Marking Fader Position

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
WickedT
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 7:36 pm
Contact:

Marking Fader Position

Post by WickedT » Fri Jan 02, 2015 8:10 pm

I have the following feature request:

I am an old-school producer, circa 1980’s. I’d like to start off by first thanking the developers for Cubase for always staying a step ahead of me in implementing new features in Cubase. I have been a user since 1.0. In fact, I still have my 1.0, 3.5” install disks! That being said, I think I may finally have something for you guys to think about:

I would like the ability to make a tick mark along a fader.

Even when working in the big mixing houses of LA, utilizing sophisticated mixers (Neve G Series, SSL 9K’s) I was in the regular habit of marking levels along the fader, using a thin strip of tape, and making tick marks for the different levels of a channel throughout a song. These level ticks were used to audition levels before riding the levels into automation.

Automation in Cubase is great; however, before making any level changes in automation most engineers I’ve worked with have marked the fader. If, for example today in Cubase, I have a vocal in perfect position for most of the mix but need to push it up in a section I would first have to record (write down) the fader position to mark the “perfect” position before hunting around for the new level and eventually making the movements with automation recording the movements. Even though I could do something similar in Cubase today, in that I can ride levels and undo whatever I don’t like in automation. This is not the “real-world” process that I am used to. It would be much quicker for me to make a mark and be able to move to these marks to audition before riding for automation.

As far as I know, Cubase currently does not provide for this. If it does, please respond to this post explaining how to work around this function.

So to summarize:

I would like the ability to mark the current position of a fader along the length of the fader with the ability to make several marks if needed. Please post here if there is a way to already accomplish this. After that, it would be gravy to be able to assign the tick-marked levels, in automation, to different parts of the song.

Thanks!
Tony Sylvia
The House (Studios)
Plumas Lake, CA

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3657
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Marking Fader Position

Post by raino » Sun Jan 04, 2015 10:33 pm

good idea +1
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
Posts: 1456
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Marking Fader Position

Post by Jarno » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:05 am

Definitely a good idea!

It could have interface similar to markers:
[some shift-control-alt-whatever combination]+number keys - to mark fader position
[another shift-control-alt-whatever combination]+number keys - to recall fader position
and of course have visual markers on fader to remind you of your stored positions.
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier

MaxNorman
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Marking Fader Position

Post by MaxNorman » Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:32 pm

Yes - I do this all the time - I would love to have tick-marked levels...
Windows 10 Pro. Asus/Intel 6 core I7. 32Gig RAM. Antelope 32 HD.

ResonantMind
Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:39 am

Re: Marking Fader Position

Post by ResonantMind » Mon Oct 24, 2016 7:48 pm

I had a similar ideas that included exactly this - "post-it notes" - except being able to sticky them to anywhere. ie, little coloured tack marks that can expand into a notes window that you can type in... by a fader, on a region, in a plugin, etc, etc.

viewtopic.php?p=564585

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests