VST Plugins visibility

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.

VST Plugins visibility

Postby BasariStudios » Tue Dec 15, 2015 8:52 pm

Is there a way to make the VST plugins editors to be visible even when you click outside Cubase?

Thanks
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL. 2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate (1.4.009), Murano, Titanium, Magenta 3, Navy, Ochre and RED EQ.
User avatar
BasariStudios
Member
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 2:39 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: VST Plugins visibility

Postby raino » Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:13 pm

BasariStudios wrote:Is there a way to make the VST plugins editors to be visible even when you click outside Cubase?

Thanks


Not with the current half-way manner they have implemented MS Windows across Cubase. Very annoying when trying to read a PDF manual for a plug-in.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.20, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2
User avatar
raino
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 323 times

Re: VST Plugins visibility

Postby fretthefret » Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:42 am

raino wrote:
BasariStudios wrote:Is there a way to make the VST plugins editors to be visible even when you click outside Cubase?

Thanks


Not with the current half-way manner they have implemented MS Windows across Cubase. Very annoying when trying to read a PDF manual for a plug-in.


+1
Cubase Pro 9.0.1, FL Studio 12.4, Ableton Live Suite 9.7, Harrison Mixbus, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, Maschine Studio 2.5, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 500gb Sandisk Ultra ii SSD, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50
fretthefret
Member
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: VST Plugins visibility

Postby UltimateOutsider » Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:42 am

BasariStudios wrote:Is there a way to make the VST plugins editors to be visible even when you click outside Cubase?

Yes, there's a little down arrow in the upper-right corner of the plugin window. Click it and then uncheck the "always on top" option.

Now when you click away from Cubase, the plugin will remain visible.

EDIT: This is the arrow thingy I'm talking about:
Image
UltimateOutsider
Member
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:18 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: VST Plugins visibility

Postby fretthefret » Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:48 am

UltimateOutsider wrote:
BasariStudios wrote:Is there a way to make the VST plugins editors to be visible even when you click outside Cubase?

Yes, there's a little down arrow in the upper-right corner of the plugin window. Click it and then uncheck the "always on top" option.

Now when you click away from Cubase, the plugin will remain visible.


Nope. Not in Windows 10. Click away to adobe reader and even with Always on Top check the plugin will disappear until you reclick on Cubase.
Cubase Pro 9.0.1, FL Studio 12.4, Ableton Live Suite 9.7, Harrison Mixbus, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, Maschine Studio 2.5, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 500gb Sandisk Ultra ii SSD, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50
fretthefret
Member
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: VST Plugins visibility

Postby raino » Wed Dec 16, 2015 1:33 am

"Always on top" only keeps other Cubase windows from obscuring it.

You'll notice that if a window shows as an item on the Windows' Taskbar (e.g. MixConsole, Key Editor) that window will remain visible when the focus is shifted to another program. But if a window does not create an item on the Taskbar (e.g. VSTs, Score Settings) then that window will vanish when the focus shifts to another program.

I've resorted to using Windows' Snipping Tool to capture an image of a VST while open - but it takes some fitzing as selecting the Snipping makes the window disappear, but re-selecting Cubase and then the Tool will often leave the window visable.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.20, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2
User avatar
raino
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 323 times

Re: VST Plugins visibility

Postby UltimateOutsider » Wed Dec 16, 2015 2:39 am

fretthefret wrote:Nope. Not in Windows 10. Click away to adobe reader and even with Always on Top check the plugin will disappear until you reclick on Cubase.

Is this new with Windows 10? I'm still on Win 7, but I do this all the time when putting together tutorials.

raino wrote:"Always on top" only keeps other Cubase windows from obscuring it.

You would think that, but like I said, I do this all the time. Like if I'm writing about how to do something in a plugin, I disable Always On Top, and then I can click back in my browser window and still see the plugin so I can write about it. But also, I am on Win 7... could this behavior have change with newer OSes?

EDIT: Made a little video demonstration.
UltimateOutsider
Member
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:18 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: VST Plugins visibility

Postby raino » Fri Dec 18, 2015 8:58 pm

UltimateOutsider wrote:
fretthefret wrote:Nope. Not in Windows 10. Click away to adobe reader and even with Always on Top check the plugin will disappear until you reclick on Cubase.

Is this new with Windows 10? I'm still on Win 7, but I do this all the time when putting together tutorials.

raino wrote:"Always on top" only keeps other Cubase windows from obscuring it.

You would think that, but like I said, I do this all the time. Like if I'm writing about how to do something in a plugin, I disable Always On Top, and then I can click back in my browser window and still see the plugin so I can write about it. But also, I am on Win 7... could this behavior have change with newer OSes?

EDIT: Made a little video demonstration.


I misread your post and got it totally backwards thinking you were suggesting enabling always on top. :oops: Yeah you're correct disabling it does keep the window visible when shifting focus to another program. But then of course the window can get hidden behind another Cubase window - seems like it would be nice to have both. I did notice that when always on top is disabled it creates an item for it on the Taskbar.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.20, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2
User avatar
raino
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1958
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 323 times

Re: VST Plugins visibility

Postby banjo1 » Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:35 am

Oh! Thank you thankyou thankyou for this post! I was about ready to spit rocks! :)

It does seem non-intuitive though doesn't it? You "uncheck" Always on top? so that it will always remain on top (of Cubase)?

Jeff
User avatar
banjo1
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:41 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests