Motu UltraLite-Mk4 and WaveLab Pro 9.5 not working

All topics on WaveLab 9 and WaveLab Elements 9
User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2424
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Motu UltraLite-Mk4 and WaveLab Pro 9.5 not working

Post by Justin P » Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:56 pm

Yep, it seems that with the MOTU 8D interface, I need to make an aggregate MacOS audio device for it to work.

Thanks to whoever figured out this workaround.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2509
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Motu UltraLite-Mk4 and WaveLab Pro 9.5 not working

Post by bob99 » Wed Dec 12, 2018 2:08 am

Justin P wrote:
Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:56 pm
Thanks to whoever figured out this workaround.
It was scampi on the German forum who had a similar problem with a Pro-Ject DAC.
https://translate.google.com/translate? ... t%3D115274

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2424
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Motu UltraLite-Mk4 and WaveLab Pro 9.5 not working

Post by Justin P » Wed Dec 12, 2018 5:15 pm

Thanks. I just wonder if this is a MOTU fix or a WaveLab fix.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2424
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Motu UltraLite-Mk4 and WaveLab Pro 9.5 not working

Post by Justin P » Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:32 am

I've been emailing a bit with MOTU tech support. I am now able to get WaveLab to playback with my MOTU 8D without needing to make an aggregate device.

I think the problem was that when you install the MOTU Discovery apps and all their fun stuff, the Mac sees the device as both a basic USB class compliant device, and also as another device via the MOTU apps. I kept seeing two different 8D devices listed in Audio/MIDI so I went any manually uninstalled all the MOTU apps and now only one 8D is listed in my devices.

Here is a PDF with more info:
http://techlink-attachments.motu.com/ti ... 0macOS.pdf

You can still access the mixer settings on the web by entering the IP address of the interface if it's connected to the computer via Ethernet.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

SRN2016
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Motu UltraLite-Mk4 and WaveLab Pro 9.5 not working

Post by SRN2016 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:52 pm

Was there ever a proper fix for this?

It has been some months since I used Wavelab (9.5.50) I too have this same problem with a MOTU 624 AVB, if I create an aggregate device and select the same outputs it works fine.
Cubase 10.0.40, Wavelab 9.5.50, macOS 10.14.6 Mac Pro (2009 flashed 5.1) 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 32 GB RAM, Radeon RX 560 4096 MB, SSDs, MOTU 624 & 8D.

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2424
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Motu UltraLite-Mk4 and WaveLab Pro 9.5 not working

Post by Justin P » Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:18 pm

SRN2016 wrote:
Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:52 pm
Was there ever a proper fix for this?

It has been some months since I used Wavelab (9.5.50) I too have this same problem with a MOTU 624 AVB, if I create an aggregate device and select the same outputs it works fine.
I don't believe this is fixed on the WaveLab side in 9.5.50

Maybe/Hopefully fixed for WaveLab 10.

I no longer have a MOTU but I have a similar experience with the Grace m900.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

SRN2016
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Motu UltraLite-Mk4 and WaveLab Pro 9.5 not working

Post by SRN2016 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:57 pm

Thanks for the reply, strange thing is the last time I used Wavelab which I think was 9.5.30 it worked fine about 6-8 months ago, not sure which version of Mojave that was, also there have been updated MOTU drivers which I have installed since then as well. All very odd as Cubase doesn't have this issue.
Cubase 10.0.40, Wavelab 9.5.50, macOS 10.14.6 Mac Pro (2009 flashed 5.1) 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 32 GB RAM, Radeon RX 560 4096 MB, SSDs, MOTU 624 & 8D.

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests