Please Stop Downconverting Metronome Audio Files

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
david_d
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 6:59 pm
Contact:

Please Stop Downconverting Metronome Audio Files

Post by david_d » Fri Nov 11, 2016 10:18 pm

Apparently, Cubase 8.5 downconverts audio files assigned to the metronome to mono, 16-bit, 44 kHz or maybe less. It sorta sounds like 8- or 12-bit to my ears.

Granted, it's not the end of the world, but please understand that I put some effort into my custom metronome "click." Similar to the popular UREI electronic metronome sound, it's stereo, 24/96, and has a nice high-end that, when you put it all together, cuts through at modest volumes. Unfortunately, Cubase reduces it to monophonic mush, as if bitcrushed through an 80s sampler.

Thank you for your consideration.
Master of Music Business and Technology, Berklee College of Music

MHoughton
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Please Stop Downconverting Metronome Audio Files

Post by MHoughton » Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:03 pm

Seems a fair request to me.

In the meantime you could simply put your custom metronome on an audio track and route it to the Control Room but not the mix bus.

wavefunktion
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Please Stop Downconverting Metronome Audio Files

Post by wavefunktion » Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:31 pm

+1
OS: Windows 7 64bit
DAW: Cubase Pro 8 v8.0.30.536 (64bit) & Cubase Pro 8 v8.5.20 (64bit)
CPU: i7 960 Bloomfield (Turbo & C1E disabled)
Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D-E x58 Chipset 1366 Socket (BIOS v701)
Graphic Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX970 - Driver v373.06
RAM: 12GB Corsair Dominator (CMP12GX3M3A1600C9)
HDD: Samsung EVO SSD 1TB (MZ-75E1T0)
Audio Interface: RME Fireface UCX - Driver v1.095 Rev 46
PSU: Corsair AX860 (CP-9020044-AU)
Network Adapter: Intel Gigabit CT PCIe (EXPI9301CT)
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.0.30 Bugs, Errors & Performance Reporting Channel
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.5.20 Bugs, Errors & Performance Reporting Channel
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.5.20 Feature Requests & Suggestions
"I just wanna make music & have fun doing so..."

wavefunktion
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Please Stop Downconverting Metronome Audio Files

Post by wavefunktion » Thu Dec 01, 2016 2:52 am

I forgot to mention that I seen Junkie XL in one of his videos saying he uses his metronome click from within Groove Agent, So im guessing he gets the metronome to audio file some other way then loads into Groove Agent which tempo syncs to project etc and just write in MIDI parts where you want the metronome ? thats what I gathered anyway.

So this suggestion might be very valid. Im no metronome expert though lol.
OS: Windows 7 64bit
DAW: Cubase Pro 8 v8.0.30.536 (64bit) & Cubase Pro 8 v8.5.20 (64bit)
CPU: i7 960 Bloomfield (Turbo & C1E disabled)
Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D-E x58 Chipset 1366 Socket (BIOS v701)
Graphic Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX970 - Driver v373.06
RAM: 12GB Corsair Dominator (CMP12GX3M3A1600C9)
HDD: Samsung EVO SSD 1TB (MZ-75E1T0)
Audio Interface: RME Fireface UCX - Driver v1.095 Rev 46
PSU: Corsair AX860 (CP-9020044-AU)
Network Adapter: Intel Gigabit CT PCIe (EXPI9301CT)
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.0.30 Bugs, Errors & Performance Reporting Channel
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.5.20 Bugs, Errors & Performance Reporting Channel
My Youtube Steinberg Cubase v8.5.20 Feature Requests & Suggestions
"I just wanna make music & have fun doing so..."

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests