Get an SSD!

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
User avatar
jono not bono
Member
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:43 am
Contact:

Get an SSD!

Post by jono not bono » Tue Sep 01, 2015 8:15 pm

So, I've just bought a 1tb Samsung 850 Evo for streaming my Sample Libraries using Kontakt 5 and C Pro 8. Man, I can't believe how quick it is compared to an old Mechanical 7200 HD I was using. Can't recommend getting an SSD enough! Should have done it ages ago (although price has been a big factor into why I've got one now).

Not really sure how this is a Cubase specific post but Cubase was running like a charm before but now with it installed on an SSD with my Libraries installed on this new SSD, Cubase Pro 8 is just awesome! :)

Jono
Please make me stop buying stuff.

User avatar
thermionic
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by thermionic » Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:55 pm

Make sure you keep frequent backups. The "old school" drives had S.M.A.R.T. technology to warn of impending doom, SSDs just go 'phut'. Or so I'm told :x :lol:

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by DaveAbbott » Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:33 pm

Hi All

Jono I totally agree with you although I only have my C drive as an SSD,, and only a 64 Gig one at that, but the difference in speed and slickness is staggering, I've had SSD,'s on all my machine for quite a while now and wouldn't go back. The normal drives are fine for audio recording and sample storage if you don't mind a bit of loading time.

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

pulpfiction
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:48 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by pulpfiction » Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:52 pm

SSDs just go 'phut'. Or so I'm told
That used to be the case when they were brand new, nowadays they're much better, and have a life much better than HDD's
For me the biggest thing is not the speed but not hearing the HDD whirl and crunch away when its in use

User avatar
jono not bono
Member
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by jono not bono » Tue Sep 01, 2015 11:52 pm

Before the SSD, for example - NI Abbey Roads 70's AR70's Open Kit Full patch used to take nearly 2 minutes to fully load. It now takes 9 seconds.

I can now use the DFD Patches which takes some 8Dio Patches from 500mb of RAM down to around 20mb of RAM. Seriously impressed with the SSD.

I've had an SSD for the OS, Plugs, and Cubase for quite some time but haven't really felt the benefit in a huge speed difference because I (like most) have always had to wait for a Project and every instance of Kontakt and each sample library to load (sometimes taking at least 5 minutes for all samples to load) and this is highly frustrating, especially if having a Crash and needing to reload the same project. My samples have often stopped playing when in the middle of recording performances, like they have gone to sleep and need waking back up which has been really annoying (especially when that perfect take is completely ruined).

I won't be buying Mechanical HDs anymore unless they are for general storage!
SSDs are definitely a luxury but when you start using a rather large amount of VIs, they are the only way to go! :)
Jono
Please make me stop buying stuff.

User avatar
jono not bono
Member
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by jono not bono » Tue Sep 01, 2015 11:53 pm

thermionic wrote:Make sure you keep frequent backups. The "old school" drives had S.M.A.R.T. technology to warn of impending doom, SSDs just go 'phut'. Or so I'm told :x :lol:

A thing of the past!

And yes, regardless of any type of hard drive used, one should always make back ups of back ups - of Everything.

Jono
Please make me stop buying stuff.

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 569
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by Getalife2 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:35 am

I just had a 3 month old Crucial SSD fail. Caused me a lot of trouble.

Stick with Samsung. I own half a dozen and they just work. Samsung is the only SSD maker that owns every step of the process in-house. It makes a difference.
N10.0.20 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4.3GHz with x7 SSDs - Win 7/64 - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad - VEP

Elien
Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by Elien » Wed Sep 02, 2015 9:06 am

Hi, best experiences with Samsung ssds here.
The Investment in them was one of the best in Terms of Performance of the Overall System.

I run System backups with Acronis true Image regularily, since defect discs can cause pain, real pain - this not Special with ssds.

I love the Speed and.
Yes I love the silence.

Cheers, Ernst
Cubase 10.0.5 on Win 10 Pro 64 Bit, Asus X99-S mobo; Intel i7, Matrox C420 Multi Monitor Card, USB3-External Graphic card, 5 Monitors. RME RayDat. Presonus Firestudio, DigimaxFS, Art Tube Preamp, Line6 x3 pro, lexicon mx400, Headphone preamp, Digipatch Digital Patchbay, TCHelicon VoicePro. Yamaha HS80M plus Subwoofer, Behringer MS40. Euphonix MC Control V2; Euphonix MC Mix, Avid MCTransport AKai MPD18, Komplete Kontrol 61, Novation Zero SL MKII, Automap. Yamaha Motif XF8; Komplete 12 Ultimate Collectors Edition, GPO, Garritan Jazz&Bigband, ARC 2.5 System, Jamstix, Various Applied Accoustic Instruments, Melodyne

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by HughH » Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:01 pm

jono not bono wrote:Before the SSD, for example - NI Abbey Roads 70's AR70's Open Kit Full patch used to take nearly 2 minutes to fully load. It now takes 9 seconds.
So are you using it external? Or internal?

I have an external SSD with Komplete Ultimate 10 on it and things are not going well.
In fact, it cannot keep up with AR 70s Full.

It is, however, plugged into a USB 3 Card (TI) - not an on-board USB 3 jack.
And there MAY be some Bus/Interrupt issues going on.
There's a lot of stuff in there.

My current Comp has no USB 3.
Building a new box that has many.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability
Pro Tools Ult cause I have to

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1288
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by silhouette » Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:25 pm

Apparently the bigger the drive the longer they last potentially. All to do with the Write Endurance Rate!!!

This article is quite useful. Especially the recommendation for turning off sleep.

http://www.cnet.com/how-to/storage-talk ... ate-drive/
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 569
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by Getalife2 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:30 pm

The advantages of SSD are:
1. Transfer speed is about 4-5 times that of a hard disk.
2. Access times are 100 times better than a hard disk.
3. Lower power consumption, which only really matters on a laptop.

Of those 3, Access Time is the most important advantage for use with VSTi. When connected via SATA or TB, it's a major difference versus USB.

USB, even USB3, largely negates the access time advantage of the SSD because of the nature of the USB protocol. Simply put, there is a major degradation to the advantage of an SSD when it is connected via USB. If at all possibly, use TB or connect it internally to a SATA connector. For VSTi, the improvement will not be subtle.
N10.0.20 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4.3GHz with x7 SSDs - Win 7/64 - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad - VEP

User avatar
jono not bono
Member
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by jono not bono » Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:41 pm

HughH wrote:
jono not bono wrote:Before the SSD, for example - NI Abbey Roads 70's AR70's Open Kit Full patch used to take nearly 2 minutes to fully load. It now takes 9 seconds.
So are you using it external? Or internal?

I have an external SSD with Komplete Ultimate 10 on it and things are not going well.
In fact, it cannot keep up with AR 70s Full.

It is, however, plugged into a USB 3 Card (TI) - not an on-board USB 3 jack.
And there MAY be some Bus/Interrupt issues going on.
There's a lot of stuff in there.

My current Comp has no USB 3.
Building a new box that has many.

Hugh

I was using Komplete 10 Ultimate on an External USB3 HDD plugged into on board USB3. It was sort of fine, took a long time to load some libraries, but did work. Until, of course the Instrument track count was too high and then Samples would drop out, almost like they were purged and needed waking up! Highly frustrating.

I now have my SSDs (both OS and the Samsung) plugged into Sata 3 6gbs Ports (with Sata 3 Cables), internally. Into an Asus P8P67 Pro Motherboard.
Please make me stop buying stuff.

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 468
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by theRoyal1 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 6:53 pm

Got about 8 SSD's throughout all my Rigs...Including my dj Laptop which gets used at least four times a week for 7 hrs straight..
1 TB Samsung 840's and 850's

Originally had sandisk but they were only 256.. worked fine though.

I have 2-4TB WD HDD For backup and storage in my workstation


Once u go SSD, you become addicted..

:geek:
Last edited by theRoyal1 on Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO 12TB + 2xWD4001 8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.40
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

teknatronik
Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by teknatronik » Wed Sep 02, 2015 8:30 pm

I just ordered a SAMSUNG MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal SSD

This vertical gimmick? I can lay it however I want, right?

dmbaer
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by dmbaer » Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:57 pm

teknatronik wrote:I just ordered a SAMSUNG MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal SSD

This vertical gimmick? I can lay it however I want, right?
Somewhat stupid question, maybe, but at least on topic. When you have a 2.5" SSD replacing a conventional drive of the larger drive size normal for a tower workstation, is there a problem? I took a quick look on Amazon and all the SSD drives I saw seemed to be 2.5". Do you need an extra-cost adapter?

Man, the prices certainly have come down over what they were a couple of years ago.
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 4-core hyper-threaded; 8M RAM; Dual hard drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 7 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 7.5 64-bit (and SONAR X2 64-bit)
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used

pulpfiction
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:48 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by pulpfiction » Fri Sep 04, 2015 12:28 am

dmbaer wrote:Somewhat stupid question, maybe, but at least on topic. When you have a 2.5" SSD replacing a conventional drive of the larger drive size normal for a tower workstation, is there a problem? I took a quick look on Amazon and all the SSD drives I saw seemed to be 2.5". Do you need an extra-cost adapter?
There is no problem as it will work 100% it just requires a SATA cable from the motherboard to the SDD and a power cable, you can buy a 2.5->3.5 adapter bracket so the SSD sits in the HDD area of the case fixed in with screws. Personally I don't have the 2.5->3.5 adapter bracket I just sit the SSD on top of an existing HDD. As long as you're not moving the PC tower around, there are no problems.

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by islandmusicpro » Fri Sep 04, 2015 1:28 am

pulpfiction wrote:Personally I don't have the 2.5->3.5 adapter bracket I just sit the SSD on top of an existing HDD. As long as you're not moving the PC tower around, there are no problems.
YMMV, but I tend to believe in tying stuff down and screwing it tight, since I want to avoid vibrations and related issues as much as possible. Airflow is important as well... 8-)

;) My 2c,
Benji
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
jono not bono
Member
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by jono not bono » Fri Sep 04, 2015 2:07 am

islandmusicpro wrote:
pulpfiction wrote:Personally I don't have the 2.5->3.5 adapter bracket I just sit the SSD on top of an existing HDD. As long as you're not moving the PC tower around, there are no problems.
YMMV, but I tend to believe in tying stuff down and screwing it tight, since I want to avoid vibrations and related issues as much as possible. Airflow is important as well... 8-)

;) My 2c,
Benji
Agreed. The Samsung 850 Evo doesn't come with any Screws (which I think is a little tight - and all the spares that came with my Corsair Obsidian 650D Case do not fit the SSD) so instead of just leaving it in the tower "Loose" or taped I decided to buy some screws. My tower has many drivebays that allow either 3.5 or 2.5 drives so I just screwed the SSD straight to a drivebay! All good!

Yes, having SSDs is addictive. They completely change your set up! :)
Please make me stop buying stuff.

Brian Roland
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by Brian Roland » Fri Sep 04, 2015 2:22 am

SSD is great!

I have found a couple of models to avoid for streaming applications however:
PNY SSD2SC120G5LC709B121-510
PNY SSD2SC240G3LC709B121-460P

About a year ago I picked up several of these on sale. In two different systems (one AMD, one Intel), and with several different SATA 3 and 2 hosts tried in both machines, they just do NOT like streaming applications. They don't seem to like hosting system page files either (fast but noticeable intermittent pauses when the OS starts swapping memory from disk, of the sort I do not get when using other drives...even old platter drives!).

I have NOT tried them in any sort of raid. So this is just based on typical AHCI and IDE setups (tried both where possible...AHCI and direct IDE drivers).

The PNY drives pass the latency tests with flying colors, but VST plugins that do a lot of D2D streaming get tons of 'disk loss' errors, which amounts to pops, clicks, and dropouts. Tried finding different drivers/firmware and such, but no luck. The same (trouble) apps work fine from other types and brands of drives...even those ancient SATA2 Raptors on an SATA 2 host.

I'll still get my money's worth from the PNY drives, launching apps and loading non-streaming stuff from them. They're nice and quick for launching an app, or loading a memory resident type of data file. They're just horrible for streaming or hosting any sort of memory-swap-pagefiles though :(

In contrast, I have several Samsung drives of different sizes. 830 and 840 models. These drives do very well so far with anything I want to throw at them.

teknatronik
Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by teknatronik » Fri Sep 04, 2015 5:53 pm

thank guys!!! I cannot wait to install my os on this thing

pulpfiction
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:48 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by pulpfiction » Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:24 pm

islandmusicpro wrote: YMMV, but I tend to believe in tying stuff down and screwing it tight, since I want to avoid vibrations and related issues as much as possible. Airflow is important as well... 8-)
Fair enuf mate, My point to dmbaer is it will work 100% OK, as in you can take it home and plug it in as you don't need a special adapter to fit the cables and what not
@teknatronik when you install your OS on your SSD make sure you choose the GPT format and not the older MBR (though theres no real harm with MBR)

teknatronik
Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by teknatronik » Sat Sep 05, 2015 1:45 am

thnx bro! I have never used an ssd so I appreciate the knowledge :) Ill keep my samples and whatnot on my other internal 7200 for now... I guess down the road I may want to move them to ssd as well.

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by Patanjali » Sat Sep 05, 2015 9:46 pm

jono not bono wrote:I won't be buying Mechanical HDs anymore unless they are for general storage!
I ONLY use them in our NAS, or use old ones for backups of libraries.

Mind you, as soon as we could afford SSDs en masse, the NASs would get them as well.

I love the lack of noise, vibration and heat with SSDs. The four WD 10k Raptors I used to have chewed up 40W and needed their own large fan.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

User avatar
Patanjali
Senior Member
Posts: 1328
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by Patanjali » Sat Sep 05, 2015 10:48 pm

dmbaer wrote:When you have a 2.5" SSD replacing a conventional drive of the larger drive size normal for a tower workstation, is there a problem? I took a quick look on Amazon and all the SSD drives I saw seemed to be 2.5". Do you need an extra-cost adapter?
I use an Icydock MB996SP-6SB ToughArmor 6x 2.5" SATA HDD Hot Swap Mobile Rack.

Makes it compact, easy to access the SSDs, and frees up the case to allow better airflow. For SSDs, you can turn off its fan.
Last edited by Patanjali on Sun Sep 06, 2015 4:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Patanjali
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GTX 1050 : SSDx7 : UAD2Q : TCL 49C2US x2.
HW: YRG : uKEY2 : UR44.
SW: Dual boot Win10P : Cubase 8.0.30 Pro 64 : RX4Adv : Ozone6Adv : Goliath/SO/Pianos/Gypsy/SV : Sup.Drum 2

teknatronik
Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 11:44 am
Contact:

Re: Get an SSD!

Post by teknatronik » Sun Sep 06, 2015 3:48 am

Patanjali wrote:
teknatronik wrote:When you have a 2.5" SSD replacing a conventional drive of the larger drive size normal for a tower workstation, is there a problem? I took a quick look on Amazon and all the SSD drives I saw seemed to be 2.5". Do you need an extra-cost adapter?
I use an Icydock MB996SP-6SB ToughArmor 6x 2.5" SATA HDD Hot Swap Mobile Rack.

Makes it compact, easy to access the SSDs, and frees up the case to allow better airflow. For SSDs, you can turn off its fan.
excellent! Ty


Fans off it will be.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests