16 inserts per track

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
ControlX2012
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:27 am
Contact:

16 inserts per track

Post by ControlX2012 » Thu Dec 04, 2014 10:27 am

What is with keeping to 8 inserts, it's like insisting on wearing flared trousers in the 80's.

Please get a grip and at the very least add two more, be brave and allow 12 or go all out modern and give us 16.

Seriously 8 inserts is completely backward, disrupts workflow and is not a technical limit and would probably take 5 mins to re-code.

This should be in the next minor release version!

Treat us like professionals!

User avatar
Greg Houston
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Greg Houston » Thu Dec 04, 2014 11:51 am

This was already one of the very first feature requests added today, and of course it will be made many more times until/if it is ever implemented in some future version of Cubase, but anyway... +1
Image i7 3.4G Quad-Core, 16Gb, Win 10

Noufnouf
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 4:14 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Noufnouf » Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:31 pm

+1

ControlX2012
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 5:27 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by ControlX2012 » Sat Dec 06, 2014 3:04 pm

Well that was for unlimited inserts which will just get ignored, lets starts with something steinberg might actually listened to

ragagooo
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by ragagooo » Sun Dec 07, 2014 5:05 pm

Agree!
Ragagooo

steflor
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by steflor » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:12 pm

But you can root your track in a group, so you get 16 inserts.
Ok, it's not the "cleanest" solution, but...

zyguli
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:39 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by zyguli » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:32 pm

steflor wrote:But you can root your track in a group, so you get 16 inserts.
Ok, it's not the "cleanest" solution, but...
You can also switch to Studio One, which allows you to use unlimited number of insert effects. :roll:

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:37 pm

i think since everything is hard-coded to 8 inserts in the application, then it make sense to just make it unlimited (or, 'unlimited', like 128...), because once someone takes the time to dissolve the 8-limit, it will be as much work making it 16 as any other arbitrary number.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

steflor
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by steflor » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:45 pm

zyguli wrote:
steflor wrote:But you can root your track in a group, so you get 16 inserts.
Ok, it's not the "cleanest" solution, but...
You can also switch to Studio One, which allows you to use unlimited number of insert effects. :roll:
So, what are doing on Cubase forum, zyguli?

Working with Studio One, and post on Presonus forum :-)

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:46 pm

...also with the unlimited inserts should come a warning system preventing the user from running out of memory..
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

zyguli
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:39 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by zyguli » Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:51 pm

steflor wrote:
zyguli wrote:
steflor wrote:But you can root your track in a group, so you get 16 inserts.
Ok, it's not the "cleanest" solution, but...
You can also switch to Studio One, which allows you to use unlimited number of insert effects. :roll:
So, what are doing on Cubase forum, zyguli?

Working with Studio One, and post on Presonus forum :-)
You got it wrong. I was the guy that posted a request for mixer undo and unlimited inserts. My point was, people should be demanding more (unlimited) insert slots instead of settling for status quo and accepting ridiculous workarounds.
Last edited by zyguli on Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Invincibear
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Invincibear » Sun Dec 07, 2014 11:35 pm

+1 for a higher insert/track limit. Several other DAWs allow unlimited plugin stacking to create a plugin rack. The workaround of routing into a group for additional FX is annoying.

MHoughton
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:00 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by MHoughton » Tue Dec 16, 2014 5:29 pm

zyguli wrote:You can also switch to Studio One, which allows you to use unlimited number of insert effects. :roll:
...and put up with the limitations of Studio One.

+1 for more inserts. Or at least to be able to switch the last two between pre/post fader.

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by 01w » Fri Jan 02, 2015 9:36 pm

16 is way too much, but better than 8
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

User avatar
Carvin
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 12:25 am

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Carvin » Sat Jan 03, 2015 2:21 am

I generally don't need more than the 6+2 (pre/post fader) when mixing.

But it is quite handy to be able to load a few different compressors, eq's etc, to A/B them, without having to clear/reload different plugin slots.

So it is a yes from me.

PS. For those saying no..........you DON'T have to use them ;)
HOVER HATERS UNITE -- DOWN WITH HOVER
PCs | PC 1 - Win7 x64 - 16 GB RAM | PC 2 - Win8.1 x64 - 16 GB RAM | PC 3 - Win8.1 x64 - 8 GB RAM
SW | Cubase 6.5/8 - Nuendo 5.5 - Studio One 2.6 - Reaper 4.7 | Plugins - Probably too many
HW | Dynaudio - Focusrite - Universal Audio - TL-Audio - TC Electronics - PreSonus - Avid ++

ragagooo
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by ragagooo » Tue Feb 17, 2015 8:24 pm

Nice workaround : Mini Host, a plugin where you can stack multiple plugins
Ragagooo

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Tue Feb 17, 2015 11:15 pm

ragagooo wrote:Nice workaround : Mini Host, a plugin where you can stack multiple plugins
personally i prefer creating another group because any 3rd party plugin host won't be able to take advantage of loading cubase-saved plugin chains from the media-bay (not an issue if you don't rely on your own pre-set chains, of course). also, no hardware inserts in the vst chainers.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
estrica2000
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by estrica2000 » Wed Feb 18, 2015 12:19 am

ragagooo wrote:Nice workaround : Mini Host, a plugin where you can stack multiple plugins
hmm i am curiose about it! beta still
OSX Mavericks, Cubase 7.5.4 64 bit

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Jeff Hayat » Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:04 am

MORE SLOTS PLEASE

MHoughton
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:00 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by MHoughton » Wed Feb 18, 2015 8:55 pm

lukasbrooklyn wrote:
ragagooo wrote:Nice workaround : Mini Host, a plugin where you can stack multiple plugins
personally i prefer creating another group because any 3rd party plugin host won't be able to take advantage of loading cubase-saved plugin chains from the media-bay (not an issue if you don't rely on your own pre-set chains, of course). also, no hardware inserts in the vst chainers.
Funny... I like chainers (Blue Cat's is a favourite) as I can transfer the plugin chain between DAWs and not be limited to Cubase's presets...

mpayne0
Member
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by mpayne0 » Thu Feb 19, 2015 2:57 pm

You can always still use a 3rd party chainer if that suits your workflow.

That should not negate the legitimate need for other users so have a simple built in solution as an option.
No more workarounds! We spend too much time making decisions based on inserts limits, we should not have to stop and think about this in the middle of working.

I hate having to go for the second and third option because I can't easily just click an additional insert.
I hate starting off a song, already contemplating my compromises and sacrifices because I already know that 3 of the inserts will be used for utility.

It's a joke... we have invested enough into our software to have to put up with this drivel.

lucky95
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by lucky95 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 10:35 pm

01w wrote:16 is way too much, but better than 8
It's not even 8, slots 7 and 8 are pre-fader witch are unusable for dynamic processors, reverbs...

Invincibear
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Invincibear » Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:26 am

MOAR slots please!
One of the features that attracts lots of producers to Ableton is the ability to create plugin stacks. Frankly I'm sick of ReWiring Ableton into Cubase.
You could even set different max insert limits based on the type of Cubase purchased, Pro vs Artist.

tokatila
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 11:28 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by tokatila » Sun Mar 01, 2015 7:53 pm

+8!

User avatar
Outsounder
Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Outsounder » Sat Mar 14, 2015 3:35 pm

If you use waves, the free Waves rack is a super plugin, you can load eight plugins into each slot giving a total of 64 as well as save each individual waves rack for specific purposes and plugin chains. The coding to enable other plugin manufacturers to use the rack is freely available from waves.
Main-Intel i7/Asus mobo/Gforce GPU/32gig ram. Secondary-Intel Q9950/Asus mobo/Radeon GPU/8gig ram.Win7 pro/Win10 pro, Cubase 9.5 Pro/Cubase 10.5 pro, Studio One 4 Pro, ACID, Ableton Live, SonicCore/Scope DSP Audio System, Presonus Sceptre S6 monitors. Avid Artist Mix/Control and Transport. Software includes NI Komplete 10, Halion 6, East West Play Libraries, Heavyocity Libraries, Sample Logic Libraries Best Service Libraries, Sonokinetic Libraries, 8Dio Libraries,Project Sam Libaries, Sound Iron Libraries,Melodyne Pro, Uberschall Elastic & Liquid Libraries etc etc.

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest