Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
pwhodges
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:29 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by pwhodges » Sat Sep 08, 2018 12:16 pm

Arjan P wrote:
Fri Sep 07, 2018 11:34 am
@mindseyedub: You just weakened your argument quite considerably. Quotes without hyperlink are useless.
Useless? Copying the quote into Google finds the thread in a couple of seconds. But I agree providing a link is polite.

Paul

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2523
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by Arjan P » Sat Sep 08, 2018 3:18 pm

It's more than polite, and it this case (with the quote being irrelevant because outdated) it looks like a conscious act of deceit to not include the source.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 9.5.50 | Cubase 10.0 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

pwhodges
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:29 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by pwhodges » Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:16 pm

I'd say that's over-thinking it (and that opinion is informed by my experience as the chief admin of a significant forum for nearly ten years).

Paul

justinn007
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by justinn007 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:14 am

Wavelab 9.5.25 update still no go..... Most Acustica Audio plugins Crash....
รูเล็ตออนไลน์
Last edited by justinn007 on Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by PG » Fri Sep 21, 2018 12:47 pm

Current version is 9.5.35 and not 9.5.25.
Anyway the ball is not in the walelab camp.
Please contact AA.
Philippe

zz0zz
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:08 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by zz0zz » Fri Sep 21, 2018 7:22 pm

So why does Wavelab work correctly with Acustica when rendering in montage view.

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by PG » Sat Sep 22, 2018 5:14 am

So why does Wavelab work correctly with Acustica when rendering in montage view.
The plugin is used a bit differently. But only AA can bring an answer to the non-working case.
Philippe

zz0zz
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:08 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by zz0zz » Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:00 am

:?:
Last edited by zz0zz on Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mauri
Senior Member
Posts: 1080
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:17 am
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by Mauri » Sat Sep 22, 2018 7:41 am

PG wrote:
Sat Sep 22, 2018 5:14 am
So why does Wavelab work correctly with Acustica when rendering in montage view.
The plugin is used a bit differently. But only AA can bring an answer to the non-working case.
AA is more concerned with releasing new products than fixing these issues. I've asked them about the problem with their Aquamarine plugin and was told to contact WaveLab support.
Aquamarine is no good as a clip/channel insert because it's so CPU hungry that one instance (in Cubase) gobbles up 25-30% on the ASIO meter of my reasonably powerful machine. As for being "Mastering compressor" it's useless if it doesn't work in the rendering process of WL.
Cubase Pro 10 x64 with jBridge | WaveLab Elements 9.5 | i7 5930K @ 4.7GHz (stable) | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs plus 3 SSDs for samples and project/audio files | Fractal Design Define R5 case | Noctua NH-D15 | ASUS GeForce GT 730 2GB silent | Vox ToneLab SE | Mackie HR624 MKII | 2 x UAD2 Solo PCIe | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x 24" LED monitors...

zabukowski
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by zabukowski » Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:38 pm

Hi,

A simple question to clarify things further: i understand Acustica plugins stopped working with the latest WL update (according to user reports). They are working with previous WL versions ?!?

If this is correct, i assume something related to VST processing has changed with the latest WL update (Acustica plugins didn't change).

To me, this looks (!) like something called "breaking backward compatibility" without a warning ?

From tehnical view point of view, i guess it is much simpler for PG to check differences between WL versions (related to VST2) and inform Acustica about possible incompatibilty issues, than Acustica doing blind/random experiments with the code, trying to find out what has changed in WL and how to fix it on plugin side. Especially when considering the fact, that Acustica plugins work in other major hosts.

Please let me know, if i don't understand things completely or i am not seeing the complete picture. To me things are pretty logical and straightforward in sense what can be done next. In these situations, with a bit of PG's work (comparing versions), the exact piece of code which is breaking compatibility can be located.

Recently, there was similar issue caused by the S1 V4 - suddenly N4 stopped loading in Studio One. Presonus didn't request Acustica to debug plugins, but checked it first and found bug on their side. The fix is already available. Not saying this is the case here, but "but only AA can bring an answer to the non-working case" answer is not really helpful.

Thanks for your attention!

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by PG » Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:07 pm

This report is more than 6 months old, and I still haven't got an email from Acustica saying something like:
"our plugin crashes because we see this...(whatever it is)".
IOW, their developer did not try to reproduce the problem. This is not serious, sorry.
Philippe

zz0zz
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:08 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by zz0zz » Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:31 am

Why can’t there be some cooperation instead of playing a blame game. IMO since AA was working fine in previous versions and works fine in Cubase 9.5.30 the onus must fall upon WL even if PG refuses to accept the facts. Sorry no insult intended.

User avatar
Mauri
Senior Member
Posts: 1080
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:17 am
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by Mauri » Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:14 am

In my case the only plugins which give me trouble are AA's Aquamarine3, crashes WaveLab when rendering, and now in Cubase 9.5.40 and 41, Nebula4 VST3 is not seen at all but fortunately the VST2 version is ok.

All my other (many) plugins work as expected so obviously there are 'compatibility' issues with, at least some, AA products.
Cubase Pro 10 x64 with jBridge | WaveLab Elements 9.5 | i7 5930K @ 4.7GHz (stable) | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs plus 3 SSDs for samples and project/audio files | Fractal Design Define R5 case | Noctua NH-D15 | ASUS GeForce GT 730 2GB silent | Vox ToneLab SE | Mackie HR624 MKII | 2 x UAD2 Solo PCIe | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x 24" LED monitors...

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by PG » Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:47 am

even if PG refuses to accept the facts.
I don't refuse the facts, on the contrary I am waiting for them, but from the plugin AA developers. They are the only usable facts for this topic.
Philippe

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2523
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by Arjan P » Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:32 pm

zz0zz wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:31 am
Why can’t there be some cooperation instead of playing a blame game.
For cooperation you need two parties to be involved. I think PG made it pretty clear they (AA) simply do not respond - it seems to me you're howling at the wrong door.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 9.5.50 | Cubase 10.0 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

zabukowski
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by zabukowski » Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:23 pm

Mauri wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:14 am
... and now in Cubase 9.5.40 and 41, Nebula4 VST3 is not seen at all but fortunately the VST2 version is ok.

All my other (many) plugins work as expected so obviously there are 'compatibility' issues with, at least some, AA products.
Windows users with N4 VST3 and Cubase 9.5.4* problems, please check Acustica forums & FB channels for temporary solution.

Cheers!

User avatar
Mauri
Senior Member
Posts: 1080
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:17 am
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by Mauri » Mon Nov 05, 2018 5:26 am

zabukowski wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:23 pm
Mauri wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:14 am
... and now in Cubase 9.5.40 and 41, Nebula4 VST3 is not seen at all but fortunately the VST2 version is ok.

All my other (many) plugins work as expected so obviously there are 'compatibility' issues with, at least some, AA products.
Windows users with N4 VST3 and Cubase 9.5.4* problems, please check Acustica forums & FB channels for temporary solution.

Cheers!
I followed the advice you posted on AA's "Working with Nebula4..." forum, now the VST3 version shows up in Cubase but VST2 does not and I'm ok with that. BTW, both versions work fine in WaveLab.

Now, if you guys could fix the issue with AA's Aquamarine and WaveLab I'd be very happy ;).

Thank you, Zab!
Cubase Pro 10 x64 with jBridge | WaveLab Elements 9.5 | i7 5930K @ 4.7GHz (stable) | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs plus 3 SSDs for samples and project/audio files | Fractal Design Define R5 case | Noctua NH-D15 | ASUS GeForce GT 730 2GB silent | Vox ToneLab SE | Mackie HR624 MKII | 2 x UAD2 Solo PCIe | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x 24" LED monitors...

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by bob99 » Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:14 am

Raziel7 wrote:
Thu Mar 15, 2018 12:52 pm
I have the same proglem with Acustica Audio Ivory 3 COMP3B and latest version of Wavelab.
I've seen the difference in Task Manager with this plugin in current and earlier Wavelab 9 versions as Master section effect, if that would be of any help with this. Same settings, same file, quite different activity in Task Manager. Maybe someone else could take a video of that, or i'll do it when I have a chance. But Acustica really should be doing this if they want to get it fixed.

The crash doesn't happen in the master section with Ivory 3 COMP1B, but that's a smaller single band version of the plugin, not multiband.

zz0zz
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:08 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by zz0zz » Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:11 am

Crimson does not crash Wavelab upon rendering when Crimson is inserted in montage editor.

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by bob99 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:08 am

zz0zz wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:11 am
Crimson does not crash Wavelab upon rendering when Crimson is inserted in montage editor.
None of them has a problem in the Montage afaik. It's just some of them (mostly some of the bigger ones I think) can't render without crashing in the Master Section in the past couple Wavelab versions.

zz0zz
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:08 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by zz0zz » Tue Nov 06, 2018 4:32 pm

bob99 wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:08 am
zz0zz wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:11 am
Crimson does not crash Wavelab upon rendering when Crimson is inserted in montage editor.
None of them has a problem in the Montage afaik. It's just some of them (mostly some of the bigger ones I think) can't render without crashing in the Master Section in the past couple Wavelab versions.
Yes that is what I have experienced as well.

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by bob99 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:31 pm

mindseyedub wrote:
Wed Jul 04, 2018 4:58 pm
Thanks... Ruby and Pink for sure....
Does the Pink Single Band compressor crash in the Master Section? Or is it the Multiband compressor that crashes? Both?

zz0zz
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:08 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by zz0zz » Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:56 am

bob99 wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:31 pm
mindseyedub wrote:
Wed Jul 04, 2018 4:58 pm
Thanks... Ruby and Pink for sure....
Does the Pink Single Band compressor crash in the Master Section? Or is it the Multiband compressor that crashes? Both?
I’ll check and get back tomorrow

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2488
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by bob99 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:00 am

zz0zz wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:56 am
I’ll check and get back tomorrow
Thanks zz0zz.
There are probably as many that work as there are that don't work. Maybe they can make something of that.

Master Section render - Crash Plugins:
Ivory3 Multiband Compressor
Ivory3 Dynamic EQ

Master Section render - No Crash Plugins:
Ivory3 Single Band Compressor
Ivory3 EQ

orangeoctane
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:47 am
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 9.5.2 + AA Ruby = Crash

Post by orangeoctane » Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:10 am

Just an update from 1 day ago from Giancarlo Del Sordo (Acustica company owner?) on Facebook:

" Steinberg walelab introduced issues on the acustica framework lately. Our framework almost never changed and it has been compatible with all vst hosts starting from 2007. They are hundreds. They do all possible calls to vst 2.4 framework, in all possible order for calls, and content. It should be added the vst 2.4 is poor documented all developers approached it in a sort of trial/error fashion. The real documentation is about "what is working in the actual panorama" in order to not break compatibility with all other vendors. The idea of "acustica didn't test enough" is counterintuitive, sorry. Florin Buciu your version of what happened is heavily misleading. I'm not accusing anyone, but this is a list of consecutive facts"

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests