Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Tim Grunwald
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:28 am

Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by Tim Grunwald » Wed Mar 16, 2016 5:29 pm

Dear Cubase users,

we have released WaveLab Pro 9 and WaveLab Elements 9, the first WaveLab versions to provide a seamless and direct exchange of audio material with Cubase Pro and Cubase Artist (8.5.10 or newer versions).

How does it work?

For instance, you can open an audio file in WaveLab directly from within a Cubase project and use WaveLab's restoration, editing, analysis and mastering tools to polish your audio material even during the mixing process. After editing and processing the audio file in WaveLab, it will be updated automatically in your Cubase project by just clicking on a single button in WaveLab.

On the other hand, if you are in the middle of a mastering process and you need to go back into the original Cubase project to make some vital changes in the mix that cannot be done in mastering, for example, to improve the balance between different instruments, WaveLab now instantly opens the respective Cubase project directly from the imported audio file in WaveLab. This way, you can easily edit or re-mix the project and export a new mix, ready for mastering.

Watch the video to learn more
Tim Grunwald - Project Manager Digital
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

dickiedrummer
Junior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by dickiedrummer » Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:21 pm

I have upgraded to WL Elements 9 and have both 32 bit and 64 bit versions installed. i notice that if I open a file from Cubase's Audio menu into WaveLab, it opens up the 32 bit version of the Elements 9, even though my Windows default for .wav files is the 64 bit version.

Is there a preference somewhere to tell Cubase which version of WaveLab to use?
Soft: Windows 10 64 bit | Cubase Pro 10.5 | Wavelab Elements 10 | Halion 6 + HSO + various 3rd party from Arturia, Waves, Izotope etc
Hard: Asus P9X79 Mboard | Intel i7 3930k |16gb ram | NVidea GTX1070 | 2*24" monitors
Audio: X32 Producer desk/soundcard | Tannoy DMT2 12" main monitor + M-Audio BX5 nearfield

rhansen
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:42 am
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by rhansen » Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:49 am

dickiedrummer wrote:Is there a preference somewhere to tell Cubase which version of WaveLab to use?
Unfortunately there is no preference.

But there are a couple of workarounds. Maybe one is suitable for you:
1. Uninstall the 32bit version
2. In "\ProgramData\Steinberg\Audio Export Post Process Scripts" directory there are two files called OpenInWavelabElements9_0_64.aepp and OpenInWavelabElements9_0_32.aepp
You can either move OpenInWavelabElements9_0_32.aepp out of this folder or completely delete it.
3. Open "\ProgramData\Steinberg\Audio Export Post Process Scripts\OpenInWavelabElements9_0_32.aepp" in a text editor and simply change the path to the WaveLab app (search for the <Path> tag)

(Keep in mind that this also changes the behaviour of the "Export Audio Mixdown" feature in Cubase!)

Tell me in case it does not work for you!

Best,
René

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3033
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by peakae » Fri Mar 18, 2016 10:50 am

There is a issue with this feature:
PG wrote:There is a known issue when you edit a 32 bit float file in cubase, and then use the command "Edit in WaveLab".
There is no problem if you use 16 or 24 bit files.
A hot fix will happen soon, for this.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

dickiedrummer
Junior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by dickiedrummer » Fri Mar 18, 2016 11:23 am

Unfortunately there is no preference.

But there are a couple of workarounds. Maybe one is suitable for you:
1. Uninstall the 32bit version
2. In "\ProgramData\Steinberg\Audio Export Post Process Scripts" directory there are two files called OpenInWavelabElements9_0_64.aepp and OpenInWavelabElements9_0_32.aepp
You can either move OpenInWavelabElements9_0_32.aepp out of this folder or completely delete it.
3. Open "\ProgramData\Steinberg\Audio Export Post Process Scripts\OpenInWavelabElements9_0_32.aepp" in a text editor and simply change the path to the WaveLab app (search for the <Path> tag)

(Keep in mind that this also changes the behaviour of the "Export Audio Mixdown" feature in Cubase!)

Tell me in case it does not work for you!

Best,
René
Thanks René! I used option #2 (I just changed the 32.aepp extension to 32.aepz) and now Cubase opens up 64 bit Wavelab.

Richard.
Soft: Windows 10 64 bit | Cubase Pro 10.5 | Wavelab Elements 10 | Halion 6 + HSO + various 3rd party from Arturia, Waves, Izotope etc
Hard: Asus P9X79 Mboard | Intel i7 3930k |16gb ram | NVidea GTX1070 | 2*24" monitors
Audio: X32 Producer desk/soundcard | Tannoy DMT2 12" main monitor + M-Audio BX5 nearfield

Luis Dongo
Moderator
Posts: 913
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by Luis Dongo » Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:35 pm

peakae wrote:There is a issue with this feature:
PG wrote:There is a known issue when you edit a 32 bit float file in cubase, and then use the command "Edit in WaveLab".
There is no problem if you use 16 or 24 bit files.
A hot fix will happen soon, for this.
Hi peakae,

yes, that is a known issue (well documented here: http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... utions.pdf)

We plan an update exclusively to fix it very soon.

All the best,
Luis Dongo
Marketing Manager - Pro Audio

Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud.

PeppaPig
Member
Posts: 914
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by PeppaPig » Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:58 pm

I remember being able to double-click on audio in Cubase VST32 to be taken into Wavelab to edit it roughly 15 years ago - what's new?
Cubase Pro 10.00.40, 9.5, Pro9.0.20. WaveLab 9 EL. UA Apollo Quad FW, UA PCI Octo, UA Satelite Quad, Adam T5V, Golden Audio pre73 DLX, Behringer ADA8200, Joe Meek AC3, Intel i7 6850x@4.2Ghz (6C/12T), Asus x99 Deluxe II, AMD 6450 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Samsung 860 and 850 SSDs, 64Gb RAM - Melodyne Studio, Komplete ultimate 11, Halion 6, GA,GA2,GA3,GA4 (+sp), OZ6, OZ7, OZ8 adv, Neutron Adv, BFD3, SoundToys rack, Panorama P1, M-Audio Oxygen, Yamaha YPP55 - outboard: PRO VLAII, Digitech Time machine RDS4000, 1950s Ferrograph Series 5, Mics: AKG C1000S, Rode NT2A and M5 pair, SE2200A, SE X1R, Fame-VT67 (cheap valve U67 clone), Heil PR20&PR22, Behringer Mic2200 used for reamping with a bit of nastiness!

Vas314
Junior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by Vas314 » Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:59 am

It seems to me if Cubase implemented ARA and Wavelab 9 was made ARA
we will be able to use both Wavelab and Melodyne in a smooth workflow.

Then Steinberg can then sell Wavelab to Studio One, Sonar and Tracktion users.
Wow, all the money they can make and at the same time make Cubase
fans very happy.
Cubase 10.0.30, S1 4.5, Reaper 5, FLS 20, Bidule - Windows 10 - 64bit, Focusrite 2i4, iPad Air as Midi Controller, 23" 10-touch monitor, ExpressionMate, Waves Gold, Komplete 12, PSP, Eventide, Melda, Soundtoys, Hornet etc.

PeppaPig
Member
Posts: 914
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by PeppaPig » Sun Mar 27, 2016 7:40 pm

Vas314 wrote:It seems to me if Cubase implemented ARA and Wavelab 9 was made ARA
we will be able to use both Wavelab and Melodyne in a smooth workflow.

Then Steinberg can then sell Wavelab to Studio One, Sonar and Tracktion users.
Wow, all the money they can make and at the same time make Cubase
fans very happy.
Dream on! :lol:
Cubase Pro 10.00.40, 9.5, Pro9.0.20. WaveLab 9 EL. UA Apollo Quad FW, UA PCI Octo, UA Satelite Quad, Adam T5V, Golden Audio pre73 DLX, Behringer ADA8200, Joe Meek AC3, Intel i7 6850x@4.2Ghz (6C/12T), Asus x99 Deluxe II, AMD 6450 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Samsung 860 and 850 SSDs, 64Gb RAM - Melodyne Studio, Komplete ultimate 11, Halion 6, GA,GA2,GA3,GA4 (+sp), OZ6, OZ7, OZ8 adv, Neutron Adv, BFD3, SoundToys rack, Panorama P1, M-Audio Oxygen, Yamaha YPP55 - outboard: PRO VLAII, Digitech Time machine RDS4000, 1950s Ferrograph Series 5, Mics: AKG C1000S, Rode NT2A and M5 pair, SE2200A, SE X1R, Fame-VT67 (cheap valve U67 clone), Heil PR20&PR22, Behringer Mic2200 used for reamping with a bit of nastiness!

ckon
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by ckon » Thu Apr 14, 2016 12:32 pm

2016 and Wavelab working better alongside Cubase is nothing new, Back with Cubase VST5 (not cubase5)
and directly within Cubase you could launch/open and edit your audio in any external audio editor at a click of a button, its taken a very long time to get wavelab integration back again.

At least a step in the right direction
ckon:

C Pro 10.0.40 (and all previous)
Win7 - x64 (farewell soon)
Main host system:
i7 3770k - 4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM, OS on SSD
Museum DAW: Apple Mac LCII Opcode Studio Vision.

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by Quinn3k3 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:25 pm

To the chuckling Areosmith fan above:

It is unfortunate that you would discourage someone from making an enhancement request in that manner. While I agree Steinberg has been hesitant to incorporate the ARA functionality into their products, all users want to improve their workflow. How else do we get the features we want other than to ask for them.

If a better transfer protocol is not important to you then why comment on it? If it is, why not support a fellow user and let Steinberg decide what is and is not feasible for them to implement?

Just my two cents,
Quinn

SteelyDani
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by SteelyDani » Mon May 30, 2016 7:54 am

As far as I’m concerned Cubase doesn’t update files edited in WaveLab. I’ve made the test in two different studios, whit different PC’s, OS and sound modules. The projects were also different. I’ve spent many hours trying to find a solution and I even open a thread in WaveLab 9 forum without any success.

viewtopic.php?f=244&t=97076

Has anyone had a similar problem? Any suggestion?
http://www.bcstudiorecording.com
BCS. Basque Coast Studio
Music is a gift from God to Man

Windows 10 (64)/ Cubase Pro 9.5/ WaveLab 9.5 Elements/ Halion 6 / Intel(R) I7-6700K @ 4.00 GHz - 32GB Dual Channel DDR4/ MOTU PCI-424 + 4 X 2408 mk3

SteelyDani
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by SteelyDani » Tue Dec 13, 2016 3:47 pm

SOLVED!!!!! Update 9.0.35.
http://www.bcstudiorecording.com
BCS. Basque Coast Studio
Music is a gift from God to Man

Windows 10 (64)/ Cubase Pro 9.5/ WaveLab 9.5 Elements/ Halion 6 / Intel(R) I7-6700K @ 4.00 GHz - 32GB Dual Channel DDR4/ MOTU PCI-424 + 4 X 2408 mk3

Vas314
Junior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by Vas314 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 1:09 am

SteelyDani wrote:SOLVED!!!!! Update 9.0.35.
What and how solved.

Midi and audio file exchange between Cabase and Wavelab?
How about midi and audio file exchange between Cubase and FL Studio 12?

Is this copy and paste or drag and drop?
Cubase 10.0.30, S1 4.5, Reaper 5, FLS 20, Bidule - Windows 10 - 64bit, Focusrite 2i4, iPad Air as Midi Controller, 23" 10-touch monitor, ExpressionMate, Waves Gold, Komplete 12, PSP, Eventide, Melda, Soundtoys, Hornet etc.

SteelyDani
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by SteelyDani » Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:14 pm

Vas314 wrote:
SteelyDani wrote:SOLVED!!!!! Update 9.0.35.
What and how solved.

Midi and audio file exchange between Cabase and Wavelab?
How about midi and audio file exchange between Cubase and FL Studio 12?

Is this copy and paste or drag and drop?
What: Editing Cubase Audio events in WaveLab

How: By repairing a bug originated when the username has special characters, which is very common in many languages.

When: as mentioned in my email 13 Dec 2016, the WaveLab update 9.0.35 has solved the issue.

Who: A Steinberg employee called René, who payed attention to our comments and was very insightful. He fixed the bug in 24 hours although we had to wait a bit more for the results of the tester and update release.

Concerning your other questions, unfortunately, I can’t imagine how Cubase and WaveLab can exchange MIDI files. Have a look at the WaveLab 9 Operation Manual.
http://www.bcstudiorecording.com
BCS. Basque Coast Studio
Music is a gift from God to Man

Windows 10 (64)/ Cubase Pro 9.5/ WaveLab 9.5 Elements/ Halion 6 / Intel(R) I7-6700K @ 4.00 GHz - 32GB Dual Channel DDR4/ MOTU PCI-424 + 4 X 2408 mk3

Vas314
Junior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct file exchange between Cubase and WaveLab Pro 9

Post by Vas314 » Wed Jan 04, 2017 5:04 am

SteelyDani wrote: Concerning your other questions, unfortunately, I can’t imagine how Cubase and WaveLab can exchange MIDI files. Have a look at the WaveLab 9 Operation Manual.
Midi? What was I thinking? :roll: :oops:
Cubase 10.0.30, S1 4.5, Reaper 5, FLS 20, Bidule - Windows 10 - 64bit, Focusrite 2i4, iPad Air as Midi Controller, 23" 10-touch monitor, ExpressionMate, Waves Gold, Komplete 12, PSP, Eventide, Melda, Soundtoys, Hornet etc.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests