100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Use this forum for an overview of collected issues and to report new ones.
mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by mitchiemasha » Thu Jul 30, 2015 1:53 am

I run Nvidia graphics on both my machines, oldish cards. Be good to keep this thread alive with which ones work well. I'm about to upgrade to C8 currently testing on elements. Wasn't overly happy with performance and issues with my Virus TI have returned. Even when I reverted back. Graphics seem likely as this was the only thing that stayed updated when I reverted.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080, 2x Presonus Firestudio, Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Marcel D
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Marcel D » Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:32 pm

Unfortunately I don't know who Laurie is but reverting the NVidia Quadro 600 driver to 337.88 did the trick for me too so a massive Thank You Sir!

Piano Pete
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Piano Pete » Mon Aug 17, 2015 7:31 pm

So I stumbled upon this post and wanted to see if anyone had any issues with Nvidia 650 Ti? Every now and then Ill go rock solid performance to massive spikes on the CPU performance meter in Cubase, resulting in pops. I looked at my cpu monitor and during these spikes my cpu never went above 70% usage. From looking at this thread it seems like Nvidia causes some issues with Steinburg products.
Master: Windows 10, CPU-Intel i7 6700k, Radeon 260x, MB-Asus z170 Deluxe, 32GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x WD 1TB HD Raid 1 (Storage).

Slave: Windows 10, CPU-Xeon 2680, Radeon 240, MB-Asus x99 WS-E 3.1, 64GB DDR4, Samsung 850 Evo 500GB (OS), 2x Samsung 850 Evo 1TB (Samples), WD 1TB HD (Storage).

Samples: EW Hollywood Orchestra, Gypsy, Solo Violin, Choirs (expansion), Spaces.

DAW- Cubase, Protools, VEP5, Keyboard- Yamaha Portable Grand, Midi Controller- Nektar Panorama P1

b3groover
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:41 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by b3groover » Wed Aug 26, 2015 7:23 pm

I know this is an older thread but I wanted to briefly give my recent experience with the combination of an Nvidia graphics card and Cubase 8.

For the last 5 years, I've been running an extremely stable AMD Athlon FX 6-core system with an Asus motherboard and a Radeon 6670 video card. It has served me well but certain plugins were impossible to run at low latencies, like Diva in great or divine mode. And it was showing its age with large projects as well.

So I decided to upgrade and I bought a brand new Asus Z97 Pro motherboard and an i7 CPU. I also bought a Nvidia GT730 video card. I always buy fanless cards since the computer is in the studio with me and I need it to be whisper quiet.

Long story short; I was getting random dropouts in Cubase, even with projects consisting of only one track, no matter the latency setting. I tried using different drivers for my firewire card (a TI-based SIIG card that received high marks from other DAW users), turning off Hyper-Threading, uninstalling and re-installing various drivers, changing the power scheme so everything was running 100%, running DLC and other test programs to trace the fault, etc. It was a multi-day ordeal, trying to understand why this new system, which is much more powerful than my old one, was experiencing dropouts when it was using only a fraction of it's processing power.

I ran across this thread about issues with Nvidia and took the suggestion to roll back the driver. That did not help either. But what I did notice is that if I minimized Cubase, so I couldn't see any part of it on the desktop but it was still running, with audio coming from the speakers... I had NO dropouts. It was only when Cubase was on screen, when the graphics were being rendered and displayed, that the dropouts occurred.

So I uninstalled all the drivers for the GT730 and physically removed the card from my system. I hooked my screens to the onboard Intel graphics and... no dropouts. Only when I started opening Chrome windows and playing around on the internet did I start to get interruptions in the audio.

I then installed my old Radeon 6670 card, loaded the drivers, and I'm again experiencing no dropouts, not even when surfing the web, running FB, downloading and uploading files (at the same time), and chatting on IM. This is at 96kHz/24bit with the lowest latency my audio interfaces support (64s).

I don't know why but it appears that Cubase 8 has issues with Nvidia. I would recommend using Radeon cards or if you don't need a lot of GPU power for games and such, just using the graphics on your motherboard.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by mitchiemasha » Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:59 am

Thank you for sharing your experience
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080, 2x Presonus Firestudio, Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Schottlandru
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:55 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Schottlandru » Wed Sep 09, 2015 8:38 pm

Wow, news and nobody told me... just been in touch with nVidia:

"Hello Andrew,
There is a new selection under Program Settings that is listed in the NVIDIA Control Panel under Manage 3D settings.

They should select "Steinberg Cubase" for their Program Settings.

They need to install the latest driver in order to see this new profile.

Click on the link below for Windows 7 64 driver version 355.85:
http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverRe ... 1371/en-us
"

Hope this helps you, I will try myself...
Nuendo 6.5 | ProTools 11HD | RME Fireface 800 | Dell M6700 | i7 | 16 GB RAM | Win 7 64
www.andrewmottl.com

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by mitchiemasha » Thu Sep 10, 2015 10:48 pm

What really, Nvidia have a Steinberg Cubase setting in their control panel?

EDIT: Yes I see that list now. Didn't even know it was there. I've not upgrade yet so Steinberg isn't in that list.

I'd previously only looked at this screen default, the global settings tab, never clicking the program settings tab. I guess if I was a gamer I'd of known about this window. Huge list of settings for different games.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080, 2x Presonus Firestudio, Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Schottlandru
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:55 am
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Schottlandru » Sat Sep 12, 2015 4:04 pm

Yes weird I know.
The latest driver seems fine so far but I haven't used it in old freezing sessions yet.
Nuendo 6.5 | ProTools 11HD | RME Fireface 800 | Dell M6700 | i7 | 16 GB RAM | Win 7 64
www.andrewmottl.com

glenymac
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by glenymac » Mon Feb 08, 2016 5:42 pm

Please Steinberg, I make a living using cubase 7.5 and its hard to charge people for a professional environment when your software drops out from time to time. Please fix!!!

bumpercar
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by bumpercar » Wed Mar 16, 2016 7:16 pm

Using the FREEZE button ( * ) on processor heavy tracks really took a load of of my projects.... That helped immensely.

If you havent used the Freeze function yet try it out...On Heavy Midi Instrument tracks or the rack module itself as well as plug in heavy audio tracks ( Once you are content with that track of course) You can always go back and turn freeze off too if you need to tweek etc.... BIG HELPER !

Kevin Wright
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Kevin Wright » Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:55 am

I have posted a new thread as I don't use NVidia drivers but have this problem.

Please see:
viewtopic.php?f=226&t=94769&p=526358#p526358

Kev
Cubase 8 64 bit- Windows 7 Professional 64 bit - i7 4790K Gigabyte Z97 UD5 - 16GB RAM
Onboard graphics

sudestudio
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by sudestudio » Fri Dec 08, 2017 12:39 pm

I have same issue on Nuendo 4 win 7 and win 10. It works fine untill I insert some waves 9 plugins. If I disable all ins and outs and just keep one stereo out spikes disappear.

enricmar
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:53 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by enricmar » Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:55 pm

hello people,

I had this problem and drove me crazy but it happened to be the network card.

After removing the card everything perfect.
Hope it helps!

Razar67
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Razar67 » Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:07 pm

Hey guys, I know im a little late hah, but i've figured out my own little fix for this. Figuring out that this was related to my Nvidia drivers, instead of downgrading or uninstalling my drivers like alot of people did, I thought it would be alot easier to just disable any use of my Nvidia Card within cubase so that it would only use my CPU. What I did was,

1. Go to Nvidia Control Panel
2. Go to "Manage 3D Settings" Then "Program Settings".
3.If you dont already have cubase there, click on "add" and select cubase from the menu.
4. Scroll down in the options until you find "CUDA - GPUs"
5. Choose "use these GPUs" and untick everything there.

This officially disables any use of your Nvidia GPUs within Cubase, and it completely got rid of any CPU spikes for me. Hope this helps ;)

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2882
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: 100% CPU spikes running cubase 8

Post by Romantique Tp » Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:36 pm

Note that Cubase 9.5 handles graphics differently, so some of the proposed fixes posted in this thread may have become unnecessary over time.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests