"No valid Licence found. The program will quit now"

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Orion
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:36 pm
Contact:

"No valid Licence found. The program will quit now"

Post by Orion » Wed Jan 13, 2016 9:54 pm

Hi, good Steinberg folks.

I've been running Pro 8.5 with no issues EXCEPT I occasionally get this pop-up message when I launch the program.

I usually just restart my computer (Macbook Pro, OS X 10.11.2) and things go fine after that.

Any idea why I'm getting the random popup in the first place?

Cheers.
Attachments
Cubase Pro 8.5 Pop-up.jpg
(47.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Orion

indiescore
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: "No valid Licence found. The program will quit now"

Post by indiescore » Thu Jan 14, 2016 12:14 am

It's typically a USB connectivity driven issue where cubase can't see dongle due to USB driver issues either with the dongle port, or other USB devices causing interference. In my case motu USB midi drivers knock out the Stirnberg dongle and I have to unplug and replug it in and reboot and reinstall motu midi drivers and all is better.
Windows 10 w latest update
Cubase 10 pro w latest update
INTEL CORE I7-4790K 4.0 GHZ + 10 % over clock , water cooled.
32GB DDR3 2133 MHZ
GIGABYTE Z97X-GAMING 7 Motherboard
Project drive M.2. Form factor , SSD
2x internal SSD, 2x external SSD USB 3

Orion
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: "No valid Licence found. The program will quit now"

Post by Orion » Fri Jan 15, 2016 3:39 am

Thanks, Indiescore. That's a clue, but my simple system is all Cubase/Steinberg. Cubase Pro 8.5 and a UR824 interface with everything updated to the latest and greatest. The whole Yamaha family should, theoretically, be able to all see each other and their stupid dongle just fine, and get along. It's annoying, and random, but not fatal. I can (for now) get up and running after each Cubase brain-fart and reboot. I'd sure like to prevent it from happening in the first place though. It doesn't exactly inspire confidence. (How to shut down a Cubase studio: Swipe their dongle. Or wait for the licence dongle brain-fart. Geez, what a choice.)

If it goes fatal, I'm switching to Apogee and Logic. < wink >

Cheers.
Orion

Sundayforsammy
Junior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:12 pm
Contact:

Re: "No valid Licence found. The program will quit now"

Post by Sundayforsammy » Sun Jan 17, 2016 12:41 pm

I know it is an obvious answer but have you tried using the dongle in a different usb port.
Cubase Pro 9 i7 3630QM Clevo P170EM Laptop PC - 16gb ram - 128 SSD OS hard drive - 1Tb Data Hard Drive - Windows 10 home - Motu 828mk3 Audio Interface - Roland SC880 Midi module - KRK Rockit 3 monitors, Alesis DM6 drum kit and a few guitars and a broken keyboard.

User avatar
DaveP
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: "No valid Licence found. The program will quit now"

Post by DaveP » Sun Jan 17, 2016 2:40 pm

Had something similar recently after an El Capitan "update".

Just re installed the latest e licenser version and all was good. I suspect the update caused some permission errors or similar but that fixed it for me, hope you get up speed soon!

Edit - Just tried and then rolled back from the ElCap beta 10.4.4 - this stopped the ELC from being seen completely!
iMac 2.7 2013, 8GB RAM, OS 10.4.3 , Cubase 10 Pro,
Panorama P4.
a red car in the fountain

Orion
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: "No valid Licence found. The program will quit now"

Post by Orion » Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:34 pm

Thanks for the ideas but so far nothing's changed.

It happened again this morning. Had to reboot to get up and running again.

It is a random (does not happen every day) P.I.T.A.

Cheers.
Attachments
Cubase Pro 8.5 Pop-up.jpg
(47.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Orion

User avatar
DaveP
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2014 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: "No valid Licence found. The program will quit now"

Post by DaveP » Tue Jan 19, 2016 5:37 pm

As always with these things when there is no obvious pattern I would check USB connection path etc. if the eLicenscer is plugged in directly then not more you can do but perhaps suspect the dongle itself, otherwise ensure any hubs etc are receiving full power and behaving as expected.

Having had this a while back I always plug the eLincenser directly in to the computer.

Hope you get it fixed!
iMac 2.7 2013, 8GB RAM, OS 10.4.3 , Cubase 10 Pro,
Panorama P4.
a red car in the fountain

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3147
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: "No valid Licence found. The program will quit now"

Post by peakae » Tue Jan 19, 2016 5:54 pm

I have had the same thing, using a different USB port solved it. The connectors on the USB dongle can get "dirty"
Try to unplug it and plug it back in a few times. If it continues I would suggest a replacement dongle.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Orion
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: "No valid Licence found. The program will quit now"

Post by Orion » Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:51 pm

Thanks for the tips everyone. Hopefully the Steinberg/Yamaha team is aware of it. Maybe it's related to this issue?
viewtopic.php?f=230&t=89032
Cheers.
Orion

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests