Loudness measurement: offline & batch

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 7 can be posted here.
Locked
User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4349
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Loudness measurement: offline & batch

Post by MattiasNYC »

Currently the loudness track offers faster-than-realtime ("offline") processing, but only for a point in the signal-path in the mixer.

Request #1:

Pull this feature out of the track and put it in a plugin. Allow us to measure, offline, a selected event.

This would be useful when we have recorded stems or mixes on tracks and punch into them. It would be easy to do a quick analysis of any of them to verify loudness, not having to deal with routing at all. This would, I'm guessing, already work with the older loudness plugin if the plugins remained opened after hitting "process". Of course my suggestion then might imply that to carry out this request would also necessitate dealing with the other request to leave offline plugin windows open after processing. One stone - Two birds.

Request #2:

This would combine two things. The first is what I suspect is happening already based on new functionality and what I requested before, namely logging data. At least peaks are logged now. So, since data is being kept somewhere in memory, I'd like it if that data instead could be written to a file. The document would contain simple information - Event Name, Date, All Loudness Data.

The second which would be combined with the above is the ability to do this to more than one event (or file) at a time, and select those either in the project window or pool.

This would allow us to select X files/events, select the plugin, batch-analyze them all, and then have the results written to a document (or on-screen). I've had at least one occasion where QC rejected a mix I had done on the basis that loudness was off, I did a quick analysis with Dolby Media Meter and sent the resulting document off to the production company. They sent it off to QC and we never heard back from them again. Very useful.

EDIT: I know we can get an offline measurement in a 'dialog box' on-screen, but what I'd like to see is a list of events over time the way Dolby Media Meter does it, so one can inspect certain sections of the program material.
Last edited by MattiasNYC on Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

basicX
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: Loudness measurement: offline & batch

Post by basicX »

+1 !!! BIG!
This is a MUST HAVE FOR ME!

atm i'm using beDSP L-Normalizer for that, which is hell slow! But N7 should have somthing like that built in!

cheers
Studios: Nuendo 10.3, Cubase 10 Pro, PT 11.3.1
I/O: Full blown Focusrite RedNet Setup. 3xRed4pre, 2xRed x2p
Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance Mega Pack, and so on...)

Windows 10 Pro x64
Main System from Digital Audio Networx
Intel i9 14core, Gigabyte, 64GB Ram, GF 1050ti, UAD Quad, 3 * Avid Artis Mix

Pro Audio Broadcast Post for german and international clients
www.media-atelier.tv

Locationsound
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 10:20 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Loudness measurement: offline & batch

Post by Locationsound »

+1!

User avatar
lemix
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Loudness measurement: offline & batch

Post by lemix »

would be very useful !!

+1
cheers,
Andrew

W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.30 & PT 12.4------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx-----WXP, Wavelab, Plextor Premium, Hofa DDP
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_McDSP
1.0_2.0 and 5.1 monitoring

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Loudness measurement: offline & batch

Post by Dog and Pony »

Plus 1, absolutely necessary.
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1421
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Loudness measurement: offline & batch

Post by Oliver.Lucas »

Steinberg's batch solution is called Wavelab Pro.
Due to it's multicore engine it's LIGHTNING fast (I think it must be about 150 times faster than the penguin audio solution and about 3 times faster than Nugen LMB)
Unfortunately it does not support surround file formats.
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7922
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Loudness measurement: offline & batch

Post by PG »

Steinberg's batch solution is called Wavelab Pro.
Due to it's multicore engine it's LIGHTNING fast (I think it must be about 150 times faster than the penguin audio solution and about 3 times faster than Nugen LMB)
Unfortunately it does not support surround file formats.
FYI, WaveLab 9 batch processor can handle 5.1 files in/out.
Philippe

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: Loudness measurement: offline & batch

Post by ChrisPolus »

I think audio engines being able to arbitrarily access sound on tracks independent of the playhead is long time overdue. Why can plugins only process sound that is right under the playhead on the track.

Plugins that depend on knowing more about the temporal aspects, like loudness meters or a plugin like Melodyne where you need to first analyse and transfer the sound into it as plugin. Why not have some API where plugins get access to everything on one track. This already exists, it's called ARA (Audio Random Access) and is built-in in Studio One and Melodyne supports it. So you just open Melodyne like an audio editor and all the audio is instantly analysed by it as it has access to the whole track. This could also be used by loudness analysers. And then, like with a wave peak file that is cached, important data like loudness and other useful params could be written into it for easy and fast access.

I think this is a great idea.
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

basicX
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: Loudness measurement: offline & batch

Post by basicX »

honestly something like LM correct is just fine!
just make it a one click out of the menu thing - done :-)!!
Really, we need something like this in nuendo - oh and make it fast ...
LM correct need about 2 or 3 minutes for an 1 hour show... aim for that!

thanks SB!!

cheers
Studios: Nuendo 10.3, Cubase 10 Pro, PT 11.3.1
I/O: Full blown Focusrite RedNet Setup. 3xRed4pre, 2xRed x2p
Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance Mega Pack, and so on...)

Windows 10 Pro x64
Main System from Digital Audio Networx
Intel i9 14core, Gigabyte, 64GB Ram, GF 1050ti, UAD Quad, 3 * Avid Artis Mix

Pro Audio Broadcast Post for german and international clients
www.media-atelier.tv

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: Loudness measurement: offline & batch

Post by ChrisPolus »

I don't know LM but I guess it works on a rendered track. iZotope RX also has a loudness analyzer and it works fast. The thing in Nuendo is that you can make gain changes, plugin param and EQ changes everywhere in an instant and have several dozen tracks. So when analyzing loudness, all the audio needs to flow through all the busses, all plugins, all processors, and this bogs down CPU. I for example have a project with 4 iZotope Dialog De-noisers and 5 De-clickers running, and many other EQs and processors, which now only allows me to analyze audio at almost real-time speed. 80 minutes of project now almost 80 minutes of analysis.

In comparison, when I add the stereo file to an empty project, 80 minutes analyze in about 16 minutes. Still slow, granted. iZotope RX analyzes this file in about 1 minute.

It all comes down to what is going on in your project I guess. It could be faster, though, and manage this intelligently. When you change something in one place, that it only has to re-analyze this part. But you can do it with the locators.
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests