Install Latest Version of FLAC in Wavelab

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2228
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Install Latest Version of FLAC in Wavelab

Post by bob99 » Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:48 am

I feel really dumb, but how do I install the latest version of FLAC (1.3.2) in Wavelab? I can only get an exe from the FLAC site. I tried the dll from Rarewares but that doesn't work. Tried renaming, etc. How do I do this?

stingray
Member
Posts: 945
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Contact:

Re: Install Latest Version of FLAC in Wavelab

Post by stingray » Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:06 pm

bob99 wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:48 am
How do I do this?
I didn't know you could do this. Just out of interest, what are the advantages of the latest version?

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2228
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Install Latest Version of FLAC in Wavelab

Post by bob99 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 6:51 pm

stingray wrote:
Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:06 pm
bob99 wrote:
Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:48 am
How do I do this?
I didn't know you could do this. Just out of interest, what are the advantages of the latest version?
You can do it with LAME, for MP3, which I've been meaning to try again to see if it still works.

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... ements-7-8

That's where I got the reassurance to go to Rarewares.
Should also work for Ogg Vorbis, I would think. And FLAC. But I can't get the Rarewares FLAC dll to work, unless PG or somebody else has any ideas. It would be really handy if it could be made to work.

I was thinking maybe it would help someone who's having a very specific unusual problem with Wavelab FLAC metadata in one specific program, Native Instruments Traktor. Wavelab is currently using FLAC 1.3.0. The latest version is 1.3.2. Not sure it would help. My current thinking is the newer FLAC version probably won't help unless something else is also changed, but it might help on it's own..

https://translate.google.com/translate? ... t%3D143273
-

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2228
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Install Latest Version of FLAC in Wavelab

Post by bob99 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 7:58 pm

That thread is a long boring read with me going around in circles as usual, so I wouldn't bother reading the whole thing, but the gist is, Wavelab FLAC metadata is readable in dpoweramp, mp3tag, Windows Explorer, VLC, Foobar2000, the Windows 10 built-in Groove Player and Kid3.

But not in NI Traktor.

I suggested the OP ask Native Instruments look at it because Traktor should read the Wavelab metadata if all those other programs do. But on the other hand Traktor can read FLAC metadata from every other program FLAC, so I suggested he ask Steinberg to look at it too.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 1892
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Install Latest Version of FLAC in Wavelab

Post by MrSoundman » Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:33 pm

I've also encountered a case where a FLAC generated in WaveLab could not be read by a JVC device, even though (thanks to the GPL) the device's manual states it uses libFLAC .... but doesn't say what version. I have had no issues with FLAC generated with WaveLab anywhere else, so as far as I'm concerned it's the JVC device that's at fault.

Nevertheless I have an interest in knowing how to update FLAC for use in WaveLab ....
Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 | WaveLab 9.5.35 | HALion 6.1.15 | Groove Agent 4.2.40 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | x64 only

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6324
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Install Latest Version of FLAC in Wavelab

Post by PG » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:45 pm

I can't help. Maybe some incompatibility was introduced in 1.3.2
WaveLab should provide the 13.2 version, but I don't know when this happens.
Philippe

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests