problem. Besides, all other samples is on a separate E drive so why should Steinberg be special?

Create shortcuts in the C drive for every file in the content.

Put your actual content in another drive.

If you are a Cubase Virgin, and have never installed Cubase before I'm told you can select your drives for your content, but once you have selected your drives I think you are stuck with that unless you mess with the registry. It doesn't matter if you have updated, upgraded...once you initially install with locations, you are stuck...until you reinstall Windows or delete files in the registry.

If I'm wrong about any of the above I apologize since Louis has attempted to help me here. I eventually had to go through tech support and they suggested create shortcuts.

Good luck. It did work for me.
Thanks, so just normal shortcuts are the way forward? Fair enough, I guess.
Cubase 9.0.10 Pro (64bit) Windows 10 Pro, i7 4790 3.6GHz, 32Gb RAM
ESI ESU 1808 Audio Interface, ESI M8UXL MIDI Interface

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by Jeff Hayat » Tue Dec 16, 2014 5:27 am

Note: if you create shortcuts, the original data MUST remain in the original location, on the C drive, which is where Cubase will be accessing the data from. Which kind of defeats the purpose of making the shortcuts in the first place..

As far as VST Presets you can put those on another drive, just not sure why you would want to...

Cheers.

johnstaf
Junior Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:53 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by johnstaf » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:44 am

I uninstalled the instruments and ran the installer again. If you click on each instrument in the installer, you can choose a new destination.
Lots of stuff. OS agnostic.

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1175
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by greggybud » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:11 am

johnstaf wrote:I uninstalled the instruments and ran the installer again. If you click on each instrument in the installer, you can choose a new destination.
That would be the best solution!
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1175
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by greggybud » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:18 am

Jeff Hayat wrote:Note: if you create shortcuts, the original data MUST remain in the original location, on the C drive, which is where Cubase will be accessing the data from. Which kind of defeats the purpose of making the shortcuts in the first place..

As far as VST Presets you can put those on another drive, just not sure why you would want to...

Cheers.
Nope.

All my original data has been moved from my SSD C drive to my E drive. I'm referring to the samples for all Halion, Groove Agent, LoopMash, Reverence Impulse Library etc. It totals about 12 gigs. (The stuff that was in the Steinberg content folder.) The only files left in the C drive Steinberg content folder are shortcuts for every file.

12 gigs was freed up on my C drive SSD.
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by Jeff Hayat » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:13 pm

Dude - if you create shortcuts on the other drive, the data MUST remain on the C drive. No "nope" to that.

If you move the content to another drive, and create shortcuts on the C drive, I could potentially see that working.

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by Patanjali » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:13 pm

Are you talking about standard shortcuts, or hard links?

Hard links are the better of the two, but using a program's own method is always better. Hard links fool the OS into thinking that the files are still on the original drive, and will report that in disk space used, which used to screw up OS upgrades in the past, as it sometimes made the OS drive look like it did not have enough spare space, when it did. This was because the calculation for free space was total capacity - total size of files, rather than adding up the free space directly.

What are the registry settings to change? It is a lot faster for me than reinstalling!
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
Rommelaar
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 4:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by Rommelaar » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:15 pm

Why not install an other drive and assign it as being an extension of your C-drive? Just a thought.
Rig: i7-5960X, Asus X99 Deluxe, Corsair LPX DDR4 64 GB RAM, Samsung 34" C34F791, Asus Strix GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Audio hardware:KRK Rokit 6, Steinberg UR44 / CMC: AI, 4xFD, CH, QC, TP, PD, Waldorf Blofeld & Pulse 2, ZOOM H6, Akai MAX49, Akai MPD226
Software: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Nuendo 10.2, Wavelab Pro 9.5.50, Dorico 3, Spectralayers, RapidComposer v3.71
Favourite plugin developers: Fabfilter, Image Line, Spectrasonics, Steinberg, Synapse audio, Vengeance sound, Waldorf, Zynaptiq

xenteq
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by xenteq » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:25 pm

Patanjali wrote:Are you talking about standard shortcuts, or hard links?

Hard links are the better of the two, but using a program's own method is always better. Hard links fool the OS into thinking that the files are still on the original drive, and will report that in disk space used, which used to screw up OS upgrades in the past, as it sometimes made the OS drive look like it did not have enough spare space, when it did. This was because the calculation for free space was total capacity - total size of files, rather than adding up the free space directly.

What are the registry settings to change? It is a lot faster for me than reinstalling!
Is this the same as using the 'mklink' command? I've just done this with iTunes so my iPad gets backed up off the C drive. It creates a single shortcut in the original folder on the C drive to the location on my other drive where I want the backup. Good point about the calculation of disk space - it would seem to be a waste of time if the OS still thought the data was on the C drive as I'm assuming it would never let you write to the free space.

I noticed this when I set up the iTunes shortcut the first time - so reset it all and did it again and the second time the c drive capacity didn't drop when I ran the backup - so I was assuming the OS was correctly identifying that the folder only contained a shortcut.

Clearly, the above suggestion from @johnstaf to reinstall and specify paths is probably the way forward.
Cubase 9.0.10 Pro (64bit) Windows 10 Pro, i7 4790 3.6GHz, 32Gb RAM
ESI ESU 1808 Audio Interface, ESI M8UXL MIDI Interface

BigAl
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by BigAl » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:56 pm

It would be useful if all apps, and the OS for that matter recognised the growing need to possibly keep supporting stuff off the C drive if it's SSD. I have a top level Dir on my D drive called AppFabric, under which is CubaseFabric, Proshow etc etc and under Cubase is a dir for each VST Lib and such like.

It would be useful to have a built in "move" but for things like Halion, HSO etc I did find a re-install and override the defaults worked for me.

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by Patanjali » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:30 pm

BigAl wrote:... and the OS for that matter ...
With Windows 8.x, you can specify another location for:
- Desktop
- Downloads
- Favourites
- Music
- Pictures
- Videos.

Open the Location panel of the Properties dialog for the folder. The OS even moves the current content over to the new location. I just wish that it would work this way for any folder.

I even have my VSTPlugins pointing to my M: (projects) drive, via hard links.
xenteq wrote:Is this the same as using the 'mklink' command?
Yes, though I use free MS SysInternals' junction.exe, as it handles listing, creation and deletion.

It is surprising how many hard links Win uses. Try:

Code: Select all

junction c:\ -s
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1175
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by greggybud » Tue Dec 16, 2014 8:21 pm

Jeff Hayat wrote:Dude - if you create shortcuts on the other drive, the data MUST remain on the C drive. No "nope" to that.

If you move the content to another drive, and create shortcuts on the C drive, I could potentially see that working.
Which is what I said in the above post. "The only files left in the C drive Steinberg content folder are shortcuts for every file."

And my prior post. "Create shortcuts in the C drive for every file in the content." I should have clarified "content that has been moved to the E drive."

Perhaps I wasn't clear enough. Content from C drive is moved to the E Drive. Shortcut files all pointing to the E drive remain in the C drive. For me that cleared up 12 gigs off my C ssd drive. It does work.

But as mentioned above it's not the best solution since you end up with lots of shortcut files in the C drive.

Once the content was placed in the E drive I was able to create separate folders for Halion, Groove Agent, Reverence Impulse Library etc. This is much more organized than the Steinberg C drive content folder that contained a hodgepodge of different files such as LoopMash and Halion in the same folder. I haven't discovered any drawback to this organization so far.

The main question for any user is they probably want to verify all content is showing up in Media Bay and available for use. Since I just went through all this last week I emailed Steinberg Tech support and there should be roughly 14,000 files in the VST Sound folder. (Don't forget to subtract the number of files in your User folder from the VST Sound folder.)

I'm far from knowledgeable on this stuff, but with Steinberg Tech support help, I just moved the content folder last week and it does appear to work.
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

paaltio
Junior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by paaltio » Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:02 pm

The standard method for this with any application is to use directory junctions, so move the entire directory to another drive and then run mklink with the /J parameter.

First, move the Content directory under AppData\Roaming\Steinberg to a new location, and then run something like

mklink /J C:\Users\yourname\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Content E:\Samples\Steinberg\Content

So the first directory is the one that used to exist, but doesn't anymore. The second part is pointing to where the moved directory now actually resides.
i9-7940X, ASUS PRIME X299-A, 128GB RAM, RME HDSPe AIO, RTX 2080 Ti, Windows 10 (1903)

xenteq
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by xenteq » Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:07 pm

Some really helpful stuff on here, thanks to all who have contributed.

@greggybud

Have you seen 14000 files?

I just checked Media Bay and it was only showing 10000.
Cubase 9.0.10 Pro (64bit) Windows 10 Pro, i7 4790 3.6GHz, 32Gb RAM
ESI ESU 1808 Audio Interface, ESI M8UXL MIDI Interface

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4418
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by alexis » Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:59 am

paaltio wrote:The standard method for this with any application is to use directory junctions, so move the entire directory to another drive and then run mklink with the /J parameter.

First, move the Content directory under AppData\Roaming\Steinberg to a new location, and then run something like

mklink /J C:\Users\yourname\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Content E:\Samples\Steinberg\Content

So the first directory is the one that used to exist, but doesn't anymore. The second part is pointing to where the moved directory now actually resides.
Thanks for this. I asked this question in various fashions in the past weeks, but not knowing this stuff well enough to formulate a reasonable question, never got a solid answer.

Has anybody done this and found that Cubase 7.5 or 8 is happy enough with mlink/J to play along? I have heard there are registry items involved, from a mod I believe, and I wonder if making this link would not actually make changes at a deep enough level to keep the wolves away ... ?

***********************
[EDIT] For people that might know as little or even less than I do about computer stuff like this (in the unlikelihood there actually are any people in that boat): http://www.windows7home.net/use-mklink- ... windows-7/
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by Patanjali » Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:54 am

alexis wrote:For people that might know as little or even less than I do about computer stuff like this (in the unlikelihood there actually are any people in that boat): http://www.windows7home.net/use-mklink- ... windows-7/
I find that that article doesn't explain it at all well.

There are shortcuts, symbolic links, hard links and junctions, with the differences being rather subtle for most users, but Win only exposes the shortcut in the GUI, as it is least likely to create ongoing problems for neophytes. Unfortunately, it cannot be universally used for redirecting access to content, because many programs do not see the content to which they point.

I actually use just the junctions, and it is the mechanism that Win 8.x uses for its libraries (Music, Downloads, etc), as it can be used across drives and partitions, and almost all programs cannot see ANY difference between content on a drive and that pointed to by a junction. junction.exe is good for this.

There are fancier tools for doing using these things, but I tend to get a bit confused by the terminology they use, and have got the link and target folder parameters back to front, and so created a link from instead of to the target folder. :(

At least with Win 8.x, Windows Explorer now puts a little arrow on junctions, just so you know that their content isn't local. However, from there you cannot see or modify their target.
Last edited by Patanjali on Wed Dec 17, 2014 3:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1175
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by greggybud » Wed Dec 17, 2014 3:04 am

xenteq wrote:Some really helpful stuff on here, thanks to all who have contributed.

@greggybud

Have you seen 14000 files?

I just checked Media Bay and it was only showing 10000.
Yes around 14,000 files is what the Steinberg tech support person told me. Keep in mind I have been using Cubase full versions forever. So perhaps I could have some old content that a person who just purchased and installed C8 won't have?

What other resource is there to know for sure that you have all the included content properly installed and showing up in Media Bay? Are others coming up with different numbers?
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
FunkyMunky
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:08 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by FunkyMunky » Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:09 am

Hi-I have been reading this thread all day-interesting that it comes up at this time when I, too, have been dealing with the same issue. I have one question:

What's wrong with simply moving all the Content from the C: drive to another drive, and then when Cubase opens, it will, of course ask you where the content is, and then you locate it, and then it knows where the stuff is? This is what I did. With the exception of the HalionOne Content-which I have not yet learned how to re-associate with Halion One-all the other content has been re-married to it's proper VST Instruments.

It seems to be working perfectly. Am I missing something? Is some mishap coming my way and I just don't know it yet?

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1175
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by greggybud » Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:59 pm

FunkyMunky wrote:Hi-I have been reading this thread all day-interesting that it comes up at this time when I, too, have been dealing with the same issue. I have one question:

What's wrong with simply moving all the Content from the C: drive to another drive, and then when Cubase opens, it will, of course ask you where the content is, and then you locate it, and then it knows where the stuff is? This is what I did. With the exception of the HalionOne Content-which I have not yet learned how to re-associate with Halion One-all the other content has been re-married to it's proper VST Instruments.

It seems to be working perfectly. Am I missing something? Is some mishap coming my way and I just don't know it yet?
That's interesting because when I tried it, it didn't ask me where the content is. Cubase installed but I had lots of missing content. There was never an option to locate anything!

One possible mishap I can think of is perhaps when doing an update there might be a problem? I had problems updating the last version of 7.5 so I moved content back to the intended place in the C drive and then updated successfully.

Could anyone explain why a lot of this content when initially installed is grouped together instead of creating separate folders for each application...1 for Halion, 1 for Groove agent...etc.

I think johnstaf has the best solution, as long as it works!
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

xenteq
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by xenteq » Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:27 pm

greggybud wrote:
xenteq wrote:Some really helpful stuff on here, thanks to all who have contributed.

@greggybud

Have you seen 14000 files?

I just checked Media Bay and it was only showing 10000.
Yes around 14,000 files is what the Steinberg tech support person told me. Keep in mind I have been using Cubase full versions forever. So perhaps I could have some old content that a person who just purchased and installed C8 won't have?

What other resource is there to know for sure that you have all the included content properly installed and showing up in Media Bay? Are others coming up with different numbers?
Ok, I've solved this one. There is a data field under Preferences/Media Bay - Maximum Number of Items in Results List. By default this is set to 10,000. I upped it to 100,000 and I'm now showing 16,304.

I have just got a new PC with 7.5 pre-installed (I ordered it three days before 8 came out - btw I'm upgrading from 4LE which I've been limping along with for years, so my head is pretty blown right now with the massive change in spec :shock: ).

So the first thing I did was upgrade to 8. I haven't yet installed any of my sample library from my old PC, so apart from a handful of VST presets that I've saved, that 16,304 must be pretty representative of a typical install, plus the standard stuff that seems have been picked up from the 7.5 install which (I don't think) was included with 8 (Groove Agent One content etc)

This number is good to know as if I do decide to move stuff off the C drive I can cross-check that it has all been picked up - thanks for putting me onto this.
Cubase 9.0.10 Pro (64bit) Windows 10 Pro, i7 4790 3.6GHz, 32Gb RAM
ESI ESU 1808 Audio Interface, ESI M8UXL MIDI Interface

Optofonik
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by Optofonik » Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:52 am

So it would appear that the only way to have libraries installed into custom directories is during initial installation of Cubase.

ohnow
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Content From C Drive

Post by ohnow » Sat Jan 30, 2016 2:08 am

Hello;
I see the last post was about a year ago and I'm just coming across this issue so I thought I would ask for any new information and post my experience for future newbies. I have an Alienware that's almost 1 yr old and the C:\ only has 110G and my D:\ is 931G. I'm constantly fighting for C:\ space. I just bought Cubase 8 Pro and upgraded to 8.5 Pro. During each install I made sure to install to the D:\ where it would allow me to. But, my C:\ still increased by over 20G! Using spacesniffer (AWESOME product to find large files!!!) I've found VST's are the biggest issue in these spots:

12 GB -Users\Dan\Appdata\Roaming\Steinberg\Content\Halion\VST Sound
9 GB -Users\Dan\Appdata\Roaming\Steinberg\Content\VST Sound
6 GB -Users\Dan\Appdata\Roaming\Steinberg\Content\Groove Agent\VST Sound

I've created these folders on my D:\
D:\Programs\Cubase - This is my install path I used when I had the option
D:\Hobbies\Music\Cubase\ - I then have subdirectories like Notes, Projects, VST Sounds. I kept these as a separate folder to capture in my online back-up program (Carbonite) and to make sure I didn't accidentally delete these during re-installs or upgrades.

I'm not a computer newbie but I only understand basic shortcut links. I'm completely new to Cubase. Is there a solid way to move as much VST data from the C:\ to the D:\? Thank you so much in advance!
Cubase 8.5 Pro, Groove Agent 4 SE, EZDrummer 2, UR44, Focal 65's, Roland TD-50 V-drums, Akai MPK Mini

Main Machine:
Studiocat Platinum Laptop, Win 10 Pro 64 bit v. 1790 build 16299.125, Sky/Kaby Lake Intel Core i7-7700K @4.20GHz, 32GB DDR4/2400 (2x16) RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060, 500GB SSD Programs Drive, M.2 SSD: 250GB Projects drive, 500GB SSD Samples Drive

Backup Machine:
Dell Alienware 15 2016, Win 10 Home 64 bit v.1709 build 16299.248, INtel i7-6820HK @2.70Ghz, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, 1TB Programs Drive, 1TB Projects/Samples Drive

External Devices:
WD MyCloud 4TB NAS (Wireless), WD MyBook 4TB (plugged into NAS), Seagate SRD0NF2 4TB, Seagate SRD00F2 2TB, etc.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests