Installation Drives

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
mc303
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:43 pm
Contact:

Installation Drives

Post by mc303 » Sat Feb 13, 2016 12:01 pm

hi everyone, the new machine is 128 SSD C:drive and 1TB Sata D:drive

i didnt realise this until checking the storage, i thought the SSD was for Win boot only, so everything has been installing on C: which as you will know is almost full due to it's size, so before i uninstall CB is it ok to install CB on
D: drive? and run it from there?
thank you :)
Win 10 64bt, i7 6th gen,12gb ram, Pro 8.5 + 9,
Nektar Lx 49, Korg i3,
.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 13658
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Feb 13, 2016 2:33 pm

Hi,

Unfortunately installing of Cubase to any other then C drive is not supported. This could cause errors during the updates (the original Cubase version is not found).
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

mc303
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by mc303 » Sat Feb 13, 2016 2:52 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hi,

Unfortunately installing of Cubase to any other then C drive is not supported. This could cause errors during the updates (the original Cubase version is not found).
thx Martin, not to bothered with the updates, do you think it would run on the D:drive
Win 10 64bt, i7 6th gen,12gb ram, Pro 8.5 + 9,
Nektar Lx 49, Korg i3,
.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 13658
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Feb 13, 2016 6:17 pm

mc303 wrote:thx Martin, not to bothered with the updates, do you think it would run on the D:drive

Yes.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5059
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by Grim » Sat Feb 13, 2016 7:00 pm

You could also leave Cubase program on the C drive and move some of it's content to the D.
You're not getting much benefit from an SSD with just Windows on it....other than faster booting, nothing!
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2864
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by raino » Sat Feb 13, 2016 8:41 pm

My system originally had a smaller SSD like yours for the system disk & a larger one for sample libraries. A couple of months ago I got sick of always having to clean up my system disk. So I swapped it out for one twice the size - really great decision. It cost less than $100 and I re-purposed the small SSD as a 2nd drive for samples.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.5, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

mc303
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by mc303 » Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:25 pm

raino wrote:My system originally had a smaller SSD like yours for the system disk & a larger one for sample libraries. A couple of months ago I got sick of always having to clean up my system disk. So I swapped it out for one twice the size - really great decision. It cost less than $100 and I re-purposed the small SSD as a 2nd drive for samples.
excuse my ignorance, but i'm missing what you are trying to tell me
Win 10 64bt, i7 6th gen,12gb ram, Pro 8.5 + 9,
Nektar Lx 49, Korg i3,
.

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2864
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by raino » Sun Feb 14, 2016 1:51 am

mc303 wrote:
raino wrote:My system originally had a smaller SSD like yours for the system disk & a larger one for sample libraries. A couple of months ago I got sick of always having to clean up my system disk. So I swapped it out for one twice the size - really great decision. It cost less than $100 and I re-purposed the small SSD as a 2nd drive for samples.
excuse my ignorance, but i'm missing what you are trying to tell me
Rather than trying to relocate items currently on your system disk to another drive (and probably needing to move other stuff in the future) you might find it easier to upgrade the size of your system disk so it's not at risk of filling up.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.5, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

mc303
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by mc303 » Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:33 pm

raino wrote:
mc303 wrote:
raino wrote:My system originally had a smaller SSD like yours for the system disk & a larger one for sample libraries. A couple of months ago I got sick of always having to clean up my system disk. So I swapped it out for one twice the size - really great decision. It cost less than $100 and I re-purposed the small SSD as a 2nd drive for samples.
excuse my ignorance, but i'm missing what you are trying to tell me
Rather than trying to relocate items currently on your system disk to another drive (and probably needing to move other stuff in the future) you might find it easier to upgrade the size of your system disk so it's not at risk of filling up.

so what your saying is upgrade the SSD drive from 128 to lets say 500gb?
Win 10 64bt, i7 6th gen,12gb ram, Pro 8.5 + 9,
Nektar Lx 49, Korg i3,
.

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Sun Feb 14, 2016 12:55 pm

Hello,

you might want to consider to uninstall and re-install Cubase, pointing the installer to a secondary HD for the Content (like your D: drive). The Cubase application itself is not really big and should be installed on the local drive, as Martin correctly wrote, installation of the program on D: is not supported.
Although upgrading to a bigger SSD might be worth and a good choice for the future, I find my whole audio installation using less than 40GB on my C: SSD - I have Cubase, stand-alone programs, including (algo) synths, their presets and a few apps unrelated to audio on the C: drive. Large libraries (Steinberg, Toontrack, NI, IRs and samples) are installed on on my D: drive.

You just have to pay attention to this: when installing Cubase, you can click on every entry on the left (Padshop, Groove Agent, HALion Sonic) and change the installation path. Check that each every entry is set to the same path (e.g. D:\Steinberg Content) and double-check that every entry is set to the same path after making the assignments.
Fabio Bartolini, Senior Support Representative
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

mc303
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by mc303 » Sun Feb 14, 2016 1:05 pm

Fabio Bartolini wrote:Hello,

you might want to consider to uninstall and re-install Cubase, pointing the installer to a secondary HD for the Content (like your D: drive). The Cubase application itself is not really big and should be installed on the local drive, as Martin correctly wrote, installation of the program on D: is not supported.
Although upgrading to a bigger SSD might be worth and a good choice for the future, I find my whole audio installation using less than 40GB on my C: SSD - I have Cubase, stand-alone programs, including (algo) synths, their presets and a few apps unrelated to audio on the C: drive. Large libraries (Steinberg, Toontrack, NI, IRs and samples) are installed on on my D: drive.

You just have to pay attention to this: when installing Cubase, you can click on every entry on the left (Padshop, Groove Agent, HALion Sonic) and change the installation path. Check that each every entry is set to the same path (e.g. D:\Steinberg Content) and double-check that every entry is set to the same path after making the assignments.
thank you so much :)
Win 10 64bt, i7 6th gen,12gb ram, Pro 8.5 + 9,
Nektar Lx 49, Korg i3,
.

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2864
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by raino » Sun Feb 14, 2016 9:16 pm

mc303 wrote: so what your saying is upgrade the SSD drive from 128 to lets say 500gb?
Yeah, although I only went to 250GB which seems fine, 128GB always kept getting too close to filling up even after I'd moved moved the Steinberg content to another drive.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.5, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Jazzbob44
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:52 am
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by Jazzbob44 » Fri Feb 16, 2018 11:13 am

Hi.
I am having the same issue as you could you let me know how it goes installing it on the d drive.
It's working fine for now on c but as time goes on could be an issue.
So I want to reset computer and install all cubase artist on d drive.
Will there be any issues with this ?
Many thanks

mc303
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by mc303 » Fri Feb 16, 2018 3:18 pm

@jazz, I didn't change the OS, I uninstalled CB and moved data to D drive and continued using CB 8.5 :)
Win 10 64bt, i7 6th gen,12gb ram, Pro 8.5 + 9,
Nektar Lx 49, Korg i3,
.

Jazzbob44
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:52 am
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by Jazzbob44 » Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:15 pm

I have now done the same. uninstalled cb and reinstalled on d
no problems to report

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 13658
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:00 pm

FYI, it's not supported to install Cubase to other than C drive. You May have some issues while Cubase maintenance updates.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Jazzbob44
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 9:52 am
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by Jazzbob44 » Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:06 am

Hi I've installed cb artist 9.5 on d drive it works fine.not too bothered about the updates .making music for me is the most important thing

Jeremiediamond
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by Jeremiediamond » Wed Apr 04, 2018 3:13 am

All my cubase stuff is on D drive and it works fine except for the vst instruments. I can open halion but not groove agent so I can write à drum Line in midi track but no sound comes out. I been trying to figure this out for a week now and it still doesnt work. I NEED HELP. Halion work fine but theres no program in it so no sound either

mc303
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Installation Drives

Post by mc303 » Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:48 am

i have uninstalled mine at present and wont be installing until the end of the week, so i cant really help you until i have checked mine out :(
however i am sure someone will post a reply :(
thanks
Win 10 64bt, i7 6th gen,12gb ram, Pro 8.5 + 9,
Nektar Lx 49, Korg i3,
.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests