Return to old VST naming system for mixer

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
JT3Jon
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:16 am
Contact:

Return to old VST naming system for mixer

Post by JT3Jon »

I like to keep my mixer as narrow as possible so I can view the most tracks, and in Cubase 8 this wasn't a problem as I could still read plugin names pretty well. For example, in the picture below you can see that I have a UAD Ep-34 delay on FX 16, VSL Hybrid reverb on FX 17, QL Spaces on FX 19, though bypassed, is very legible, and I can see I have a VSL Limiter on my master channel.

However in Cubase 8.5 the naming has changed for whatever reason, and now I cannot quickly see what plugins I'm using due to the truncation replacing actual letters with "..."! WHY?! Just look at the difference between these two screen captures!
Cubase 8 Mixer.png
Cubase 8 mixer
(58.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 8.5 Mixer.png
Cubase 8.5 Mixer
(62.03 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I can no longer tell what UAD plugin is on FX 16, what VSL plugin is on 17, and QL Spaces now looks like QL S..es. What the heck is that?! And how is "VSL L...er" better than "VSL Limie" I was only missing 1 letter in "VSL Limiter" in Cubase 8, now thanks to the new 8.5 naming I'm missing 4! How's that for progress?

Is there a way to revert back to the old naming system? If not, this will keep me from upgrading to Cubase 8.5 (running the demo now) as its import to me to see at a glance what plugins are in my inserts. I really dont understand why Steinberg thought this change was necessary, or who approved it, as its doesn't solve any problems from the old naming scheme, and actually makes it much harder to read!!

p.s. Is it possible to get the inserts in the arrange page to look like Cubase 8 as well? (no weird power buttons and preset triangles above the insert name?) What was wrong with the old system?
Cubase 9.5.41 OS10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.33Ghz, 64GB RAM, UA Apollo

JT3Jon
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:16 am
Contact:

Re: Return to old VST naming system for mixer

Post by JT3Jon »

Maybe a solution is to give users the option to choose between these different GUI & naming systems?
Cubase 9.5.41 OS10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.33Ghz, 64GB RAM, UA Apollo

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1419
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Return to old VST naming system for mixer

Post by greggybud »

Yes!
The latest Cubase version, Wavelab 10, Intel Core i9 7920X @ 2.90GHz Windows 10 64bit, 64 gig all SSD drives (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050ti, 2 34" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, UAD-2, SoundToys, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Return to old VST naming system for mixer

Post by Quinn3k3 »

+1 to having options. I would still like the plug-in manager to allow you to rename the VSTs so you could decide how you want to see the name for each.

fese
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Return to old VST naming system for mixer

Post by fese »

This is weird. I had that display problem in Cubase 8, but i am testing C8.5 right now and for me it seems that they have fixed it.
But it made me wonder what the heck the GUI "designers" at Cubase are thinking and whether they have any quality control at all.

But i disagree with you on the insert icons, I as a longtime SE1-C6.5 user welcome them back, that idiotic mouse over/hover handling of the inserts was the main reason that despite intensive testing i never upgraded to C7 and later.

EDIT: no, you're right, issue is still there in C8.5. Lovely: "Valhalla...x64" followed by "Valhalla...x64". Who thinks that this would be a good solution??

JT3Jon
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:16 am
Contact:

Re: Return to old VST naming system for mixer

Post by JT3Jon »

Not only is the problem in C8.5, but its now in C8.0.4!!! GRRRR!!! PLEASE LET US CHOOSE HOW THINGS ARE DISPLAYED IN CUBASE 8!!!!
Cubase 9.5.41 OS10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.33Ghz, 64GB RAM, UA Apollo

zyguli
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:39 am
Contact:

Re: Return to old VST naming system for mixer

Post by zyguli »

+1 for a preferences setting.

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests