Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
pondwalden
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:23 am
Contact:

Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by pondwalden » Fri Dec 04, 2015 9:46 pm

Nice to be able to import tracks directly from a project now without having to export them first. However the whole import process is plagued by the issue that tracks import based on their timecode.

This is a real issue for film composers because if I want to import a drum beat or a piano lick from one cue into another, the imported material comes in at it's original timecode which makes it completely off the grid. Is there not a way to import tracks musically so that if something was recorded at measure 4, it imports at measure 4 in the new project?

I guess I'm also having problems understanding how importing tracks using their timecode base would be beneficial to ANYONE doing music. If all your projects start at 0.0.0.0 and are at the same tempo I guess it's ok, but........

Am I out in left field on this?

Truly though, thanks Steiny for the great software. Cubase is so much better than the alternatives for my workflow.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:33 am

Hi,

The function comes from Nuendo, where was introduced with Nuendo 7 in the smallest manner: Import Audio Track from Project.

In Nuendo it makes absolutely sense, how it is. For example, you get a new atmos-mix or new versions of dialogues to your mix. So it has to fit to the Timecode.

But indeed, in Cubase, it would make more sense to place it to the same Bars+Beats position.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Altostratus
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by Altostratus » Sat Dec 05, 2015 4:17 am

Haven't upgraded yet but sorry to hear that importing tracks still doesn't have proper options for adapting the new material to the current project. I'm struggling with this myself and I disagree with Martin.Jirsak, it would make much more sense to simply give the user the option, depending on the timebase the project is based on.
MASTER: Cubase Pro 10.0.20, iMac 27 2015 i7 4.0 (17,1) 24gb RAM, OS X 10.14.3, RME Fireface UC. SLAVE: Mac Pro 2009 Quad 2.66 (4,1), 28gb RAM, OS X 10.11.6, Vienna Ensemble Pro 6, samples on OWC Accelsior SSD.

fantasiom
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by fantasiom » Tue Dec 22, 2015 6:33 pm

+1 You are not out of left field on this. Was just going to post about this and saw your thread. Still no way to import "relative to project start", or based on bars and beats. I am constantly grabbing material from other cues in a movie, but the sessions timecodes from cue to cue will obviously not match, so the material is usually not even visible and off the grid when imported. What I find interesting is that when you open the dialogue box for importing it actually lists the session start times and you can see that they are different, but there is nothing you can do about it. We are getting closer, at least we don't have to deal with the xml stuff anymore, but hopefully there is more to come.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Dec 22, 2015 7:49 pm

Hi,

maybe it would make sense to move it to the Feature Request, what do you think?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

pondwalden
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by pondwalden » Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:37 am

Done.

viewtopic.php?f=228&t=91861

Everyone please +1 if this would be helpful for you.

Altostratus
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by Altostratus » Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:46 am

I +1ed in the Feature Request post (right place I suppose). Thanks.
MASTER: Cubase Pro 10.0.20, iMac 27 2015 i7 4.0 (17,1) 24gb RAM, OS X 10.14.3, RME Fireface UC. SLAVE: Mac Pro 2009 Quad 2.66 (4,1), 28gb RAM, OS X 10.11.6, Vienna Ensemble Pro 6, samples on OWC Accelsior SSD.

mart
Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by mart » Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:02 pm

Whats a use case for importing the actual audio from another project? I still think its 99% of the time for Cubase users what your needing to do is import the tracks for settings from 1 project to another.
Windows 10 Build 1909 , Gigabyte x58 Soc FORCE, 16gb Ddr4 RAM, Intel 5930x, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 2.2 1 OCTO & 1 Quad UAD, Protools 12.7, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 with 32gb Slave PC.

pondwalden
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by pondwalden » Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:26 pm

mart wrote:Whats a use case for importing the actual audio from another project? I still think its 99% of the time for Cubase users what your needing to do is import the tracks for settings from 1 project to another.
Film composers need to do this all the time between cues. Check up several posts and I explain a basic case.

tlockett
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 3:09 am
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by tlockett » Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:46 pm

+1 for the requested feature

lokotus
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by lokotus » Mon Feb 18, 2019 12:41 am

+1

Altostratus
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Import Tracks from Project....so close

Post by Altostratus » Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:49 am

+1
MASTER: Cubase Pro 10.0.20, iMac 27 2015 i7 4.0 (17,1) 24gb RAM, OS X 10.14.3, RME Fireface UC. SLAVE: Mac Pro 2009 Quad 2.66 (4,1), 28gb RAM, OS X 10.11.6, Vienna Ensemble Pro 6, samples on OWC Accelsior SSD.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: thezenix and 6 guests