Transport control with keith mcmillen 12-step

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
nikob
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:34 pm
Contact:

Transport control with keith mcmillen 12-step

Post by nikob » Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:44 pm

Hi,
I want to use keith mcmillen 12-step footcontroller to remote control the transport functions in cubase 8. How can I set it up? I need to map note numbers to cubase commands. How can I do it? Any tipps?
Cubase 8 | Windows 7 | UR44

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12245
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Transport control with keith mcmillen 12-step

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Oct 21, 2015 3:36 pm

Hi,

Open Devices > Device Setup. In the top-left corner, click to + button, and Add Generic Remote Device.

Then select MIDI Input port and click Apply.

Then enable Learn, select the 1st row of the upper table, and press the 1st footpedal. Select 2nd row and press pedal 2, etc. This way, it will learn incomming MIDI data.

Then go to the lower table. Select 1st row and select the command, you want to control via this pedal. For example Transport > Device > Start.

Please search for Generic Remote in the Operation manual or here on the forum, to find more details.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
nikob
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Transport control with keith mcmillen 12-step

Post by nikob » Thu Oct 22, 2015 6:19 pm

Hi Martin,
thank you very much. I will check it out.
Cubase 8 | Windows 7 | UR44

User avatar
nikob
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Transport control with keith mcmillen 12-step

Post by nikob » Sun Mar 06, 2016 7:20 pm

I tried it but I was not scuccessful. I tried all Inputs I have. I didn't connected the MIDI Out. The 12-Step Controller is connected via USB. Is that a problem? See my settings.
06-03-_2016_19-08-34.png
MIDI Inputs
(38.36 KiB) Not downloaded yet
06-03-_2016_19-05-20.png
Controller Allignments. I did it manually because MIDI Learn didn't change anything.
(6.22 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 8 | Windows 7 | UR44

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3331
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Transport control with keith mcmillen 12-step

Post by vic_france » Sun Mar 06, 2016 8:11 pm

Have to excuse my poor German understanding ( :oops: :) ), and also the fact that I don't actually know that particular foot controller, but, in Screenshot #1, (btw, did the MIDI Learn appear to work, i.e. did you see the values in the Generic Remote window change? If, as I am guessing from your report, the Foot Controller is supposed to be transmitting Note-on numbers, then it didn't happen ;) ), from what I can see in that screenshot, all line entries would seem to be set to Controller number #7, on MIDI Channel #1 ("Adresse" is in fact the Controller number, when "MIDI-Status" is set to "Controller").. If indeed your foot controller is transmitting MIDI notes, then "MIDI-Status" should be set to "Note On", "MIDI-Canal" to the same MIDI channel as transmitted, and "Adresse" set to the appropriate MIDI Note number.
And i would also recommend that you set "MIDI-Eingang" to "12Step" rather than the current "All MIDI Inputs".
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
nikob
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Transport control with keith mcmillen 12-step

Post by nikob » Sat Jun 04, 2016 9:52 pm

Hi Martin and Vic,
thank you very much for your help. Controlling Cubase with my keith McMillan 12-Step footcontroller works perfect now.
Cubase 8 | Windows 7 | UR44

8Ball
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Transport control with keith mcmillen 12-step

Post by 8Ball » Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:20 pm

Hi Nikon!
Believe it or not .... I ran into the same problems trying to hook up my 12 step with Cubase 8. In my case, I see the Midi signals changing the parameters and I also see a signal every time I hit one of the keys, but none of the above settings show any form of activity.
I followed along the detailed description but it does not seem to work in my hands.
12 Step is connected via the Midi expander through a Saffire Pro24 into Cubase 8 Elements. Any ides. Thank in advance ... in Deutsch geht natürlich auch ;-)

Cheers!

User avatar
nikob
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Transport control with keith mcmillen 12-step

Post by nikob » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:53 pm

Hi 8Ball,
da das das englische Forum ist, hier in englisch. See my attachement of my settings. I hope that helps.
Best regards,
Niko
Attachments
Einstellung 12-Step in Cubase.png
Settings in cubase for keith mcmillan 12-step
(77.43 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 8 | Windows 7 | UR44

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: reeltrouble and 8 guests