Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Use this forum for an overview of collected issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
Pops Martin
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:17 pm
Contact:

Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by Pops Martin » Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:35 pm

Just got the brand new Behringer X-Touch.
I run it in Mackie Control mode with Cubase 8 Pro. Some features do work but there's a couple of issues that I tend to blame Cubase 8 Pro for (some work in Mackie HUI mode but not in MC mode).

1. No Timecode / Beats display at all

2. Channel select doesn't work (Fader Bank switch works)

3. Click on/off won't work

ralf1967
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by ralf1967 » Thu Aug 20, 2015 11:36 pm

I have the x-touch too. Same problems. Mackie Hui makes Cubase crash. In control-Mode the same problems...
ASUS P8Z77-M, Intel 7700K, 16GB RAM, Windows 10-64bit auf 256GB SSD; X32-Rack, Cubase 9, Komplete 8, Waves REDD, Waves TG12345, Waves SSL, Halion Symphonic Orch 16bit, Behringer X-Touch, Wavers Abbey Road Plate

Pops Martin
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by Pops Martin » Fri Aug 21, 2015 9:11 am

Some more info about these issues:

1. Time display works in Presonus Studio One so I can rule out a hardware problem. But it will not work in Cubase 8 Pro (8.0.20). I checked on both, Windows and Mac.

2. Channel select actually works but not to select channels but to select pages for the rotary encoder assignment. So forget about this "issue".

3. Click on/off won't work on Win/Mac with Cubase 8 Pro (8.0.20) but it works in Presonus Studio One.

Pops Martin
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by Pops Martin » Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:37 am

Looks like Cubase isn't strictly following the MCU specifications and that's why the time display on the X-Touch doesn't work with Cubase.

MaxNorman
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by MaxNorman » Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:45 pm

Hi - since I did the update to the x-touch firmware most issues seem to be resolved. Do you know how to get the master fader working?
Windows 10 Pro. Asus/Intel 6 core I7. 32Gig RAM. Antelope 32 HD.

MaxNorman
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by MaxNorman » Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:52 pm

Well - testing the x-touch yesterday I found that none of the send second, third or fourth pages were working - I had not previously tested these. In fact, none of the page functions work, or the flip function.
How am I supposed to map this? Mackie HUI? Or Mackie HUI2?
Windows 10 Pro. Asus/Intel 6 core I7. 32Gig RAM. Antelope 32 HD.

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by HughH » Mon Jan 18, 2016 5:29 pm

MaxNorman wrote:Well - testing the x-touch yesterday I found that none of the send second, third or fourth pages were working - I had not previously tested these. In fact, none of the page functions work, or the flip function.
How am I supposed to map this? Mackie HUI? Or Mackie HUI2?
So . . .
Any updates?
Looking for an inexpensive controller for a friend (I have the MCU Pros which work perfectly).

Wondering if things have improved?
Cubase 8.5?

Let me know!

Hugh
Cubase Pro 9.5 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

MaxNorman
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by MaxNorman » Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:19 pm

All functions work pretty well when the controller is Mackie Control - sorry to reply so belatedly!!
I am now attempting to get my second X-Touch daisy-chaned - no luck so far - as you may see from my posts elsewhere...
Just some of the buttons need re-labelling...
Windows 10 Pro. Asus/Intel 6 core I7. 32Gig RAM. Antelope 32 HD.

BRC
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 3:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by BRC » Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:37 pm

I have Cubase LE8 (8.0.40) running on a Windows 10 64bit PC and am thinking to getting a Behringer X-Touch compact.
Do you think that I stand any change of getting automated fader, pan, EQ control, transport controls and scribble strip functions to work?
Thanks
Brian

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2678
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by raino » Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:55 pm

BRC wrote:I have Cubase LE8 (8.0.40) running on a Windows 10 64bit PC and am thinking to getting a Behringer X-Touch compact.
Do you think that I stand any change of getting automated fader, pan, EQ control, transport controls and scribble strip functions to work?
Thanks
Brian
As I understand it the compact and non-compact are fundamentally different devices and not just different versions of the same basic device (i.e. it's not like Cubase Elements vs. Pro).
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by HughH » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:06 pm

raino wrote:
BRC wrote:I have Cubase LE8 (8.0.40) running on a Windows 10 64bit PC and am thinking to getting a Behringer X-Touch compact.
Do you think that I stand any change of getting automated fader, pan, EQ control, transport controls and scribble strip functions to work?
Thanks
Brian
As I understand it the compact and non-compact are fundamentally different devices and not just different versions of the same basic device (i.e. it's not like Cubase Elements vs. Pro).
They are different, but yes, you can do all that easily.

The difference (which for me was wonderful) is that although the X-Touch is a dedicated Mackie Control unit, the Compact has a little utility with it that allows you to set each and every control on it to transmit, essentially, any MIDI command you want it to.
Which was great for me because I already have an MCU Pro and 2 extenders.
What I wanted was to bring a million other functions (Editing, Click, CC's, etc) out onto dedicated hardware controls.
And it does that wonderfully. You can even save different assignments and load them when needed, if you like.

However, for your use, it has a dedicated Mackie Control Emulation mode. No programming needed.
Not sure how it stacks up because it doesn't have enough controls to do everything a full MCU will do.
But I would think that basic stuff like faders, EQ, Transport, are handled nicely.

Hope this helps.

Hugh

EDIT: It doesn't have scribble strips
Cubase Pro 9.5 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

seabasse
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by seabasse » Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:21 pm

I bought the big X-Touch and thinking I might need the Compact version.

Do you know if it's possible to split the 8 faders into the first 1 being a normal channel strip for the selected track, the next 3 for assignable midi cc and the last 4 for fixed dedicated audio tracks/busses? So only the first 1 fader is dynamic and everything else fixed. And a bonus if it can be switched with the click of a button to turn it into the normal MC mode when needed.

Thank you!

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Mackie Control <-> Behringer X-Touch

Post by HughH » Thu Feb 22, 2018 4:58 pm

seabasse wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:21 pm
I bought the big X-Touch and thinking I might need the Compact version.

Do you know if it's possible to split the 8 faders into the first 1 being a normal channel strip for the selected track, the next 3 for assignable midi cc and the last 4 for fixed dedicated audio tracks/busses? So only the first 1 fader is dynamic and everything else fixed. And a bonus if it can be switched with the click of a button to turn it into the normal MC mode when needed.

Thank you!
I don't think the big one is programmable like that.
I have the Compact and it is COMPLETELY programmable.
I use it as a Generic Remote for CCs, Edit commands, Control Room Volume, Click on/off/volume, Tempo, etc.
Works like a charm.

Haven't programmed "Selected Channel Fader" for it, thought, since I have 3 MCUs.
Just need to make sure it's available as a Generic Remote Command.

Hugh
Cubase Pro 9.5 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests