Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Thurisaz
Member
Posts: 415
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by Thurisaz »

Hello, Steinber crew! :-)
Is it possible the graphic interface of Cubase 7.5 to be brought back in Cubase Pro 8, because it looks much better and Pro, the the one of Cubase 8, and it's the same with the starting logo?
What's your point to change something which looks great, with something which looks terrible?
I really love Cubase, there isn't something better for my needs, but the GUI make sense! :-)
If you are not able to make the things better, ask the customers, or don't touch it!

1. Which logo looks better? /check attachments related to the logo/
Attachments
Cubase 8 Logo.jpg
Cubase Pro 8 Logo
(32.2 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase7.5 Logo.png
Cubase 7.5 Logo
(96.74 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Composer, arranger, orchestrator, multi-instrumentalist and sound engineer
Workstation: HP Z820 (2x Xeon Octa-Core E5-2670 @ 2.6GHz, 64GB Ram DDR3 @ 1333MHz)
OS: Windows 10 Pro 1909
DAWs: Cubase Pro 10.0.60, Studio One 4.6, Pro Tools 12
Notation: Dorico Pro 3.5.0, Overture 5.6, Sibelius 2019.7
VI Host: Vienna Ensemble Pro 7.0.1056

Thurisaz
Member
Posts: 415
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by Thurisaz »

2. Which VST Instruments Rack Mount looks better? /check attachments related to the VST Instruments Rack/

PLEASE, DON'T MAKE CUBASE TO LOOK MORE LIKE A MOBILE APPLICATION, THAN PRO DAW!!!! :-)
There are many example which I can give...
Please, guys... remove the Aero Theme dependency! :-)
I hope you are going to pay attention on may post.
Thank you! :-)
Attachments
Cubase Pro 8 VST Instriments.jpg
Cubase Pro 8 VST Instruments Rack
(70.46 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 7.5 VST Instruments.png
Cubase 7.5 VST Instruments Rack
(200.06 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Composer, arranger, orchestrator, multi-instrumentalist and sound engineer
Workstation: HP Z820 (2x Xeon Octa-Core E5-2670 @ 2.6GHz, 64GB Ram DDR3 @ 1333MHz)
OS: Windows 10 Pro 1909
DAWs: Cubase Pro 10.0.60, Studio One 4.6, Pro Tools 12
Notation: Dorico Pro 3.5.0, Overture 5.6, Sibelius 2019.7
VI Host: Vienna Ensemble Pro 7.0.1056

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by JMCecil »

Hit f11
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Thurisaz
Member
Posts: 415
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by Thurisaz »

JMCecil wrote:Hit f11
JMCecil, what do you mean? I know how to invoke VST Instruments rack mount... I'm talking about graphic interface..
Composer, arranger, orchestrator, multi-instrumentalist and sound engineer
Workstation: HP Z820 (2x Xeon Octa-Core E5-2670 @ 2.6GHz, 64GB Ram DDR3 @ 1333MHz)
OS: Windows 10 Pro 1909
DAWs: Cubase Pro 10.0.60, Studio One 4.6, Pro Tools 12
Notation: Dorico Pro 3.5.0, Overture 5.6, Sibelius 2019.7
VI Host: Vienna Ensemble Pro 7.0.1056

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1049
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by lukasbrooklyn »

i understand a lot of the GUI critique, and for the most part i agree, it looks pastiched, and disparate, and toyish (i do not think C7 looks pro personally).

but complaining about the intro logo that is visible for a couple of seconds.. that is crossing the line for me, it bears no relevance to the actual feel or workflow of the application, and i believe slightly discredits the relevant GUI-related demands.
Last edited by lukasbrooklyn on Fri Dec 12, 2014 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by JMCecil »

they look identical to me. What is the problem?
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by JMCecil »

I couldn't care less about a stupid splash screen. Pro software does pro things, the font of the splash screen doesn't contribute much to that.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Thurisaz
Member
Posts: 415
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by Thurisaz »

Everything is important! :-)
The functionality of Cubase 8 is very good, and the DAW is Pro, but the GUI of 7.5 looks much better and they didn't have to change it.
Every window of the Project window looks as separate with these too many curved angles in Cubase 8... in Cubase 7.5 it looks much more like it's one window, which is much better...
Composer, arranger, orchestrator, multi-instrumentalist and sound engineer
Workstation: HP Z820 (2x Xeon Octa-Core E5-2670 @ 2.6GHz, 64GB Ram DDR3 @ 1333MHz)
OS: Windows 10 Pro 1909
DAWs: Cubase Pro 10.0.60, Studio One 4.6, Pro Tools 12
Notation: Dorico Pro 3.5.0, Overture 5.6, Sibelius 2019.7
VI Host: Vienna Ensemble Pro 7.0.1056

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by JMCecil »

Thurisaz wrote:Everything is important! :-)
The functionality of Cubase 8 is very good, and the DAW is Pro, but the GUI of 7.5 looks much better and they didn't have to change it.
Every window of the Project window looks as separate with these too many curved angles in Cubase 8... in Cubase 7.5 it looks much more like it's one window, which is much better...
I disagree, I think C8 looks more finished and cohesive. C7 looked half finished with the project working/looking one way and the mixer another. Now it is getting to be unified. I think THAT is more along the lines of "Pro".
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Thurisaz
Member
Posts: 415
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by Thurisaz »

In my opinion, the parts of the project window and the mixer window have to look like parts of one window, not as separate windows... without connection of the forms. The curves of every part make it to look separated from the window, not united...
Composer, arranger, orchestrator, multi-instrumentalist and sound engineer
Workstation: HP Z820 (2x Xeon Octa-Core E5-2670 @ 2.6GHz, 64GB Ram DDR3 @ 1333MHz)
OS: Windows 10 Pro 1909
DAWs: Cubase Pro 10.0.60, Studio One 4.6, Pro Tools 12
Notation: Dorico Pro 3.5.0, Overture 5.6, Sibelius 2019.7
VI Host: Vienna Ensemble Pro 7.0.1056

claesbjo
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by claesbjo »

I think 8 looks better than 7.5

There are some other GUI "enhancements" that I´m not so keen on though..the removal of "always on top" for various windows (mixer, sample editor) for example
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. osx 10.10.1. Cubase 8.0.20, Logic PRO 10.1

johnstaf
Junior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 7:53 am
Location: Dublin
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by johnstaf »

There are some GUI changes that I don't like, but I think the general look of 8 is better.
Lots of stuff. OS agnostic.

User avatar
Leonard_A
Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by Leonard_A »

Cubase 8 rock. It GUI is fantastic.
Steinberg, don't even think about backward it.
Cubase 8 look AMAZING.
Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10 Suite | WaveLab Elements 10 | Cubasis | HALion 6 | Groove Agent 5| NI Massive | Xfer Serum | Lennar Sylenth1 | CC121 | PUSH 2 | UR28M | HS7 monitors | DT770 | DT1990

animix
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by animix »

I try not to criticize whenever possible. I'm not a code writer and the functionality of Cubase is what encourages me to use it. Having said that, after returning to Cubase after a few years of not using it, I was sort of horrified to see the changes to the GUI in Cubase 7 and 7.5. Overstylized and cheap/gothic looking to my eye. Hard to look at for long periods of time. Going to something more professional looking, along the lines of the DP 8 GUI would suit me. Someone mentioned a mobile phone app. This describes 7.5 perfectly to me. If V8 looks similar, it would be a step in the wrong direction, IMO.
i7 960 3.2, 12G, Quaddro w/ 4 x 24" LCD's, MCU Pro & 2 x extenders, RME MADI PCIe/FX, 2 x UAD Quad, SSL Duende, 2 x ADI 648, 7 x ADI-8-DD, ADI-2, Mytek AD/DA, Neve 8816/8804, preamplification, signal processing and mics by Lexicon, Quantec, TC Electronic, Sony, Focusrite Red, DBX, , TL Audio, Forssell, Millennia, UA, Demeter, Empirical Labs, Sytek, Wunderaudio, Soundelux, Neumann, AEA.

User avatar
Freddie H
Member
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by Freddie H »

Thurisaz wrote:Hello, Steinber crew! :-)
Is it possible the graphic interface of Cubase 7.5 to be brought back in Cubase Pro 8, because it looks much better and Pro, the the one of Cubase 8, and it's the same with the starting logo?
What's your point to change something which looks great, with something which looks terrible?
I really love Cubase, there isn't something better for my needs, but the GUI make sense! :-)
If you are not able to make the things better, ask the customers, or don't touch it!

1. Which logo looks better? /check attachments related to the logo/
You know, you should try: [Alt] + [F4]. Work great for all those that don't like the new GUI and the game changer. It will solve all your issues!

Sorry, I also disagree with you. Cubase PRO 8 look and GUI window managment work wonderful compare to Cubase 7.5. It would be horrible to go backward again to Cubase 7.5.

Add of AERO dependency and all the technology that comes with it are a great move and its about time. And by the way all programs since Windows Vista has always been Aero dependent. The difference is that many of you have just abused this settings and turned it off when it should be on all along. Still all this years you all that have tuned it off have had errors in the background. Now all those api calls errors are so many errors so now you can't get away with it anymore.

Now its just matter of time until Steinberg finally end x32bit support for good on all their software's and we will be really in the right direction.

What Steinberg has done with Cubase PRO 8 is exactly what all professional users asked and looking for. I'm sure the splash screen look is not one of them even though I like that even better too. Dark, black = professional look.

So this is the future and I understand that everyone don't get that yet.


Best Regards
Freddie
Last edited by Freddie H on Fri Dec 12, 2014 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!

User avatar
TSR
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:49 am

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by TSR »

Nice tone :roll:
HOVER HATERS UNITE -- DOWN WITH HOVER
Alias True Stereo Recordings uses:
Win 7 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Win 8.1 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Motu PCIe-424 w/96 io +++
HW - Focusrite Control 2802, ISA430 mkII | Universal Audio LA-610 SE, UA 2-610, UA 8110 | TL-Audio 5052, C-1, PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000, M3000, M-One, D-Two | Eleven Rack | CC121 | Dynaudio BM15A +++
SW - Cubase 6.5/8, Nuendo 5.5 | Studio One 2.6 | Reaper 4.7 | PT10 | Boz Digital Labs, DDMF, Eventide, Exponential Audio, Kush Audio, Slate Digital, Softube, Sonnox, Soundtoys +++

animix
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by animix »

TSR wrote:Nice tone :roll:
Sorry to sound so negative. Like I said, I try not to criticize. If I could skin it differently, I would. It's a personal preference. The color scheme and graphics are distracting to me and "toy like". I think Steinberg has taken things in the wrong direction in this regard. Dark/black with neon tone colors is not a professional look, IMO. Enough said.
i7 960 3.2, 12G, Quaddro w/ 4 x 24" LCD's, MCU Pro & 2 x extenders, RME MADI PCIe/FX, 2 x UAD Quad, SSL Duende, 2 x ADI 648, 7 x ADI-8-DD, ADI-2, Mytek AD/DA, Neve 8816/8804, preamplification, signal processing and mics by Lexicon, Quantec, TC Electronic, Sony, Focusrite Red, DBX, , TL Audio, Forssell, Millennia, UA, Demeter, Empirical Labs, Sytek, Wunderaudio, Soundelux, Neumann, AEA.

User avatar
jono not bono
Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by jono not bono »

In my opinion, the GUI of Cubase Pro 8 wipes the floor with 7.5. I can actually read what everything says (I use a 50 inch TV Screen at the minute) which is a good start!

Cubase just gets better and better!

Jono
Please make me stop buying stuff.

James K
Member
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by James K »

I prefer Cubase 8.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.5.12
98% of Steinberg Instruments
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
Leonard_A
Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by Leonard_A »

This topic should be closed by now.
everybody loves it.
C8
Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10 Suite | WaveLab Elements 10 | Cubasis | HALion 6 | Groove Agent 5| NI Massive | Xfer Serum | Lennar Sylenth1 | CC121 | PUSH 2 | UR28M | HS7 monitors | DT770 | DT1990

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by MrSoundman »

The Cubase 8 GUI sounds so much better .... tighter bass, the cohesive lower mids giving way to the expansive midrange soundstage ... all these things combine to provide the perfect foundation for the exquisitely detailed upper mids, (with just that indescribable, yet essential hint of toughness around 6.82kHz), opening up to the final touch of air that is the silky, esoteric and phase-coherent highs.

The Cubase 7.5 GUI, on the other hand, sounds like a geriatric cat's dying fart into a noisy bean-bag.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 595
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by HughH »

Personally, I'm back on CB 7.53 until they change that Splash Screen . . .

(oh, and that little Mackie irritation, too, hopefully)

Hugh
Nuendo 10, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home, Dual Monitors RME Digiface PCIe
Dell XPS 15 7590 Laptop i9 (10th Gen) 32 Gig Win 10 MOTU 8Pre-ES
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
UR22

User avatar
TSR
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:49 am

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by TSR »

animix wrote:
TSR wrote:Nice tone :roll:
Sorry to sound so negative. Like I said, I try not to criticize. If I could skin it differently, I would. It's a personal preference. The color scheme and graphics are distracting to me and "toy like". I think Steinberg has taken things in the wrong direction in this regard. Dark/black with neon tone colors is not a professional look, IMO. Enough said.
Not aimed at you ;)

I am agreeing with you.
Sorry for confusion.
HOVER HATERS UNITE -- DOWN WITH HOVER
Alias True Stereo Recordings uses:
Win 7 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Win 8.1 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Motu PCIe-424 w/96 io +++
HW - Focusrite Control 2802, ISA430 mkII | Universal Audio LA-610 SE, UA 2-610, UA 8110 | TL-Audio 5052, C-1, PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000, M3000, M-One, D-Two | Eleven Rack | CC121 | Dynaudio BM15A +++
SW - Cubase 6.5/8, Nuendo 5.5 | Studio One 2.6 | Reaper 4.7 | PT10 | Boz Digital Labs, DDMF, Eventide, Exponential Audio, Kush Audio, Slate Digital, Softube, Sonnox, Soundtoys +++

User avatar
CubeDAW
Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:16 pm

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by CubeDAW »

The previous look was fine. They just wasted a bunch of programmers' time fiddling with how it looks. Now I have these fonts on the menu with a white haze around them. That looks horrible and I can find no way to get rid of them other than to diminish it by making the background really light which distracts my eyes from Cubase. It's frustrating and I hate it.

Thurisaz
Member
Posts: 415
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: Bring back the GUI of Cubase 7.5

Post by Thurisaz »

CubeDAW, same opinion here, about the fonts... I prefer these from Cubase 7.5. But as you can see, there are many people who like the interface of Cubase 8 more, than the interface of Cubase 7.5..
I'm wondering, if you pay money will they customize some parts for your needs?!
I would like to use the gui of Cubase 7.5 and these new important feature in Cubase 8, because they were the only reason to upgrade from one to another.
I also would like to have one new feature, which is important for orchestration, and not only:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 28&t=70029

Personally I don't want to waste time counting where to put the scores, or to change the measure in signature track every time I need to write in different measures which would sound at same time....
Composer, arranger, orchestrator, multi-instrumentalist and sound engineer
Workstation: HP Z820 (2x Xeon Octa-Core E5-2670 @ 2.6GHz, 64GB Ram DDR3 @ 1333MHz)
OS: Windows 10 Pro 1909
DAWs: Cubase Pro 10.0.60, Studio One 4.6, Pro Tools 12
Notation: Dorico Pro 3.5.0, Overture 5.6, Sibelius 2019.7
VI Host: Vienna Ensemble Pro 7.0.1056

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests