16 inserts per track

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Laserkraft
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Laserkraft » Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:16 pm

Of course, it's also simply a matter of comfort. And one might think that nowadays, there should be no reason for such limitation (looking at other DAWs, for example).
C 9.5 / Win 10 Custom PC / OS X MacBook Pro

CueBass
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 5:54 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by CueBass » Mon Aug 10, 2015 10:34 pm

+1

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by McBass » Tue Aug 18, 2015 4:12 am

Yes please! Not needed often but great when comparing say multiple comps etc or in sound design.
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

User avatar
shanearix
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 10:06 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by shanearix » Tue Oct 13, 2015 1:41 am

+1 Absolutely! 8 is not enough for sound design etc computers can handle serious processing now, there is no need to obtain the 8 insert limitation of the past. Lets go 16 or even unlimited!
http://shanearix.com
iMac, OSX 10.9, Cubase Pro 8, UAD Apollo Quad

ceanganb
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:39 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by ceanganb » Thu Dec 03, 2015 3:36 pm

+1000

6 pre fader inserts is just too little.
A. C.
Cubase 9.5 / Windows 10 Home x64 / M-Audio Fast Track C400
Intel Core i7 2700K / 32GB RAM DDR3 1333 Mhz / Asus P8H67-M EVO

nwdk
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 7:22 pm
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by nwdk » Sun Dec 06, 2015 12:37 pm

+ 1!

sir_padi
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by sir_padi » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:27 am

I'm also for giving us more inserts. I need them every time
Cubase Pro 8.5 64 Bit / Windows 7 64 Bit / Intel I7 2600 / 16 gb Ram / Barefoot MM 27 / Drawmer MC 2.1 / RME Fireface 800 / Neve 1073 DPA / API 3124+

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Quinn3k3 » Thu Dec 10, 2015 3:12 am

+1

BlueRabbit
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 1:40 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by BlueRabbit » Thu Dec 10, 2015 4:16 pm

+1000

just for noobs who repeatedly asking "why the hell you need more than 6 pre fader inserts". Please, ask Dave Pensado first :)

If someone sell DAW titled "Creativity first", then 6 pre fader insert slosts are not for Creativity at all. No matter who you are (mix engineer, composer, sound designer, etc.)

More insert slots mean more freedom.
Creativity First? Really?

Sorry for my bad english :)

Sw: Cubase, Win 7 Ulti. 64 bit. Hw: i7-3930K (6 core), 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD + 2 TB NAS. Plgs: NI Ultimate, iZotope, MeldaProduction, SugarByte,... Support: Agrosy :)

john springate
Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:19 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by john springate » Sun Dec 13, 2015 10:11 am

Re: 16 inserts per track?? My god you must have something seriously wrong with a track to need 16 inserts! What on earth would you need 16 inserts for?
Cubase 9 iMac 2011 i7 16Gb Ram Steinberg UR22

Laserkraft
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Laserkraft » Sun Dec 13, 2015 4:28 pm

john springate wrote:Re: 16 inserts per track?? My god you must have something seriously wrong with a track to need 16 inserts! What on earth would you need 16 inserts for?
I don't get how having more inserts would be disadvantageous to anybody, even if they don't need 'em personally :?

Anyways, to answer your question: Just a quick example, that came to my mind: Future Music in the studio with Dada Life (starting around 12:57): https://youtu.be/uo6pKyQjd_I?t=777
I didn't count the inserts, but its defenitely closer to 16 than 6.

And a more general example for a typical plugin chain if somebody wants to mimic an analog signal flow ITB:
(1. Console Channel/Preamp)
2. Tape
3. Surgical EQ
4. Serial Compressor A
5. Serial Compressor B
6. Musical EQ
(7. Analog summing)

Now, it wasn't too crazy if one would like to add something like Distortion/a limiter/exciter/gain-staging/metering/chorus,... was it?
C 9.5 / Win 10 Custom PC / OS X MacBook Pro

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Sun Dec 13, 2015 5:26 pm

john springate wrote:Re: 16 inserts per track?? My god you must have something seriously wrong with a track to need 16 inserts! What on earth would you need 16 inserts for?
apart from sound-design duties where much more than 16 are often used, you may want to have more slots occupied but not necessarily turned on-- a typical scenario may be to have several compressors ready to be flipped between, as part of a saved insert chain that you regularly draw for a certain type of mixing duty. this type of limitation then seriously hinders workflow, because, as has been said, resorting to group channels is cumbersome and kills the flow. to sum it up: one person's workflow may not work for another, and this day and age an 8-insert plugin limit is entirely arbitrary, and lazy, coding-wise.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

Laserkraft
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Laserkraft » Sun Dec 13, 2015 10:38 pm

Also good points. And i think we could add a lot more to that list, but basically it comes down to the questions that have been mentioned before:
Would the ability to add more inserts harm anybody?
And is there a reason to limit people's workflow in that regard, nowadays?
I think i never heard of anybody complaining about Ableton Live or Logic because the let you use too many inserts. ;)
C 9.5 / Win 10 Custom PC / OS X MacBook Pro

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Winter Rat » Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:01 am

OMG. I thought that all disputes have been completed already. :lol:
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

tepa
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by tepa » Mon Dec 14, 2015 1:39 am

John,
At the beginning of the topic, i thought that only my need was the case to increase the number of inserts, but as we are progressing in the topic (4 pages now) I discovered other needs and exemples from the users, i guess now it's even more important to us to break this limitation.
Mine is preset management (get rid of the 2 groupe track preset) for some rythmic fx, sound design effect, etc.....

All needs and exemples are describe earlier in the topic ;)
Nuendo 10 (last version) / Cubase 9 / Win Pro 10 / i9-9900K 4.8 Ghz / RAM 32G / RME UFX / RME FF800 / UAD 2 (1 Octo & 1 Quad) / SSD / nVIDIA

Frozenwave
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by Frozenwave » Wed Dec 23, 2015 12:18 am

Guys make sure to not miss viewtopic.php?f=226&t=89718

:evil: :twisted:

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by mroekalea » Wed Dec 23, 2015 12:22 am

In the case it would not cause instability I'm in, but only for the guys and dolls who need this.

In real day practice I would need it occasionally (rare situation I admit) for one or two channels, by using an extra bus I would get were I need to be....
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1807
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by GargoyleStudio » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:18 pm

+1000 please. I'd like to see a dynamic number of inserts with the pre/post settings adjustable as well. Not just 16...

I very quickly and regularly use up the current pre 6 slots - e.g. tape emulation, then mixer bus/channel emulation, then autotune (perhaps even 2 to tweak slow then fast notes), then a couple of compressors (again to catch fast and slow transients or large and small peaks) then say a posh characterful EQ. That's already 7, and we're not including de-esser for vocals or any other special FX for guitar like phaser or flanger, or even A/B'ing two or three compressors say.

So, particularly with the plethora of analogue channel emulations which might well now be put on every channel I'd say we definitely need more than pre 6 inserts to bring us into the modern plugin-tastic age :mrgreen:

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.0 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, Arturia]

watnou
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 3:29 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by watnou » Thu Dec 24, 2015 10:03 pm

One of the main reasons for me to jump over to ableton, was of the multiple inserts...
Nowadays with electronical music it''s alomost a must...
and 4 the people who say it's not like that, please open your eyes ;)
For the traditional mixing (bands etc.) it's not really important, but dance music is so much sound design these days

And i'll hope that steinberg finally make the step for unlimited inserts

Keep my fingers crossed
Open letter to our customers
Postby Guillermo » Tue Dec 15, 2015 12:34 pm

Dear customers,

Our philosophy is based around the company motto “Creativity First” which drives us to innovate and search for new tools and continue to develop new technologies. Failing to do so would be acting against our core values.

Tending to customer feedback is and always will be one of our top priorities. Although we may occasionally not find the time and resources to post a reply on each and every one of the threads, posts and comments across all community channels, this doesn’t mean we are not reading and listening to our customers’ sentiments. You are passionate about our products and services, and we cherish your continued support.

As we have done in the past, and as you deem necessary once again, we are now collecting your comments and suggestions from which we shall compile a list. We shall share this list with you in January, giving you the opportunity to involve yourself with prioritisation of mentioned points.

The second step will have our engineers assess feasibility of the prioritised list to see which points can be delivered up until the next major update. These will then be shared with you.

As always our paramount focus will be on ensuring stability and usability throughout implementation.

We highly appreciate your confidence in us to live up to our commitment in providing you with only the very best.

Kind regards,
GN
Guillermo Navarrete, Online Product Specialist
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!
User avatar
Guillermo
Moderator

Posts: 966
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:50 pm
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 228 times
Cubase 9, Windows 10, Asus x99 DeLuxe 32 gb Ram Intel i7-5820K, Steinberg UR28M

tepa
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by tepa » Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:22 pm

I just saw the survey result....
It seems that we have a long wait before seeing this feature implemented in Cubase.

The survey result :
viewtopic.php?f=226&t=93576
Nuendo 10 (last version) / Cubase 9 / Win Pro 10 / i9-9900K 4.8 Ghz / RAM 32G / RME UFX / RME FF800 / UAD 2 (1 Octo & 1 Quad) / SSD / nVIDIA

djrustycans
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by djrustycans » Fri Mar 18, 2016 1:18 am

Oh my word, we need to have more inserts!! Every time I mix in Cubase, I run out of slots. It's so frustrating.

1. Autotune
2. SSL Duende Channel for HPF and gate
3. Slate VTM
4. Slate VCC
5. Fabfilter Pro Q2 for surgical cuts
6. Compressor
7. Oops, I'm out of slots and haven't got any more room for a de-esser, second compressor, dynamic EQ or sweetening EQ!!!

BM-TSR
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 10:56 am

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by BM-TSR » Fri Mar 18, 2016 2:36 am

john springate wrote:Re: 16 inserts per track?? My god you must have something seriously wrong with a track to need 16 inserts! What on earth would you need 16 inserts for?
To be able to compare different compressors, Eq's etc, on the same track in a fast and effective way, is one BIG reason.

I have never used all 8 inserts as the final processing chain before.
But after having the opportunity to use the above scenario in Studio One, I have found it to be a great way to try out and compare different things without having to load/reload plugins many times (only too loose your settings).
When decision is done, I just remove the rest.

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1807
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by GargoyleStudio » Sun Mar 20, 2016 1:29 pm

Let's add here that we need to be able to switch the slots between pre and post, because right now I very very rarely use post, so that's effectively two slots out the picture already.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.0 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, Arturia]

trashdinner
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by trashdinner » Fri Mar 25, 2016 5:49 am

Big +1!!

mihnelis
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: 16 inserts per track

Post by mihnelis » Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:07 pm

+1
16 is not enough, but could be a start. I like to add different plugins, tweak them and keep them on bypass, so I can experiment different combinations. One cool thing would be for Steinberg to add the functionality of the new track version to the inspector as well.

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests