Page 5 of 5

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:12 pm
by Haavard
I have this as well and it's driving me nuts!!

It just started happening on a project I've been working on a lot, and I've got a lot of work done on it without this happening. I opened it today, and several tracks (though not all) exhibit this exasperating behavior.

I have 8.5 build 69 - downloading update as we speak. The change in behavior is not update-related.

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:03 am
by Martin.Jirsak
8.5 build 69 is 8.5.0. Please update to 8.5.15, where was the fix applied.

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:59 pm
by stevesideas
I have the same problem running Cubase 8.0.35 Build 565 (64 bit). I don't really want to upgrade to 8.5 so am I stuck with this issue now ? If so I have to say this is a joke !

For some reason this issue started happening when I recently opened up a 3-4 week old track I'm working on. Was fine previously.

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:11 pm
by telecino
Restarting Cubase doesn't work for me, but rebooting the entire computer does.

Cubase 8.5, it started happening just lately, this is what changed on my computer since the bug started:
- I installed their new eLicenser to remove the bug with the old MP3 license
- I installed Civilization 6 :)

Anyway: Reboot = loss of time = temporary solution.

I can't stop using volume automation on my VST,s. It makes no sense. So.... Help Cubase? Help Steinberg?

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2016 12:31 am
by patrick76
I have also been having this problem where tracks mysteriously stop making any sound. Odd. I just recently got Cubase 8.5 after using 6.5 for quite a while. These bugs are why I loathe to upgrade any software that is working well. I am downloading the latest update (here for those interested http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... ro_85.html ) and hope this fixes the issue. Will report back after using the new version for a while, hopefully with good news!

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2016 7:01 am
by Mosaic
telecino wrote:Restarting Cubase doesn't work for me, but rebooting the entire computer does.

Cubase 8.5, it started happening just lately, this is what changed on my computer since the bug started:
- I installed their new eLicenser to remove the bug with the old MP3 license
- I installed Civilization 6 :)

Anyway: Reboot = loss of time = temporary solution.

I can't stop using volume automation on my VST,s. It makes no sense. So.... Help Cubase? Help Steinberg?
Unfortunately, the only known fix for this is to upgrade. To me, that's not a "bug", its forcing people to pay extra for a faulty product. The "support" I received from Steinberg on this matter borders on the ridiculous. Its such a shame they cannot take their Support seriously and understand what handling issue requests better would mean to the image of the company.

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:01 pm
by patrick76
patrick76 wrote:I have also been having this problem where tracks mysteriously stop making any sound. Odd. I just recently got Cubase 8.5 after using 6.5 for quite a while. These bugs are why I loathe to upgrade any software that is working well. I am downloading the latest update (here for those interested http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... ro_85.html ) and hope this fixes the issue. Will report back after using the new version for a while, hopefully with good news!
Well, the update seemed to fix the bug for a while, but now the same thing is happening again even with the latest version. Very frustrating. Simply don't have time to have to go through each track to see if it is going to actually sound when played.

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:07 pm
by alexis
patrick76 wrote:
patrick76 wrote:I have also been having this problem where tracks mysteriously stop making any sound. Odd. I just recently got Cubase 8.5 after using 6.5 for quite a while. These bugs are why I loathe to upgrade any software that is working well. I am downloading the latest update (here for those interested http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... ro_85.html ) and hope this fixes the issue. Will report back after using the new version for a while, hopefully with good news!
Well, the update seemed to fix the bug for a while, but now the same thing is happening again even with the latest version. Very frustrating. Simply don't have time to have to go through each track to see if it is going to actually sound when played.
Oh, dear. I thought it was safe to upgrade to 8.5 in a few weeks, regarding this and other bugs that had been reported as being fixed. I hope it turns out to be an unrelated issue.

Please report back if you learn anything new!

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:11 pm
by lior
I'm experiencing it now in a middle of a project
now is 2017, and still can't find any solution.

can someone in steinberg hear us???

maby its time to move on guys

can't work like this...

if somebody has the solution, i'll be glad to know.

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:39 am
by alexis
lior wrote:I'm experiencing it now in a middle of a project
now is 2017, and still can't find any solution.

can someone in steinberg hear us???

maby its time to move on guys

can't work like this...

if somebody has the solution, i'll be glad to know.
Which Cubase are you running? I haven't noticed this in Cubase 9.0.20.

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 4:40 pm
by lior
Hi alexis
Cubase 8.5

as u see above its a problem that are repeating for years again and again

now i dont know what to do, this project is very important for me,
As soon as I open the project
after 30 seconds or so, the audio stops completely.
There is a sign of the Level meter, but there is no sound at all.




cubase 8.5
intel core i7-4710HQ cpu 2.5 ghz, 16 gb ram. win 10 64-bit. ssd HD. Komplete audio 6.

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:07 am
by alexis
lior wrote:Hi alexis
Cubase 8.5

as u see above its a problem that are repeating for years again and again

now i dont know what to do, this project is very important for me,
As soon as I open the project
after 30 seconds or so, the audio stops completely.
There is a sign of the Level meter, but there is no sound at all.




cubase 8.5
intel core i7-4710HQ cpu 2.5 ghz, 16 gb ram. win 10 64-bit. ssd HD. Komplete audio 6.
Hi - The moderator a few posts up said to make sure it's 8.5.15 that is being used.

Beyond that: Maybe try Cubase safe mode (not the same as Windows safe mode) to see if it might be a corrupted preference.

Also, maybe try it on a virgin project (brand new and empty, not even using one of your templates).

Finally - maybe try updating the e-licenser, as an administrator.

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:33 pm
by LetitLoad
Still no fix in 2019. It's a MASSIVE problem, especially when I have clients waiting for a mix...