100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Use this forum for an overview of collected issues and to report new ones.
LaurieDuffy
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:50 am
Contact:

100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by LaurieDuffy » Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:38 am

Hi, hope someone can help, my system has developed a problem which renders my studio unusable.
While I am having this problem with C8, I went back and tried 7.5 and got the same result.

Randomly, and seemly at increasing frequency as the program runs for longer, I get short CPU spikes to 100%, accompanied by VST performance red lining, drop out and notification of overloaded/dropped samples. This occurs regardless of the background Cubase load...i.e it could be at about 2% before the spike. In playback the audio starts again at where is should be up to in real time after a short period of silence, and in record mode, recording drops out.

I have tried: re installing C8, Re-installing windows, removing ALL third party plugins and uninstalling antivirus and turning off windows fire wall. The problem remains.

Attached is a screen shot of Window Resource Monitor shown a very representative spike (it is occasionally longer). As you can see, resource monitor attributes the spike to cubase (or at least one of it'e related processes). It effects ALL treads at the same time.
C8 100% CPU glitch.jpg
(625.33 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My system details: i7 4770k @ 3.5GHz - not over clocked. 16GB RAM, Dedicated graphics (quadro 600) ASUS Z87-PLUS Mobo, Audio: RME UFX - using RME USB ASIO driver. All drivers up to date, windows updates up to date.

I have also switched to the ASIO directX driver and the problem still remains.

I have been chasing this issue for about 2 weeks now, although it may have been there earlier as I was experiencing a lot pf performance problems generally with some large projects I was working on - an upgrade to C8, addition of SSD system drive, increase in RAM along the way have helped relieve these, but made this issue stand out more. I have tried many things, but would welcome any other suggestions.

vespesian
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by vespesian » Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:00 am

Do you have synchronized folders set up in MS Office running at same time as Cubase8? If so, try turning them off.

LaurieDuffy
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by LaurieDuffy » Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:05 am

Thanks vespesian

I wondered about the MSOFFICE entries in performance manager.

Any idea how I a) find out if they are turned on and b) turn them off? I have office 2013 installed.

In the meantime I will look around for myself, but its not something I have consciously dealt with before!

vespesian
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by vespesian » Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:16 am

I'm not in front of a pc with a full version of Office atm, but I imagine you'd delve into the "options' section for each app within Office, and deselect anything that says "autosave", "save in background", "sync", etc.(you could could just kill the processes from within task manager - but that could futz up something else). I had problems with another DAW which reacted badly to certain programs (mainly Adobe) attempting to auto-update while I was offline...so it might be a good idea to also check if you have anything else trying to update itself while running C8. Have fun. ;)

roel
Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by roel » Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:22 pm

This is not a normal spike due to vst-gui handling. The graph shows that all cores are completely taken over for 100%. You should monitor the performance for a while, and keep the resource monitor open. Eventually you will see which proces is causing this behaviour. Uninstalling cubase will not solve the issue, since it seems that it is generated by another program.

You can also try: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... 96653.aspx for monitoring.

kind regards,
R.
Cubase 9.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

LaurieDuffy
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by LaurieDuffy » Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:15 pm

Thanks Roel,

For some time now I have had the resource monitor open ALL the time while I am using cubase, and most of the rest of the time too. The glitch only happens when cubase is running, and, according to the 'orange line' is related to cubase. However, I have been looking at other processes, and couldn't find any that peaked at the same time. I will give that process monitoring tool a try, and see if I get any further.

Fretdoc
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:53 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Fretdoc » Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:00 am

Hi Laurie
I have exactly the same problem with Cubase pro 8. Interestingly I have no issues with Cubase 6.5 running on the same Windows 7 64bit PC. I have been browsing the other forums and I wonder if it might be a pagefile issue or due to the ASIO guard?

LaurieDuffy
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by LaurieDuffy » Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:04 am

I loaded up process explorer, it it seems to tell me the same thing. When there is a spike it is cubase 8.
Process Explorer.jpg
(500.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I took a break and did some video editing (Lightworks), then played guitar through Waves GTR3 for about an hour, and there were no peaks what so ever. Then I did a 5 minute CPU stress test (passed) followed by half an hour of video rendering + playing guitar though GTR3 at the same time....system handled it all without a problem.

Back into cubase 8 Pro 64 bit, and it fails pretty quickly.

Update:

Went back to test with the 32 bit versions:

8 Pro 32 bit fails (as frequently as the 64 bit)
7.5 32 bit fails (but not as often)
7 32 bit hasn't failed yet .......(update) it took about an hour of continuous running, but then it fails too...the first time, the graph in Resource Monitor looked a bit different (see attached). Does anyone know what the blue line in resource monitor actually means?
cubase 7 32bit.jpg
(664.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet

One other thing: On my system at least, the Steinberg Power Scheme kills the performance significantly! There is a power scheme added by the Samsung SSD software (Magician I guess) that is significantly better.

vespesian
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by vespesian » Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:08 pm

Just a shot in the dark - but I wonder if your problems might actually have something to do your RME interface - do you have a different interface/onboard audio with which you could switch it out - and then run C8 on, and see if there's a difference?

LaurieDuffy
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by LaurieDuffy » Wed Jan 07, 2015 11:51 pm

Thanks for the suggestion vespesian,

I enabled the onboard audio, and got the generic ASIO driver working with it.
Loaded up may 'test' project in cubase and it ran through the song about three times before it failed! Exactly the same issue.

I think it has to be a system issue of some kind, but I can't guess at the right bit. I've updated OS, drivers, versions of Cubase, audio interface/drivers, changed every bios setting that I understood, changed system drive, added memory, removed all third party plugins (although they are back now...can't get by without waves), turned off core parking (yes, I was that desperate)....and still it only exhibits the problem with Cubase.

From some of the behavior shown in the resource monitor graph, it looks to me like the process shuts down briefly and then goes to 100% (and the system locks up) briefly as it tried to recover. Perhaps Cubase allows the processors to think they are idle and halt in some way that interacts with the way my power management is set up...may have to play with the other BIOS settings (C states etc) and see what happens. Unless anyone one else has a better suggestion (PLEASE) :)

roel
Member
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by roel » Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:08 am

just a try again.
Anything usb connected that goes sleeping after a while ?

kind regards
R.
Cubase 9.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

LaurieDuffy
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by LaurieDuffy » Thu Jan 08, 2015 3:43 am

Thanks reol. but I think the only thing permanently connected to my pc that ever goes to sleep is me :)

In fact, when the audio interface is not connected, there are only my external audio drive (which is not asleep!) a usb for my waves licences and the Steinberg licence key plugged into the usb ports

I just re-installed the "ASUS AISuite III"to my PC (I removed it when I was doing driver updates several weeks ago) and it seems to have made the problem a lot more frequent......may be coincidence though.

Fretdoc
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:53 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Fretdoc » Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:26 am

Hi Laurie
I'm not sure if I had the same problem as you but I th out I'd let you know in case it is helpful for you or someone else. I had a pro tem with ASIO spiking and causing stuttering and clicks since I installed CB8 from CB6.5. I seem to have cured the problem by doing the following:
1) I deleted the contents of the preferences folder
2) I ran quickclean to clear out temp folder etc
My system is now running great with no spikes or clicks.

Regards

LaurieDuffy
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by LaurieDuffy » Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:55 am

Thanks for the reply Fretdoc

Indirectly, I have already cleard the Temp directories, and this had no impact. I can;t find any Steinberg/Cubase related Prefernece directories though.

As update to let anyone who is interested in my progress on this know, I have still not resilved the issue.

Over the weekend I tried the following to no avail:

- Clean install of Windows 7 Pro 64 bit + MOBO driveres + Cubase 8
- Moved all my files into internal drives
- removed all external connection
- tried my UFX using firewire instead of USB
- removed all internal cards (except the Quadro 600 graphics card)
- removed the additional 8 GB of ram I had added
- changed the power supply
- played with every setting in the power management utility of the motherboard
- tried different power profiles under windows
(not all at the same time)

Things I think I have noticed along the way:

- the problem only happens when running cubase
- the problem only happens when cubase is processing audio files ( ie playing through long 'blank' sections of a project does not cause problems
- problem occurs more often when there is a high load (according to the cubase performance meter) (However it will occur regardless of how low the load is - just less frequently)

Unless I think of something else, the only options I have left to try are:
- take out the quadro graphics card
- change processor
- change motherboard

These last options are made even more difficult as I guess, apart from the great cost, windows will need to be revalidated...not sure I would want to go through this for a test.

LaurieDuffy
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by LaurieDuffy » Mon Jan 12, 2015 2:24 pm

So, I got home, enabled the onboard i7 graphics and ripped out my Leadtek Quadra 600 graphics card.

Problem solved.

I ran C8 pretty hard and all was fine.....

SO, does anyone know of any incompatibility with NVIDIA QUADRA series graphics drivers? I have had no other problems with card or the drivers in graphics applications (Lightroom, Lightworks and watching digital TV/internet), so I don't think it is actually broken.

While the onboard graphics works, it is not a solution (just a work around) so I need to know whether I should fix it with and different version of the drivers or by moving to a different type of card, or whether the card is, in fact, faulty and I need to replace it. Any similar experience or insight may help direct me in this.

Fretdoc
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:53 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Fretdoc » Mon Jan 12, 2015 2:38 pm

Great news Laurie!
I'm afraid I can't advise you re the graphics card. It might be worthwhile emailing Steinberg support about that specific card to check.

Fretdoc
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 12:53 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Fretdoc » Mon Jan 12, 2015 2:39 pm

For help with the preferences check out this link -

https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support ... references

MathiasUlrick
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:53 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by MathiasUlrick » Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:56 am

I have Nvidia GTX500 series and Cubase 8 does exactly what you have described here. So I guess we just wait to see if this get resolved or not?

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1168
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by mr.roos » Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:00 pm

I no longer use Nvidia cards after a few issues I ran into years ago. I switched to AMD/Radeon and have not had any problems. HOWEVER - in either case, you only need the DRIVERS to the card installed - NOT the Control Center program. With Nvidia I found that I could not uninstall this Control program and this is what caused my problems. HOWEVER - with AMD - I can install the latest drivers (along with the Control Center, unfortunately, but then uninstall the AMD Control Center and be left with the newest drivers. Yeah, it's a dance but it's worth it.

It's intersting to see this post because MANY people are using the Nvidia cards and seem to be fine with it. Oh well. Kudos to the OP for pulling the card and discovering the source of the problem. 8-)
Cubase 9.5 (9.5.1) from SX3, WaveLab Elements 9.5, iC Pro remote app, LoopMash HD, Win7 64-bit, Intel C2Q9550@2.83GHz, 8G ram, Radeon HD 6570, Gigabyte X48-DS5 MB, Mackie 1640i (FireWire), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via an M-Audio Midi-Sport 1X1.

LaurieDuffy
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by LaurieDuffy » Mon Jan 19, 2015 4:48 am

Thanks guys.

It's comforting to see that other experience the same problem...

I thought I had it fixed for a short while. I set the nVIDIA 3d profile to Advanced Streaming and the problem vanished for a while. But then I guess I must have changed something else and I am back to square one (although with all the tweaks I have done it isn't as bad as before and only fails on average once per play through of a song)

Currently I can keep working on the mixes I am finishing, but clearly I cant start any new projects (especially for other people ) as there is no guarantee that it won't fail in the middle of someones perfect take......

I loaded up latency monitor, and it seems that the problem could happen concurrently with high latency to process detection...nVIDIA programs being implicated.

If anyone is running an nVIDIA (preferably Quadro 600, but I guess anything will do) card that works reliably please let me know what version of the drivers you are using, which 3D settings, and whether there was anything special you needed to do to make it work???

LaurieDuffy
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:50 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by LaurieDuffy » Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:25 am

I reverted to version 333.11 of the nVIDIA driver and ran Cubase for over an hour without the problem reoccurring....guess that is where I will leave it.

It would be good if either Steinberg or nVIDIA could sort out the problem though. I am sure there will be a need to update to the latest driver one day.

emreyazgin
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:32 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by emreyazgin » Thu Jan 29, 2015 5:55 pm

C8 does the EXACT same problem for me with MSI twin frozr with chipset: Nvidia 560 TI I think this is an Nvidia driver vs Cubase problem...and from what I understand SOME drivers create this problem as SOME wont... I was using 306.57 and it did create the cpu spikes. So now I am trying 347.25 I will report how this would go...
I7 2600K, Gigabyte Z58X - UD5 (Texas Instrument FireWire chipset), 16GB Kingston 1600 Mhz RAM, 4 TB total HD, Passive Sapphire 1GB video card, Coolermaster case + Coolermaster 750 Watt Silent PSU, UAD 2 QUAD NEVANA, UAD 2 PCIe, RME FIREFACE 800, Nord Lead 2X, Virus C, Yamaha P80, Nord Electro 3, Safe Sound Audio P1, Avedis MA5, Buzzuadio Potion, Speck ASC-V, API 512C, DIY 1176 clone, MOTU 128 Express, Lexicon MPX1, TC M-One, Yamaha SPX-2000, Marshall JMP1, Radial Jensen DI, Adam A7, Mackie 10" sub, iNano monitor controller....Lots of nice VSTI's, VST "soft-board" and effects...ah and two small Creative speakers ;)

User avatar
rosesound
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 11:20 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by rosesound » Tue Feb 10, 2015 10:31 am

I got the same problems... still no news..?
Best regards

Jens Kristian

Win10, I7-4770K, GTX760, 16Gb ram, Samsung EVO850 SSD's, WD Raptor. Wavlab 8,5, Cubase 8, Halion 5, SteveSlate drums, UAD duo, RME FF800, Genelec 8050.

Subsonic
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:49 pm
Location: Chicagoland
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Subsonic » Mon Feb 23, 2015 4:14 am

I'm having the exact same problem here as what the OP described...the longer I work, the worse these spikes and dropouts get. Finally after a time, I have to shut down Cubase and reopen it and then it's fine for a while. The spikes eventually become constant, every couple seconds or so even with nothing playing back. Cubase can just be sitting there not doing anything and I can watch the ASIO meter bouncing up and down and peaking out every couple seconds.

I rarely post here, as I'm usually working happily away and don't have any need to post, but this is driving me nuts, was never a problem with previous versions. I do have an NVidia GTX 760, others posted that they suspect that the graphics card is to blame, but I've been using Nvidia cards for years with no problems until upgrading to Cubase 8.

Can anyone else confirm if this has been a problem for them as well?
My DAW:
Cubase 8; Windows 7; Intel Core i7 2600 3.4 GHz Quad-core; Gigabyte GA-Z68X mobo; 16 GB RAM; 3 WD Black HD, 5TB total; GTX760 graphics card; RME Fireface 800.

Maas
Junior Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Maas » Mon Feb 23, 2015 11:44 am

Same here. I formatted my machine in a desperate attempt to fix this issue but still the same. I am getting max spikes when i use midi keyboard to send a program change. I dont think i get the same spike when i change internally, will need to check this. I think its a driver issue as I was using the UR22 without issue and now I upgraded to UR44 have this problem. I thought it was to do with third party pluggins but nope, exactly the same after clean install and only Halion Sonic.

Dont suppose all the others having this problem have changed or updated any USB or MIDI drivers prior to this?

Has anyone logged this as an issue as I find it strange Steinberg have not acknowledged an issue as a result of all these post?

I have an MSI Nvidia GTX 670 graphics card which has never caused problems prior to C8. Does anyone else have same card on C8 without issues?
3770K, Asus P8Z77-V, 32GB, 120Gb SSD, 500GB SSD, 1TB HDD (7200)
Cubase 8.5 Pro Halion 5,Halion Sonic, Groove Agent 4, Omnisphere2, Neo Keys, Triebwerk, Hypnotic Dance,PadShop Pro,Korg VST Instruments, UR44, CMC 6 Pack,Ipad Air/Cubase iC Pro, Ultimate 10, S61mk2 Komplete Keyboard, Virus Snow, S-EX1 Mic, TC Helicon Voiceworks Plus.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest