ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
mbr
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 4:26 pm
Contact:

ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by mbr » Sat May 02, 2015 9:04 pm

Hi all

Just wanted to say that ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

I had major spikes with RME soundcard with or without ASIO Guard on.

I do not know if other soundcards and interfaces created the same issues.

I bypassed my RME now completely and use the O1V96i mixer > Yamaha Steinberg USB AUDIO driver.

No more spikes whatsoever running huge projects at 256 and as low as 128 with ASIO Guard ON.

(Cause I only use 1 AD/DA converter in the chain my sound also improved @ 96kHZ)

So it is a RME issue and not Cubase one at least it was for me.

Good luck to everyone. RME ( and others ) will hopefully fix this soon.

MBR
Cubase 9.5 Recordings done @ 96 kHz / 64 Bit )

Win 7 64-bit SP1 ; i7 Intel @3.50 Hz ; 32 Gigs RAM
256 GB SSD OS ; 1 TB SSD for Recording ; 1 TB SSD for Sample Streaming

Soundcard - O1V96i
Yamaha Steinberg USB Driver V1.9.11 Firmware V1.02 Editor V1.0

UAD-2 (OCTO) ; CMC ( FD, CH, PD, TP, AI & QC )
Many hardware synths and sample libraries ; Millennia ; Midisport 8/8 ; BIG BEN Apogee

Forum member (old forums) since 2003

"The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong"

bigboi
Junior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:12 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by bigboi » Tue May 05, 2015 4:42 pm

Well....when I use my Lynx Aurora with Sonar....I can run at 64 buffer with no problem at all. Same with my Studio One setup...runs smooth. Turn on Cubase......bam....spikes and performance issues....at 128 buffer. So....yes....I'm afraid its a Cubase issue.

WillB
Junior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:50 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by WillB » Tue May 05, 2015 5:51 pm

Win 8.1, C8, RME UFX. HP workstation. No spikes.
Win 8.1, C8, RME UCX. Lenovo W series Thinkpad workstation. No spikes.
Nuendo 1, 2, 3 / Cubase 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. HP I7-6700k, RME UFX, Lenovo Thinkpad Workstation W540, RME UCX, Win 10 64b, Halion 5, RND 5033 5043, WaveLab 4-8, DMG EQ & Compression, Limitless RME ADI-8 2x, TAB 76m x2, Calrec PQ1061 x2, Ampex ATR-100 w/ LNP-2, Houston.

robw
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by robw » Tue May 05, 2015 10:06 pm

Host same VSTi in alternate host - no spikes
Host same VSTi in Cubase - spikes

and I don't have to even play a note or start any form of playback.
In all cases its the same OS, ASIO and midi drivers.

Conclusion - there is something peculiar about Cubase 8 at the moment.

At least that seems a logical conclusion to me.
Cubase 9 | Steinberg UR44 | Korg Kronos X
Intel i7 3770 | Gigabyte MB Z77 | 16 Gigs RAM | NVIDIA GTX970
NI Komplete Ultimate 9 | Steinberg Pad Shop Pro, Halion Sonic 2

beerbong
Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by beerbong » Tue May 05, 2015 10:37 pm

kind of a innacurate summary but anyway... It seems to me that many systems are just different as well as the solution.

It seems as though as many people with spike issues there are as many different solutions.

IMO probably as cause of ASIO being optimized for performance and as a result becomming fussy about system spec and setup.

My solution was with cpu turbo..
BB - Intel Quad/RME/AMD Video, Win10 Home
Cubase 7.5 32 bit / Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9

MERC476
Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:28 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by MERC476 » Wed May 06, 2015 2:27 am

My C8 spikes issue were due to my firewire card that I have my MR816csx hooked up to was using the legacy drivers. At some point in life, I remember that was the recommended driver for my TI firewire card so i've always had it set that way. C7.5 worked fine with those. I just reinstalled the drivers to the regular windows drivers and everything is working great. 6 hours in. We should probably have a thread with everyones fixes. I trouble shot for 4 hours before I finally figured it out.

robw
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by robw » Wed May 06, 2015 8:29 am

I'd like better diagnostic methods, along with the thread of fixes (which is a good idea).

Actually a fixes thread would need to include the hardware and software configuration as well, and probably a way to navigate it. Maybe we need a website to collate and allow search of them.
Cubase 9 | Steinberg UR44 | Korg Kronos X
Intel i7 3770 | Gigabyte MB Z77 | 16 Gigs RAM | NVIDIA GTX970
NI Komplete Ultimate 9 | Steinberg Pad Shop Pro, Halion Sonic 2

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1149
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by silhouette » Sat May 09, 2015 8:22 am

I am having no issues with my RME Fireface UC. None! How is this consistent with it being the fault of RME?
I had spikes on my previous computer but not on my new machine. I did not import my preferences and had a clean install. I would be interested to see the difference in performance between Windows 8 and Windows 8. That is the only factor I In think of.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp

krevvy
Junior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 6:24 pm
Contact:

Re: ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by krevvy » Sat May 09, 2015 12:36 pm

i run
DESKTOP DAW = RME HDSP9652 (pci) on Windows 7 x64, 4.06 drivers, cubase 8.0.10, intel based chipset/cpu, SSD... = NO SPIKES
MOBILE DAW = RME UFX (USB2) on wndows 8.1 x64 1069 drivers, cubase 8.0.10, intel based chipset/cpu, SSD... = NO SPIKES


I do get better performance on both (more fx/vsti) at the same buffer sizes using reaper 5.0 pre 29 (x64) but no "spikes" in either

jconstantine
Member
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by jconstantine » Sat May 09, 2015 9:36 pm

I believe that Cubase Pro 8 has become a little "picky" with the different system specs because of his great new features.
I've been Cubase user since forever and with Pro 8 I started to have ASIO spikes and 512 buffer settings only until I
re-configure my system.

a) Nvidia drivers (switch to old ones)
b) BIOS
c) CPU clock parking

And now my system is rock solid and works at 64 buffer without any problem at all.

So if you have any issue check your system configuration and pay attention to video drivers cause in my case that was a dramatic fix.
Windows 10 64 ,i7 7700k 4.2 Ghz,32 RAM DDR4,Asus Prime Z270-A ,SSD 250 GB,RME UFX+,Apollo 8,Macbook Air i5 2014,Cubase Pro 9.0.3, Wavelab 9, Halion 6, GA4,Pro Tools 12.5, UAD 2, SSL Native, Waves Gold,hardware synths & samplers.
Nektar Panorama P6,Yamaha 01v96i,NS10,Behritone,Genelec 8050a and VXT8

Iftekharul Anam
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:10 am
Contact:

Re: ASIO Spikes is not a Cubase issue !!!

Post by Iftekharul Anam » Sun Nov 05, 2017 2:45 pm

bigboi wrote:
Tue May 05, 2015 4:42 pm
Well....when I use my Lynx Aurora with Sonar....I can run at 64 buffer with no problem at all. Same with my Studio One setup...runs smooth. Turn on Cubase......bam....spikes and performance issues....at 128 buffer. So....yes....I'm afraid its a Cubase issue.
Sadly, same thing here. Sonar Platinum has no CPU or ASIO or VST Performance issue at any buffer, be that 64 or 512. But whenever I open cubase, there is a lot of spikes and horrible VST performance.
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit v1709
Cubase Pro 9.5
WaveLab Elements 9.5
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 2nd Gen
MSI X370 XPOWER GAMING TITANIUM
MSI GeForce GTX 970 GAMING 4G
AMD Ryzen™ 7 1700X
32GB DDR4 G.Skill
Intel® M.2 SSD 600p Series 512GB (OS and apps drive)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests