Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything easy

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything easy

Post by ZeroZero » Mon Nov 07, 2016 2:34 pm

Picture this:

You visit the key editor hundreds of times, but there is no way to quickly bring all the notes in your part/selection, so they fill the whole of the main window. Zoom to Locators only manages the horizontal view.
So, perhaps a little red button, that is located in between the horizontal scroller, and the zoom scroller (RHS of Key editor window) that either (depending on whether notes are selected)

a] Brings all of the notes in the part to fill the whole of the window
b] Brings only those notes selected into the whole of the window

Using such a button you could say, select four or five notes - click the button to get macro view of these notes (easy to edit then) then when you are finished, deselect the notes (by clicking anywhere) then hit the magic button again and you straight back to viewing the whole part.

No more struggling with views
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9048
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by -steve- » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Why reinvent the wheel? Zoom to Selection does this, assign it to a keystroke.

'Undo Zoom' returns you to the previous zoom level.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by ZeroZero » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:13 pm

Put the key editor view out of wack, then try grabbing for zoom to selection. Button would be much easier IMO
:)

Z
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9048
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by -steve- » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:15 pm

ZeroZero wrote:Put the key editor view out of wack
What does that mean?
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by ZeroZero » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:20 pm

Edit: I suppose the best way, without a macro, involves two or three operations

1] Select All (from Edit menu)
2] Zoom to selection

3] Optionally (Loop Selection range)

Z
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9048
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by -steve- » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:21 pm

Well, the best way to bake a cake without an oven is to let it sit in the sun for a few days. Or, use the oven.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by ZeroZero » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:21 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:
ZeroZero wrote:Put the key editor view out of wack
What does that mean?
Make it so that all the notes are not seen either horizontally or vertically

:)
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9048
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by -steve- » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:22 pm

Perhaps consider investing in a computer keyboard. :P
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by ZeroZero » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:24 pm

I have a push button oven - the wife makes the cakes,
but even so, one button kills all! I just heat it up in the microwave!
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by ZeroZero » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:26 pm

Fair point about keyboards, its usually out of reach when I work in the studio, too many other instruments, controllers, keyboards, gtrs - I go with a mouse where I can.
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9048
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by -steve- » Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:54 pm

Okay, you've convinced me with the microwave argument. +1, but maybe not red. :P
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3670
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by raino » Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:01 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:Okay, you've convinced me with the microwave argument. +1, but maybe not red. :P
Perhaps a pop-up checkbox when you scroll to the window's edge, 'cause everybody loves those. :P
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by ZeroZero » Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:57 pm

Steve I sorted a macro, thanks for your heads up (but still a button would mean no keyboard)

3 commands in the macro:

Edit Select All
Transport Locators to Selection
Zoom to Selection

Very Handy :)
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3670
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Little tiny button for Key Editor view Makes everything

Post by raino » Mon Nov 07, 2016 11:30 pm

I've thought for awhile that it would be nice to have a set of buttons that we could assign to key-commands. Maybe I should submit a FR.

EDIT
So I did.
viewtopic.php?f=228&t=105347
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests