Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
jonwright
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:33 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by jonwright » Fri Mar 11, 2016 4:19 pm

When I try to 'pin' the Fader tab so it stays open, it doesn't work for instrument tracks.

It works as it should for audio tracks.

After a search I noticed similar posts from almost a year ago, but it was meant to be fixed. I'm on the latest Cubase (8.5.15) and Mac OS 10.11.3.

Anyone else having issues?

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by AP » Fri Mar 11, 2016 6:31 pm

Is all good here, working as it should. Have you tried resetting Cubase? It should fix strange behaviours.
<Cmd> + <Shift> + <Alt> (Mac OS X) as soon as the start screen appears.
Cubase Pro 10.20. Latest 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.14 UR28M, CMC.

User avatar
jonwright
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:33 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by jonwright » Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:27 am

Hey AP.

I'm afraid that hasn't worked either. It's reasonably fresh install of Cubase too, only a month old.

Something else to add to my list of annoyances I guess!

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by AP » Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:39 am

You don't have to tolerate this. I suggest contacting your local Steinberg tech support by creating a ticket in your my Steinberg account. This forum is not the best place to solve issues. Good luck...
Cubase Pro 10.20. Latest 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.14 UR28M, CMC.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3000
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by peakae » Sat Mar 12, 2016 1:40 pm

Actually the forum is the best place to solve these tiny issues.
Contacting support should be the last resort.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 641
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by AP » Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:46 pm

peakae wrote:Actually the forum is the best place to solve these tiny issues.
Contacting support should be the last resort.
How are you helping? In my experience I got replies within 24 hours. There's also phone support.
Cubase Pro 10.20. Latest 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.14 UR28M, CMC.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by -steve- » Sat Mar 12, 2016 6:11 pm

I can confirm this.

When reporting a problem a repro works best, to make sure that the people who check your problem to the exact same thing you did to reproduce. I will bet that that didn't happen here– I mean that people tried stuff, but not the exact thing the OP did.

Here's a Repro:
1. Create an Instrument track and load a VSTi on it.
2. Click on the Instrument Tab
3. Right-click on one of the tabs that appeared and select Setup...(I used the Audio Fader tab)
4. In the dialog that opens click in the pin column for the items you want to pin
5. Hit okay

Here none of the tabs get pinned.

In terms of support response times and ways to contact , it depends on where you are in the world. The US has a separate support team from the EU countries, and there a many countries in the world where Yamaha/Steinberg do not have official support, and people are referred to some local support which might be a retailer.

EU folks can call SB direct, in the US you cannot.

So for someone in countries without Steinberg or Yamaha Cubase tech support, the forum really is the best way to get answers.

If you have an problem or or a feature request sending it to the tech support team i not a bad idea. Especially since those communications are logged, whereas the forum is a more casual affair.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
jonwright
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:33 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by jonwright » Wed Mar 16, 2016 2:48 pm

Apologies for the late reply.

Thanks for checking and confirming that Steve, I'll drop Steinberg a line.

M_Helder
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by M_Helder » Sat Mar 02, 2019 9:44 pm

Can confirm, pins don't work for instrument tracks...
Recently bought Cubase 10 Pro and keep running into small irritations like this one ever since.

Did you get a reply from the support team?

User avatar
jonwright
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:33 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by jonwright » Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:17 am

I received a reply a few weeks later, which answered a completely different question. So I gave up.

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Inspector 'Pin' not working for Instrument Tracks

Post by theRoyal1 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 6:18 am

This is STILL an issue on Cubase 10!!!
Works on audio but NOT on INST or MIDI tracks.

The answer given it to hold 'ctrl' to have it work as a pin but imo that's not a feature. It's a broken feature and an issue that should be fixed.
4 years running? c'mon ...
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 1600 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 6xSamsung 840/850 EVO 1TB + 1x4TB + 2xWD2500 + 2xWD4001 HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.0.10
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Maschine Studio | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Goliath HD | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: airflamesred and 11 guests