Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by Jalcide » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:13 am

Why does the Cubase8.exe process continue to run in the background even after completely quitting and exiting out of Cubase? (As discovered via Task Manager or similar inspection utility.)

And not just one, but multiple instances of it.

I launched and exited Cubase 3 times in a row and several minutes later sill see the Cubase8.exe process running three times! Each continuing to hog 650mb of ram.

There were no crashes during close. Cubase, by all outward appearances, shut down without error.

This seems like really sloppy coding, at best, unless someone can offer a reasonable explanation.

Could this be related (or even the cause) of the known performance bug when loading the same project twice in a row?

Is there an official recommendation to reboot after each Cubase exit?
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
MaXxive
Junior Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by MaXxive » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:33 am

Try turning your soundcard off and on again. Sometimes the driver doesn't release the cubase process...

It happens to me all the time. In case of a crash or a failure to exit the program, turning it off and on again, fixes it all!
Cubase 10.0.5 | Windows 10 Pro 1809 64-bit | Steinberg UR44 | Soundcraft M8 | SE Electronics 2200A | Shure SM58 | KRK RP5 | Kort Triton Extreme 76 | Technics AX5 |
http://www.maxxiveproductions.com - http://www.facebook.com/maxxiveproductions

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by Jalcide » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:47 am

Good suggestion, thanks.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by Jalcide » Wed Dec 31, 2014 10:03 am

Power-cycling my audio interface didn't work (in this case).

I'm curious to know if anyone is seeing this.

On Windows, if you exit Cubase 8, does anyone still see the Cubase8.exe running in the Task Manager?

Or is it just an issue I'm having.

Again, Cubase closes politely and quickly. No hanging, no crashing. Just that non-visible process that keep running.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
Mauri
Senior Member
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:17 am
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by Mauri » Wed Dec 31, 2014 10:46 am

Jalcide wrote:On Windows, if you exit Cubase 8, does anyone still see the Cubase8.exe running in the Task Manager?

Again, Cubase closes politely and quickly. No hanging, no crashing. Just that non-visible process that keep running.
Yep, happens here too, no idea what that is about...
Cubase Pro 10 x64 with jBridge | WaveLab Elements 9.5 | i7 5930K @ 4.7GHz (stable) | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs plus 3 SSDs for samples and project/audio files | Fractal Design Define R5 case | Noctua NH-D15 | ASUS GeForce GT 730 2GB silent | Vox ToneLab SE | Mackie HR624 MKII | 2 x UAD2 Solo PCIe | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x 24" LED monitors...

User avatar
toro
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:54 am
Location: Vienna
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by toro » Wed Dec 31, 2014 11:29 am

same here!
Cubase 8.0.10, Cubase 7.5.40, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, RME Multiface/Digiface/Raydat, UAD-2, Fabfilter, PMC TB2+, Flying Mole D-Amps

User avatar
cpechet1
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 3:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by cpechet1 » Wed Dec 31, 2014 4:04 pm

And here...
Cubase 10.1 Intel i7-5960x, Asus X99 Deluxe MOBO, 16GB DDR4, Windows 10 64, Lexicon PCM Bundle, RND Portico Bundle, Guitar Rig 5, RealLPC, RealStrat, RealGuitar,(really?), iZotope Ozone 5, Lynx AES16e x 2, Aurora Lynx 16 + 8, 2 x RND 5033, 2 x RND 5043, 2 x RND 5032, 4 x Neve 1272 (BA and Custom racked originals), 2 x Neve 1073 (Custom racked originals), API 512C x 2, Warm Audio WA12 x 2, Manley ELOP, JBL 4333, Spiral Groove Studio One, CMCs: 4 x FD, CH,AI,PD,TP, Avid Artist Control, Mix and Transport, Bryston/Carver/Phase Linear amps, Central Station, Tube Traps, 2 x various unremarkable guitars, A few decent mics.

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by Jalcide » Wed Dec 31, 2014 5:24 pm

Thanks, all.

Okay, seems like it should be a confirmed bug. I'll add to the bug forum.

I may experiment with simply ending the leftover task in Task Manager instead of rebooting to see if works as well at preventing the memory hogging and performance degradations of multiple launches.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2896
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by peakae » Wed Dec 31, 2014 5:25 pm

No problem here, task is removed 1 second after a quit.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
whitealbum
Senior Member
Posts: 1720
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:24 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by whitealbum » Wed Dec 31, 2014 5:33 pm

It depends which project i've opened.
Several projects, no problem, cubase8.exe is removed after i quit Cubase.

A project which use much more memory (e.g. a lots of VSTis), cubase8.exe process is still there.
Cubase8.exe only remove if i close the process in the task manager.
Cubase Pro 10 und 9.5 | Win7 64 Professional | Gigabyte X99 UD7 | I7 5820K| 32 GB RAM | Geforce GTX 960 | 3 * 1 TB SSD | RME ADI-2 via spdif RME Fireface UC

User avatar
shagazulu
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:24 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by shagazulu » Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:12 pm

I don't see the problem here either. I opened Cubase without opening a project, then closed quickly, and the Cubase8.exe process ended naturally.

For those of you with the problem, does it still happen if you don't actually open a project?

And as whitealbum experienced, does it happen for larger projects rather than smaller... or with projects that use a lot of memory only?
Cubase 8 Pro & Cubase AI 7 (on 2nd PC running VST System Link for 16-track recording) | Windows 7 x64 | Intel Core 2 Quad & Cord 2 Duo | 8MB & 6MB RAM | Tascam FW1884 & M-Audio Delta 1010 | UAD-1 | M-Audio Axiom 61 | Kawai MP9000 | CMC-AI | Frontier Tranzport | FX Teleport | Various & sundry outboard gear that's rather spacial

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2896
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by peakae » Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:10 pm

It is usually a driver that is not released, not only audio driver, but it could be a midi keyboard or controller.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

roel
Member
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by roel » Fri Jan 02, 2015 2:55 am

peakae wrote:It is usually a driver that is not released, not only audio driver, but it could be a midi keyboard or controller.
I agree with paekae. Cubase as a host is also waiting for one or more processes. Can be midi or anything that didn't conclude it's data to a proper result. It happens sometimes here. I prefer a cold reboot, since multiple live cubase instances give me troubles. Shutting one proces or driver down as being mentioned could indeed solve the problem, but may not be the issue. And with everything saved so why not go for a cup of coffee and a reboot.

kind regards,
R.
Cubase 9.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by Jalcide » Fri Jan 02, 2015 7:26 pm

Interesting comments, thanks all.

I can confirm that my project is large. I haven't tested with a small project, but will.

I do have NI controller and Focusrite drivers (latest). As they are both so mainstream and mature, I'd be surprised if they were doing something naughty. Even if they were, I don't think preventing a DAW from closing its own processes is a foregone conclusion. And even if it is, surely there's some rubust Kung Fu Cubase could employ. And if there is, you'd think over 20 years of having to deal with all manner of OEM drivers would have hardened Cubase's defenses in this regard.

Typically, the "can't release" thing works in reverse; the DAW would keep a driver open, not the other way around.

But the main evidence against the driver theory is that there's now more than one report of this and we all have different hardware / driver configs. Surely, they're not all bad, and in the same way.

If the "large project" variable is indeed a factor, then it almost certainly rules out drivers as a cause.

So the workaround is to simply reboot, which I've always done anyway. Yup, coffee refills are key. :)

However, I suspect this symptom is just the canary in the coal mine. Software that can't close its own processes is never a good thing.

I have a hunch this issue may be related to the "can't open project twice in a row," without performance issues, in the known issues doc. Maybe.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

User avatar
Mauri
Senior Member
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:17 am
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by Mauri » Sat Jan 03, 2015 7:34 am

My projects are not large by any means, several VSTis, a couple audio (guitar) tracks, a couple of rough mixdowns audio tracks (usually muted or disabled), four or five VST FX channels, quite a number insert effects, such as Slate VCC and VTM on most tracks plus three or four group tracks.

No external MIDI or controllers. Cubase still hangs in there...
Cubase Pro 10 x64 with jBridge | WaveLab Elements 9.5 | i7 5930K @ 4.7GHz (stable) | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs plus 3 SSDs for samples and project/audio files | Fractal Design Define R5 case | Noctua NH-D15 | ASUS GeForce GT 730 2GB silent | Vox ToneLab SE | Mackie HR624 MKII | 2 x UAD2 Solo PCIe | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x 24" LED monitors...

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2896
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by peakae » Sat Jan 03, 2015 8:39 am

Well, anything Slate, and you are bound to have problems.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
Mauri
Senior Member
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:17 am
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by Mauri » Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:10 am

peakae wrote:Well, anything Slate, and you are bound to have problems.
I like the Slate products I'm using, 'haven't had problems with those before :).
Cubase Pro 10 x64 with jBridge | WaveLab Elements 9.5 | i7 5930K @ 4.7GHz (stable) | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs plus 3 SSDs for samples and project/audio files | Fractal Design Define R5 case | Noctua NH-D15 | ASUS GeForce GT 730 2GB silent | Vox ToneLab SE | Mackie HR624 MKII | 2 x UAD2 Solo PCIe | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x 24" LED monitors...

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2896
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by peakae » Sat Jan 03, 2015 6:08 pm

I like them too, but have had some bad experiences. At least they now are focusing on bug fixing and updating before moving on to new projects. Try to disable the VCC in the plugin manager, just to prove me wrong ;-)
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

celticchef
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2015 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by celticchef » Sat Jan 10, 2015 7:37 pm

I recently upgraded to Windows 8.1 after upgrading to Cubase 8.0 and had the issue with hanging on exit regardless of if I had opened a project or not. Killing it would mean it wouldn't launch again unless I rebooted, frustrated I went back to 7.5 for the past couple of weeks.

Today I installed 8.0.5 and tried again, no luck. By chance via task manager I right clicked on Cubase8.exe and selected Analyze Wait Chain and saw it was waiting on SYNSOPOS.exe. Ending this process seemed to fix things and interestingly I can now load and exit Cubase 8 at will with no hangs. SYNSOPOS.exe starts and stops normally with no issues.

I am using the Dec 11, 2014 build of the elicenser as well 6.8.5.1159

Hope this helps someone else.

rustman
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by rustman » Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:13 pm

I've seen this countless times. After the inevitable Cubase crash, cubase is still running and I cannot even end the process in task manager. Resetting my Roland Quad capture and/or my Novation 61 SL will not allow cubase to open correctly either after a crash. There are instances where I can reopen cubase, but I get the audio driver message and can only start it in generic driver mode, and cannot switch it to my ASIO driver once loaded. The only solution is to reboot the computer. I'd rather curse less and create more.

Edit: win7-64; Cubase 7,7.5, and 8. As mentioned Roland quad capture and SL Mk II?
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, i7 2600K @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 Gb RAM @ 2133, Radeon HD 5650 x2 in Crossfire, 27" Viewsonic monitors x3, Novation 61SL mk2, Roland Quad-Capture, SSD boot and recording, and sample drives. I have darn near every VSTi and effect on the market.

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by ZeroZero » Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:35 pm

not confirmed here -64bit c8 with update. Open Cubase, load old template, close project. C8 shuts down
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

rustman
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by rustman » Sat Jan 10, 2015 11:12 pm

ZeroZero wrote:not confirmed here -64bit c8 with update. Open Cubase, load old template, close project. C8 shuts down
I stand corrected. I just did the same in 8.05 and cubase was indeed NOT running directly afterwards. Not sure if that will hold after a crash, but maybe I won't have to find out.
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, i7 2600K @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 Gb RAM @ 2133, Radeon HD 5650 x2 in Crossfire, 27" Viewsonic monitors x3, Novation 61SL mk2, Roland Quad-Capture, SSD boot and recording, and sample drives. I have darn near every VSTi and effect on the market.

Davvv
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by Davvv » Tue Dec 08, 2015 9:48 am

the same for me...

I have the solution from the steinberg hotline :

you must update the elicenser control to 6.9.2.1181 and initialising preferences of cubase, and it'll will be OK

DAvvv

themarqueeyears
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by themarqueeyears » Tue Dec 08, 2015 10:33 am

I have this issue of BUT only after a crash on exit.

If Cubase closes normally then everything is OK, however if I get a crash on exit then Cubase is still running and hogging RAM in the background and can been seen in task manager.

Mighty as Cubase is as a DAW (and it is amazing software) it has always been a very quirky application.

I mean how many years has "has crash on exit" been a Cubase thing - must be over 10 years now!
Then there's the running of plugin scans twice a year for British summer time changes.

I've just learnt to live with the little eccentricities of the program :-)

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1271
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: Cubase8.exe Still Running After Quit, Multiple Times

Post by matjones » Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:05 am

I used to get this issue quite regularly on c7 & 7.5 on larger projects but not so far on 8.5.
I now avoid VST3 versions of slate plugins as they do seem to cause issues from time to time... VST2 versions seem fine though from my own experience.
Cubase 10.0.20 Asus P9X79 LE, i7 4820K@ 3.7GHz, 32GB Corsair 1600 RAM, Asus R5 230, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests