Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

All topics on WaveLab 9 and WaveLab Elements 9
User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Justin P » Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:33 pm

Let's use this thread to report 3rd party plugin issues that occur within WaveLab.

Be sure to post your systems specs, if you have tried both VST2 and VST3 versions (and note any differences), where/how you insert the plugin (master section, clip, track, montage output), and any other useful info to reproduce the problem.

Also, make note if you've contacted the plugin manufacturer. Some of us on here do beta testing for 3rd party plugin companies and might be able to expedite a response or ideally a fix.

It's no secret that WaveLab is more sensitive to 3rd party plugin issues than Cubase/Logic/Pro Tools so let's try to keep this thread to facts only rather than debating who is responsible. One thing I've learned from using REAPER and the transparency of their beta/pre-releases is that there is some responsibility on both parties to maintain a bug-free experience.

While I agree that this job should really be the part of some paid beta testers (on both sides), the reality is that it's currently not (for the most part) so let's make the best of it.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Justin P » Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:46 pm

Tokyo Dawn Labs - NOVA EQ (Gentlemen's Edition) VST2 (they don't offer VST3) on OS X 10.11.6

This plugin has the magnetic cursor issue where sometimes even though you have moved the mouse cursor to another location, the last touched knob/parameter is still selected and is therefore accidentally adjusted. This can be dangerous in the event of large jumps in level for a certain band or overall output.

TDL is aware of the issue but neither party seems to agree on the cause or a plan to find a resolution.

I have not tried any of their other plugins to know if they also have the issue.

http://www.tokyodawn.net/tokyo-dawn-labs/
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Justin P » Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:47 pm

Kazrog Clip VST2 (they don't offer VST3) on OS X 10.11.6

This plugin has the magnetic cursor issue where sometimes even though you have moved the mouse cursor to another location, the last touched knob/parameter is still selected and is therefore accidentally adjusted. This can be dangerous in the event of large jumps in level for a certain band or overall output.

Kazrog is aware of the issue but neither party seems to agree on the cause or a plan to find a resolution.

I have not tried any of their other plugins to know if they also have the issue.

http://kazrog.com/products/kclip/
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Justin P » Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:51 pm

Sonnox SuperEsser VST2 (they don't offer VST3) on OS X 10.11.6

There are some performance issues with this plugin on playback and rendering. When a certain amount of latency is reached, there will be an audio dropout near the start of playback, as well as near the start of a file rendering operation which is the ultimate deal-breaker.

Sonnox is aware of the issue and says it will be fixed in an upcoming beta and eventual maintenance update.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

stingray
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by stingray » Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:52 am

Great initiative Justin!

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 1:16 am

Plug In Alliance Dent, Indent, Lindel 254E -> blank VST3 window.
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Justin P » Tue Feb 21, 2017 1:25 am

nkf wrote:Plug In Alliance Dent, Indent, Lindel 254E -> blank VST3 window.
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section
Thanks. These have been reported to the Plugin Alliance Beta Forum Moderator and in theory, will eventually be fixed by the plugin developer (unless PG finds a way to fix sooner on the WaveLab side).
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 1:53 am

Accusonus ERA-D 1.2.1 (newest version)
-> blank window (VST3)
-> sticky knobs -> unusable (VST2)

OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:00 am

Justin P wrote:Tokyo Dawn Labs - NOVA EQ (Gentlemen's Edition) VST2 (they don't offer VST3) on OS X 10.11.6

This plugin has the magnetic cursor issue where sometimes even though you have moved the mouse cursor to another location, the last touched knob/parameter is still selected and is therefore accidentally adjusted. This can be dangerous in the event of large jumps in level for a certain band or overall output.

TDL is aware of the issue but neither party seems to agree on the cause or a plan to find a resolution.

I have not tried any of their other plugins to know if they also have the issue.

http://www.tokyodawn.net/tokyo-dawn-labs/
The same goes for:
Kotelnikov GE
SlickEQ M
VOS SlickEQ GE
can confirm Nova GE here too
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

stingray
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by stingray » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:01 am

SSL Vocalstrip VST3 version 5.1.1 plug-in produces silence upon rendering. Plug-in inserted in the Master section. (VST2.4 Vocalstrip renders OK).
PC W7/10 WL Pro 9.0.35
Last edited by stingray on Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:13 am, edited 2 times in total.

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:06 am

Acon Digital Restoration Bundle

-> blank window (VST3)
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:07 am

Exponential Audio Phoenix Surround Reverb
-> crash on play with VST2 and VST3
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:13 am

D16 Group
sticky Mouse cursor (VST2)
with:
Antresol
Decimort 2
Devastor 2
Syntorus

no tempo when on host sync (VST2):
Repeater

crash on click "Tempo"(VST2):
Sigmund

OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:16 am

Eiosis AirEQ Premium VST2:
"Error reported by plug-in Eiosis AirEQ Premium 5.1:
At this insertion point, the plug-in cannot accept the number of input channels."

direct crash of WL when loading the Eiosis AirEQ Premium VST3 version
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:19 am

Exponential Audio Excalibur
sticky Mouse cursor (VST2)
-> blank window (VST3)
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:23 am

Lexicon Total Bundle (VST2 only)
-> sticky Mouse cursor
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:26 am

Sound Radix SurferEQ2
-> blank window (VST3)
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:33 am

UVI (VST2 only):
Spark
Relayer
-> sticky mouse cursor

OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Justin P » Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:18 am

nkf wrote: direct crash of WL when loading the Eiosis AirEQ Premium VST3 version
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section
I can't reproduce this one. I use AirEQ VST3 often and it's been stable for awhile now here. Are you using the latest build 1.1.5.3 of the plugin? You can download it here:
http://downloads.eiosis.com/AirEQ/Insta ... 53_Mac.zip

I also get the error message when trying to use the 5.1 version but I'm not certain the 5.1 should be used in WaveLab anyway. I admit that I have very little experience with anything beyond stereo routing/processing in WaveLab though.
I just stick with the stereo version and never use the 5.1 version of AirEQ.

The latest VST3 version is stable here on OS X 10.11.6
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

nkf
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:49 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by nkf » Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:34 am

Justin P wrote:
nkf wrote: direct crash of WL when loading the Eiosis AirEQ Premium VST3 version
OSX 10.11.6, WL9Pro (9.0.35), Master Section
I can't reproduce this one. I use AirEQ VST3 often and it's been stable for awhile now here. Are you using the latest build 1.1.5.3 of the plugin? You can download it here:
http://downloads.eiosis.com/AirEQ/Insta ... 53_Mac.zip

I also get the error message when trying to use the 5.1 version but I'm not certain the 5.1 should be used in WaveLab anyway. I admit that I have very little experience with anything beyond stereo routing/processing in WaveLab though.
I just stick with the stereo version and never use the 5.1 version of AirEQ.

The latest VST3 version is stable here on OS X 10.11.6
Ok, I was short in description. I have the same version here already - but thanks for the link. IMO the surround versions shouldn't act like this - they don't in Nuendo/Cubase.
Ok, the crash of the VST3 version is not reproducible right now - but it was the case. Wasn't it you, who wrote about the somewhat erratic behaviour of plug ins in WL? To restart the app every time for checking out plug ins would be to much really - maybe plug ins render WL unstable somewhat and it has consequences later with other plug ins?
This all is very unfortunate and a time consuming mess.

Rat
Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Rat » Tue Feb 21, 2017 4:08 am

DMG Limitless in VST 3 is buggy. But, I think it would be fair to say that this is acknowledged by DMG.

However, I can repeatably generate a crash when using the VST 2 version if I remove the plugin from the master section after stopping play.

It will not crash if I first play another track where the master section is bypassed and then remove it from the master section.

Typically, I will only ever have three pugins ... plus one or two WL gain plugs to stage the gain.

Limitless (when I use it) is always last in the chain before dither.

It "feels" like the Limitless somehow stores a buffer somewhere and when the plug is removed this behavior causes WL to crash. This does not happen on any other plug.

This is still a 32 bit Windows 7 Professional system.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Razor Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4,1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD

WaveLab 9.5 Pro and 10 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss

Rat
Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Rat » Tue Feb 21, 2017 5:31 am

Justin P wrote:It's no secret that WaveLab is more sensitive to 3rd party plugin issues than Cubase/Logic/Pro Tools so let's try to keep this thread to facts only rather than debating who is responsible.
Whilst this seems to be true, I think it should also be acknowledged that ... when compared to other highly specialized mastering only DAWs (like Sonic, Sadie or even Sequoia for example) ... it is difficult to maintain an argument that WL is "worse" than any of these and in fact you could make a convincing argument that it could even be probably "better" in terms of its plug in functionality.

Apples with apples and these frustrations could be a function of the fact that not many people actually buy a mastering specific DAW ... it's a pretty small sector.

But that doesn't mean that a comparison with market leading DAWs such as those listed is not valid or useful. It is.

Apologies if this is straying off topic and I'm happy to delete this post if it is.
Last edited by Rat on Tue Feb 21, 2017 5:52 am, edited 2 times in total.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Razor Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4,1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD

WaveLab 9.5 Pro and 10 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss

Rat
Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Rat » Tue Feb 21, 2017 5:44 am

DMG Equilibrium

In VST 2 or 3 the plug initially displays it's configuration screen when opening WL with saved master section plugs.

If you move the display with the mouse slightly and click, this changes to display the EQ GUI as you would expect. It retains and displays all of the correct, saved settings.

The same behavior occurs if you load a master section from the preset menu.

I use this plug practically every session (meaning every day) and I don't remember this occurring with its previous version/revision.

This leads me to conclude it's probably not a WL bug as such.

Equilibrium is typically loaded first or second (after a WL gain plug) in the master section and usually in M/S mode set to highest quality in the universe.

It's been suggested to me that this behavior may not occur on a 64 bit system.

Otherwise, the plug behaves exactly as it should. It is such a minor inconvenience that I have never got around to emailing DMG.

Windows 7 professional 32 bit.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Razor Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4,1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD

WaveLab 9.5 Pro and 10 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Justin P » Wed Feb 22, 2017 3:16 am

From Jesus Tossas who is having issues logging into this forum:

"I have Wavelab V 9.0.35 Macbook pro Sierra Version 10.12.2. I purchased A.O.M Invisible Limiter V2 in VST2. I use it on the master section and I experience the magnetic mouse effect. With other DAWs I have works fine. Thanks to whoever can post this on that thread."
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

User avatar
Thomas W. Bethel
Member
Posts: 581
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: Oberlin, OH
Contact:

Re: Official 3rd Party Plugin Issue Thread

Post by Thomas W. Bethel » Wed Feb 22, 2017 12:13 pm

Nugen plugins sometimes work on 9.0.35 for the Mac and the PC. Sometimes they don't. Never could get it to be repeatable. It seem to be completely random whether they run or choose not to.

Window 7 Pro on a very fast "gaming" computer i5 Processor 20 gigs of memory and all SSD drives. OS El Capitan on a fully loaded Mac Pro computer 20 gigs of memory and all SSD drives.
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 24 years in business in 2019

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests