Cannot select part after recording

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Beagle
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:12 pm
Contact:

Cannot select part after recording

Post by Beagle » Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:28 pm

Hi,

I've noticed a strange problem with Artist 8. If I record a midi part (any instrument) using my keyboard I cannot edit it when I've finished recording. I can't delete it, mute it or edit it in any way. When I hover over it I don't get the re-sizing squares at at the bottom corners either. If I double-click on it I just get a new empty part between the locators.
The only way I can remove it is to delete the whole instrument track.

This is driving me nuts!

Any ideas?

User avatar
Blademan
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cannot select part after recording

Post by Blademan » Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:14 am

Strange... I also own Artist 8 with latest patch. I tried it for you. Created a new instrument track with HSSE and recorded some measures using my keyboard. Then after recording I can edit the midi part as normal. Delete, resize, double-click it and edit notes etc.... To be honest I don't know what is happening for you and I know it doesn't help you if it works for me. Anyway... this indicates that it's not a common problem. For what it's worth... it would drive me nuts too.
Cubase Artist 9.5 - Steinberg UR242 - Quad-core i5 - 8GB memory.

User avatar
Blademan
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cannot select part after recording

Post by Blademan » Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:22 am

Oh... I forgot... Make sure you have the Object selection tool enabled (the Arrow) and not accidentaly the Range selection tool or something. The only times you cannot edit a midi file is when you Lock Position + Size + Other. But to do that you need to have a midi part first.

Do you perhaps come from another daw that has the smart tool? Cubase does not do it like for instance Sonar. You need to select your tool first.
Cubase Artist 9.5 - Steinberg UR242 - Quad-core i5 - 8GB memory.

Luis Dongo
Moderator
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot select part after recording

Post by Luis Dongo » Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:11 am

Hi Beagle,

would it be possible that your track / part is locked? Check on the upper let corner of the part if a padlock symbol appears. You can also check in the inspector if the padlock button is opened or closed.

Hope this helps
Luis Dongo
Marketing Manager - Pro Audio

Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud.

Dghost
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot select part after recording

Post by Dghost » Wed Jun 05, 2019 8:21 pm

I have same problem with cubase 10 pro, any solution found?

Greetings
Windows 10.i7 8750H. 16gb RAM. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti. MOTU ultralight mk2. Cubase 10 pro

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests