[SOLVED] VariAudio won't move harmony notes

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
richlum
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 12:39 pm
Contact:

[SOLVED] VariAudio won't move harmony notes

Post by richlum » Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:34 pm

Hi all,

I have a problem with VariAudio and I can't work it out.

If I create harmonies, when I open up the harmony items/clip and enable Pitch and Warp, if I drag any of the notes to another pitch, I can hear and see it move, but as soon as I let go of the left mouse button, it jumps back to the original pitch.

I can double click on the original clip that I generated harmonies from and move the notes in there fine.
It's just the harmony clips that won't let me move notes.


Also, if I select all harmony clips plus the original, they all open up with the colored bard ni the editor, but I can still only move the notes that belong to the original clip, not the harmonies.

Is there some setting I need to toggle to "unlock" the harmony clips?

This is on CP8 on Win 8.1

Thanks,
Rich
Last edited by richlum on Fri May 01, 2015 3:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 8.5 Pro 64 bit, Steinberg UR44, Surface Pro 3, Windows 10

John Cafarella
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 11:50 pm
Contact:

Re: VariAudio won't move harmony notes

Post by John Cafarella » Fri May 01, 2015 12:46 am

I'm interested in the reply..
John Cafarella

Windows 10, 16G RAM, UA Apollo 8 +satellite+ UAD2, Cubase 10, Wavelab. A bunch of old mics and preamps and a couple of ok rooms to put it all in.

richlum
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 12:39 pm
Contact:

Re: VariAudio won't move harmony notes

Post by richlum » Fri May 01, 2015 3:24 am

OK. I figured it out.

After you create the harmonies, you have to
1. Close the sample editor window.
2. Select the newly created harmony tracks in the project window.
3. Click on the Chords section of the Inspector
4. Change "Single voice" to "Chords and scales"
5. Go back to the sample editor and you can move all notes freely.

It would be good if you could do this from the sample editor window.
Or, by default it let you just move the notes once it opens in the sample editor window. Otherwise, it seems kind of pointless opening the sample editor window after generating harmonies if you can't actually edit them without closing the window and changing the track settings.
Cubase 8.5 Pro 64 bit, Steinberg UR44, Surface Pro 3, Windows 10

eupnearecords
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 7:03 am
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] VariAudio won't move harmony notes

Post by eupnearecords » Tue Dec 08, 2015 7:32 pm

richlum wrote:OK. I figured it out.

After you create the harmonies, you have to
1. Close the sample editor window.
2. Select the newly created harmony tracks in the project window.
3. Click on the Chords section of the Inspector
4. Change "Single voice" to "Chords and scales"
5. Go back to the sample editor and you can move all notes freely.

It would be good if you could do this from the sample editor window.
Or, by default it let you just move the notes once it opens in the sample editor window. Otherwise, it seems kind of pointless opening the sample editor window after generating harmonies if you can't actually edit them without closing the window and changing the track settings.
Just wanted to add something that I noticed. I used your method and gained moderate success in this particular issue and I discovered that if I selected the original track and told IT to follow the chords and scales, the harmonies miraculously were freed from their bondage.

hope that helps someone in the future with this issue

andy1324
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] VariAudio won't move harmony notes

Post by andy1324 » Wed Sep 07, 2016 12:22 am

but no matter what, to make any changes you still have to leave the sample editor, which as the original poster notes, that kind of makes "open in sample editor" kind of pointless in the first place, I also believe that behavior should be updated to give the option to edit in sample editor without having to leave it to adjust it.

Gentoo
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] VariAudio won't move harmony notes

Post by Gentoo » Wed Jul 24, 2019 8:20 pm

The problem I'm having with this is when I use this method, it then moves all of the notes in the original harmony. I'm sure there is something else so simple that I am overlooking it but this shouldn't be a default setting especially since variaudion can't yet generate perfect harmonies.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests