One Launch but TWO Openings

Post general topics related to Nuendo 7 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

One Launch but TWO Openings

Post by Keyplayer » Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:54 pm

Every so often I will launch Nuendo 7 and I will notice the icon blinking in the tool tray. When I investigate that blinking icon I find that TWO INSTANCES OF NUENDO HAVE OPENED. :o I have no idea why it does this and the fix is simple enough (I just closed the extra instance of N7). But this does cause other issues.

This morning it understandably confused my Controllers on which of the two instances they should attach themselves. But the bigger issue was that it wiped out my CR! When I opened my project, it said that my CR wasn't connected and, when I opened the CR, ALL OF MY MONITOR SETTINGS WERE GONE!

Again, simple enough fix. It took about 2 minutes to set up my 3 monitor outs (5.1, 2.0 & 2.1) again and, from that point on, everything worked fine. Has anybody else had this happen?
Nuendo 1.0 - 8.3 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3339
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: One Launch but TWO Openings

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:57 pm

Yes, I've had that with either Nuendo or some other app. In my case it's a "glitchy" trackball that sometimes decides that my single-clicks are in fact double-clicks, and since my Windows is set up to open on single clicks it'll try to open two instances.

But that's all I can recall as far as this goes.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: One Launch but TWO Openings

Post by Keyplayer » Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:14 pm

MattiasNYC wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:57 pm
Yes, I've had that with either Nuendo or some other app. In my case it's a "glitchy" trackball that sometimes decides that my single-clicks are in fact double-clicks, and since my Windows is set up to open on single clicks it'll try to open two instances.

But that's all I can recall as far as this goes.

So, the double launch didn't screw up your template, right? This was a first for me.
Nuendo 1.0 - 8.3 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1182
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: One Launch but TWO Openings

Post by fenderchris » Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:11 pm

I don't see how you've managed to do that.

If I double-click on the Nuendo icon only a single instance of N7 will be launched. Even if I deliberately click on it a second time once it is clear that the first instance is launching, only one instance will be launched.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-7 Pro 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Nuendo-8.3.0, Wavelab-Elements9.5, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Halion Sonic 2, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth)
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3339
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: One Launch but TWO Openings

Post by MattiasNYC » Mon Mar 12, 2018 8:33 pm

Keyplayer, Double launching didn't screw up any templates.

Chris, I don't know how I managed it, but I know it's happened. I mean, it's something local to my old computer most likely, and it wasn't frequent at all.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: One Launch but TWO Openings

Post by Keyplayer » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:53 pm

fenderchris wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:11 pm
I don't see how you've managed to do that.

If I double-click on the Nuendo icon only a single instance of N7 will be launched. Even if I deliberately click on it a second time once it is clear that the first instance is launching, only one instance will be launched.
It's happened to me several times on both my old Win 7 PC (2009) and my new Win 10 PC (2016). Both of these units were built by ADK. But this is the 1st time it screwed up a template. :cry:
Nuendo 1.0 - 8.3 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i7 - 5820K CPU @ 3.30 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest