Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Use this forum for an overview of collected issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
Stabmasterflex
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 1:25 pm
Contact:

Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Post by Stabmasterflex » Sun Mar 04, 2018 12:46 am

Cubase hangs about 50% of the time when opening on: Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

What can I do to fix this?

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 16984
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Apr 30, 2018 1:20 pm

Hi,

The problem, is on the Waves side. Please, make sure the plug-ins are up to date, an/or contact Waves, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Magnus_N
Junior Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Post by Magnus_N » Sat Jun 30, 2018 2:16 pm

Did you ever get this fixed? I am having this exact problem with Waves 10 on Cubase 9.5.30...

/Magnus
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9.5, Windows 10, RME HDSP 9632, i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00 GHz, 32 GB RAM

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Post by Grim » Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:52 pm

Do you have both V9 and V10 waveshell dll in your plugins folder? Seems like this can confuse things sometimes.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
Magnus_N
Junior Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Post by Magnus_N » Sat Jun 30, 2018 9:58 pm

Hi Grim,

Thanks for pitching in. But no, I have only the v10 Waveshell. What I don't understand, however, is why in (the 64 bit program folder) c: Program Files/Common Files/VST3 I find an instance of WaveShell1-VST3 10.0_x64.vst3, while in (the 32 bit program folder) c: Program Files (x86)/Waves/WaveShells V10 I find WaveShell1-VST 10.0.dll, WaveShell1-VST10.0_x64.dll, WaveShell1-VST3 10.0.vst3 and WaveShell1-VST3 10.0_x64.vst3!

Why all these WaveShell files in the 32 bit program folder? Is this as it should be? And all the plugins reside in the Waves folder in Program Files (x86). Aren't Waves plugins 64 bit? There is also an WaveShell1-VST 10.0_x64.dll in Program Files/VSTPlugins.

Anyway, I am getting annoyed with my Waves issue. I don't understand at all what this WaveShell thing is all about.

/Magnus
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9.5, Windows 10, RME HDSP 9632, i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00 GHz, 32 GB RAM

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Post by Grim » Sat Jun 30, 2018 10:16 pm

Waves are a law unto themselves where programming plugs is concerned...every upodate or every new plug they release you see a swathe of posts across forums from people who can't find the new plug, have lost ALL plugs, whose kittens have died...etc etc.

To directly answer your query. The x86 folder you list is the Waves program install folder...absolutely everything always installs in there as far as I can see.
Then the waveshells (waveshells are kind of like a vst wrapper for Waves stupid non standard vst plugins) go to the paths you set....and as you have a vst2 and vst3 waveshell in what seem like the correct places it should work.....But often doesn't!
Check first nothing got blacklisted in Cubase. If not you could try to contact Waves but their likely first advice will be to uninstall everything Waves completely, search and destroy anything left over, and install from scratch with Waves Central.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
Magnus_N
Junior Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Post by Magnus_N » Sun Jul 01, 2018 8:54 am

Thanks again, Grim, for helping out. You are correct that upon first startup after updating to v 10, Cubase actually did blacklist the Waveshell VST3, so I made an exception for it in the Plugin Manager. After that I got the scanning hangs on starting Cubase.

Waves support sugvested uninstalling and then reinstalling my Waves stuff. I did so, but the problem still persists. I am now waiting for Waves support to remotely access my computer and set things straight again.

Words cannot adequately describe my frustration at a simple update causing me all this headache. It is 2018, not 1999, and I very strongly feel that version updates should be a straightforward matter.

/Magnus
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9.5, Windows 10, RME HDSP 9632, i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00 GHz, 32 GB RAM

Danno D
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 1:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Post by Danno D » Mon Dec 03, 2018 1:12 pm

I know this response is a few months late, but I ran into the same problem and found that the hang is caused on my machine by the VST not finding a license. I have some low-level debugging tools that helped me isolate this.

So I went into the Waves Central app and moved my licence explicitly from the "License Cloud" to my local machine. After that, the plugin loaded and Cubase started right up.

I realize this response may be too late to help th posters here in the thread, but anyone having a similar problem and googling for a solution may run across this thread. So I hope it helps someone out. This problem plagued me for weeks.

little2016
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 1:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Post by little2016 » Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:44 pm

Thank You - the moving from the lincenses to the computer (and then back to USB-Stick) stopped the endless Scanning of the WaveShells - great!.
I had the trouble for too long and thought it was due to several versions and folders.
Cheers!

Arijalmari
Junior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 x64 Hangs on WaveShell-VST3 9.6_x64.vst3

Post by Arijalmari » Fri May 24, 2019 6:13 am

I wasn't as lucky.

Went wild at the sale, bought and installed 4 new Waves plugins.

Cubase now hangs on startup when Scanning VST 3 plugins. Bypassing prefs doesn't help.

Tried moving the licenses around, and since it didn't help, I uninstalled all Wave products using Wave Central.

Cubase still hangs at Scanning VST 3 plugins.

Put in a ticket at Waves.

Any ideas while I wait?

EDIT: also removed the wave shells from VST 3 folder, no improvement.
Cubase Pro 10 | Asus P8Z77-V | Intel Core i5-3570 | 32gb RAM | Win7 Pro x64 | M-Audio Profire 2626 | iPad Air 2 | Cubasis 2 | Cubase iC Pro | M Audio Oxygen 88 | Novation Circuit

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests