Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
Atardecer
Junior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:14 am
Contact:

Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by Atardecer »

C'mon, Steinberg. It's about time.

I think if Cubase is being touted as a composers DAW of choice (which Steinberg want it to be) direct quicktime export is very much needed. Pretty much all other major DAWs have this (even Ableton Live). The clunky Replace audio in Video File option is an extremely poor substitute. When working on a film and needing to send Quicktime cuts of cues for review quickly, its really an unintuitive and cumbersome thing to do.

I'm guessing that Nuendo is being pushed as the DAW for this sort of thing, but Nuendo is a post-production DAW (and much more expensive and full of features that composers dont need). I think this is all a by-product of Steinberg push to clearly differentiate Cubase from Nuendo, yet as a composer it's something of an oversight. Is this because they will have to pay a license or some such, and simply don't want to?

How about at least of a purchasable addon for Cubase offering quicktime export? Not that I think it should be something that should cost extra...

Regards
System:
Win 10
Intel i7-6900K @ 3.20GHz
64 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 850 Pro 1TB 256GB System Drive
Samsung SSD QVO 4TB Sample Drive
UAD Apollo
Cubase 10.5
Reaper 5.40 64 bit

roy_mattie
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by roy_mattie »

I wholeheartedly agree. The only useful workaround I've found is adding the music to the video file in QT7 Pro.
Primary - Intel i9, 3.8GHz x10 core, 64GB RAM | RedNet PCIeR Dante | Lynx Aurora 16 | Win 10
Secondary - Mac Pro 2010, 2.4Ghz x8 core, 64GB RAM | OSX 10.8.5
VEP Servers - Mac Mini server 2012 2.0 GHz i7, 16GB RAM x2 | OS X 10.8.5
Cubase 10.0.10

buzzlegs
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 7:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by buzzlegs »

roy_mattie wrote:I wholeheartedly agree. The only useful workaround I've found is adding the music to the video file in QT7 Pro.

Yeah me too, still use QT7 all the time, i fear the day when it stops working!

Alexander78
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by Alexander78 »

Yes, this is BS. I was exited when I moved my latest tv show to Cubase after using Logic for 6 years and spent a lot of time and money into the move. I would love to use Cubase, but when it takes 4 more mouse clicks to do anything like exporting audio, bounce in place, or cannot marry audio to picture, Im sad to have to go back to Logic just because Cubase hasn't reached up to efficiency standards.
iMac (High Sierra 10.13.6), 3.4 GHz i7, 32GB RAM
Apogee Ensemble, Alesis V61, Akai MPD226
Cubase 10.5, Logic ProX, Pro Tools 10, Reason 11, Sibelius,

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9665
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by -steve- »

FYI- Nuendo doesn't export Quicktime movies either. And since the Quicktime API is deprecated, developers will not be using it in their applications.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

tlockett
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 3:09 am
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by tlockett »

This is still BS,you can Export in AVID PT,Digital performer etc,this function is a must for composing to picture,Directors,producers,always want to see and HEAR the the music to picture,as the cues take shape.

Cheers
Tommy

jpm999
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 2:16 am
Location: Chicagoland!
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by jpm999 »

+1000000000000

Ridiculous, I have to import everything to Pro Tools just to export a quicktime.

drym
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 11:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by drym »

+1 !!

I still do this in Logic X.
So it´s closing Cubase, opening Logic, Export Audio to Video, Closing Logic, Reopening Cubase, Continue working.

In Logic it was: Export Audio to Video, go on.

It´s the feature i miss most of all.

GPnicolett
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:11 am
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by GPnicolett »

Yeah please make this happen! Would save lots of time.
Greg Nicolett | Composer
http://www.gregnicolett.com
Cubase 10, Mojave, Mac Mini 6-core i7, 64gbRAM, RME Fireface 802

User avatar
bender-offender
Member
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by bender-offender »

Yes! Please put this in, Steinberg! I've been asking for this for years. The "replace audio in video" is extremely poor design and does not work when needing to export sections of a long QuickTime movie without first chopping up the video before importing it into Cubase. Unfortunately, it is quicker and easier (as others have mentioned) to export the audio out of Cubase and into one of the many competing DAWs (which all have this function) to marry and mix the audio to picture.

So please, get with the times concerning QuickTime export. Assuming it will happen, it'll be laughed at by other DAW users the same way DP9 is promoting "muting MIDI notes". (I'm joking---or am I?) 8-)
iMac Pro | Cubase 10.5 | Nuendo 10.0.20 | Mac OS Mojave | RME UFX+ | A couple PC slaves | VE Pro 7 | Purple Cape

indiescore
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by indiescore »

Yes this needs to happen, Dp, pro tools, even presonus can I think, let's not make excuses let's make it happen, it's less than becoming for a daw with the word professional to not offer this professional tool, or let's just throw in the towel and call it Cubase Hobby 8. Or Cubase explore music 8 :D
Windows 10 w latest update
Cubase 10 pro w latest update
INTEL CORE I7-4790K 4.0 GHZ + 10 % over clock , water cooled.
32GB DDR3 2133 MHZ
GIGABYTE Z97X-GAMING 7 Motherboard
Project drive M.2. Form factor , SSD
2x internal SSD, 2x external SSD USB 3

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by Weasel »

FYI- Nuendo doesn't export Quicktime movies either. And since the Quicktime API is deprecated, developers will not be using it in their applications.
The Quicktime API is deprecated? Are you sure deprecated was the right word to use here? I was always under the impression that deprecate meant: a person expressing disapproval. I'm not sure how an API can.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9665
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by -steve- »

Weasel wrote:The Quicktime API is deprecated? Are you sure deprecated was the right word to use here? I was always under the impression that deprecate meant: a person expressing disapproval. I'm not sure how an API can.
Yes. It's software developer jargon.

From https://developer.apple.com/library/mac ... X10_9.html

Code: Select all

The following frameworks are deprecated in OS X v10.9:

Instant Message framework
QuickTime framework
QTKit framework (except for QTMovieModernizer)
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by Weasel »

Yes. It's software developer jargon.

Ah. So it is. I read the page. Nice link, Steve. A bit further down, I found this:

The QuickTime and QTKit frameworks are superseded by AV Kit and AV Foundation. You can learn more about transitioning to AV Kit and AV Foundation by reading Transitioning QTKit Code to AV Foundation.

The newly added QTMovieModernizer class in QTKit provides support for converting media encoded using older codecs into modern formats that are forward-compatible with AV Foundation.

Note: The QuickTime file format (.mov) is not deprecated. It is the primary media format in OS X and iOS, and is well supported by AV Foundation.


I guess it means that the Mac developers who are making Export to QT function in their DAWs, have moved to AV Kit and AV Foundation.

Surely someone over in Hamburg must be aware of this.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9665
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by -steve- »

They are, but I don't know what they plan to do. This has to be one of the top requested functions from both Cubase and Nuendo users.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
TheMaestro
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by TheMaestro »

Sorry but I can't help...

Will we ever see "quictkime" export in Cubase ?

The answer for me is : hope NOT (only).
We're not on Apple site here, maybe it would more appropriate to generalize the title of the thread.

I think that first, Steinberg should remove QuickTime from Windows version, and then YES, absolutely :

I really hope we'll see one day "VIDEO" export in Cubase.
That's to say : H.264, AVI, WMV, MOV etc ...

"Video" doesn't mean "QuickTime" ;)
Cubase Pro 10.5 | Halion 6.3 | VEP 7
Windows 10 x64 | i7 920 | 48GB RAM | M-AUDIO Delta 1010LT | Yamaha S80

indiescore
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by indiescore »

SteveInChicago wrote:They are, but I don't know what they plan to do. This has to be one of the top requested functions from both Cubase and Nuendo users.

Oh ok interesting thread now, horsing around aside , it doesn't need to be quiktime, we just need video export but glad to see they are
aware, it will come .then .......I just tried DP 9. And pro tools 11 trail and the fonts are so hard to read, couldn't do it........Dp 9 especially small print. So here I stay.
Windows 10 w latest update
Cubase 10 pro w latest update
INTEL CORE I7-4790K 4.0 GHZ + 10 % over clock , water cooled.
32GB DDR3 2133 MHZ
GIGABYTE Z97X-GAMING 7 Motherboard
Project drive M.2. Form factor , SSD
2x internal SSD, 2x external SSD USB 3

srdmusic
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:29 am
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by srdmusic »

+1 why why why is there no export to qt. At least make it an option in nuendo so we don't have to use protools anymore....

KevinRiepl
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 7:02 am
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by KevinRiepl »

yes. AGREED. Cubase needs video export!!! (not adding much to this thread other than I whole heartedly agree)
I switched to Cubase 3wks ago from DP8. Love everything about it. However, the not being able to export Video and the fact that it isn't able to embed smpte timecode in audio files is a big downfall in my opinion. Currently I am back working in DP.

Like mentioned above...how can a "pro" DAW not be able to do these two ESSENTIAL things that are imperative to film/tv composers.

*sigh*

Kevin
Kevin Riepl Music
Mac Pro 2009 2x2.66 Quad Core Intel Xeon
OSX Yosemite
64GB Memory
Cubase Pro 8, DP9, VEPro

Atardecer
Junior Member
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:14 am
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by Atardecer »

Well yes it would be better titled video export. I couldn't really give two hoots if its QuickTime specifically or not. But that's just semantics. Video export is desperately needed. As another poster pointed out, directors want to hear cues in context. I know how much directors appreciate being able to quickly evaluate cues from video exports, as opposed to sending audio cue mixes to to the video editor to line up for directors meetings. The way the current system works is horrendously implemented.

If Steinberg can offer a reason as to why this basic feature is missing I might be able to understand where they're coming from. As it stands, I can only assume they must think all composers adhere to the Media Ventures system of slaving Pro Tools to Cubase for video playback and stem recording.
System:
Win 10
Intel i7-6900K @ 3.20GHz
64 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 850 Pro 1TB 256GB System Drive
Samsung SSD QVO 4TB Sample Drive
UAD Apollo
Cubase 10.5
Reaper 5.40 64 bit

eepyikes
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by eepyikes »

This is definitely a very much needed feature. We need to be able to make quick demos for cue approval, and having to create a whole Protools session for this and import/render every cue inside Protools is far too much hassle and exponentially increases disk usage and valuable production time.

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by noiseboyuk »

Yup - want this too.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

GPnicolett
Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:11 am
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by GPnicolett »

Yep. yep. yep. really need this. give us film/tv composers a break. please.

I really wonder if there isn't some strange split happening in upper management - one side wanting to add features that sound GREAT on paper, like VST Transit, but have absolutely no practical implication - while features like the ability to change the time base of multiple tracks, a desperately needed feature, BARELY makes version 8.5 (not even given a key command, regulated to the Logical Editor. Weird.)
Greg Nicolett | Composer
http://www.gregnicolett.com
Cubase 10, Mojave, Mac Mini 6-core i7, 64gbRAM, RME Fireface 802

eepyikes
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by eepyikes »

It's likely more of a legacy code issue than management one. All apps have to add new features and fix old bugs, that's just business.

I remember a friend asking Steinberg about this feature way back in like 2004. I think I recall it had to do with implementing quicktime. And I'm sure that making it work on both PC and Mac is another hurdle. All the same, people have been asking for it for a very long time. Logic has it, Reaper has it, I think Ableton, too.

tepa
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Will we ever see quicktime export in Cubase?

Post by tepa »

Video export would be so welcome....
Nuendo 10 (last version) / Cubase 9 / Win Pro 10 / i9-9900K 4.8 Ghz / RAM 32G / RME UFX / RME FF800 / UAD 2 (1 Octo & 1 Quad) / SSD / nVIDIA

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest