How to select every note on one stave?

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
ianplaysguitar
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 9:24 pm
Contact:

How to select every note on one stave?

Post by ianplaysguitar » Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:20 pm

I can CMD-click to select multiple individual notes, I can marquee-drag over a selection, but if I want to, for example, move a whole instrument's part up one octave, how can I do this - must I always go into Galley mode, zoom out and drag a marquee selection across the whole flow?

I would expect to select a note, shift select another, to give a selection of those notes and everything between..

Select All also seems to be not working, maybe this is an issue because I'm using Mac OSX Mavericks :(

Or is there a smarter way to do this? Sibelius also had triple click for things like this.

TylerE
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to select every note on one stave?

Post by TylerE » Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:27 pm

+1, really miss this

User avatar
DaddyO
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:25 am
Contact:

Re: How to select every note on one stave?

Post by DaddyO » Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:30 pm

+1
Hobbyist
VSL Special Edition, VE Pro & VI Pro, MIR Pro
Windows 10, Core i7 4790K PC 32 GB RAM, SSD's
Cubase 9, Dorico 1.0, Notion 6

FelixPlinioDesignori
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: How to select every note on one stave?

Post by FelixPlinioDesignori » Thu Oct 20, 2016 1:38 am

+2
Mac OS X Sierra (10.12)
Mac Pro (End 2013)
3,5 GhZ 6-Core Intel Xenon E5
16GB DDR3 Ram
256 SSD Drive
2x AMD FirePro D500 3GB

Liamk
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 11:00 pm
Contact:

Re: How to select every note on one stave?

Post by Liamk » Thu Oct 20, 2016 1:51 am

+1

Veli
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 7:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to select every note on one stave?

Post by Veli » Thu Oct 20, 2016 10:38 am

Having shift-click for range selections would be great.

Speaking of that, in Dorico you can already use shift-left and shift-right to extend the selection to left or right. This is same logic as in Sibelius, but despite using it for years I still don't find it super intuitive. Have you considered using "word-processor-style" logic instead?

Here's what I mean: Let's say I'm selecting characters in a word processor, and I accidentally press shift-right one extra time, and make my selection too large. No problem, I just press shift-left to cancel it, and all is well. In Sibelius - and now, in Dorico - I also instinctively press shift-left. But now my selection is too large in both directions. At this point I usually give up, and start my selection all over again. In a word processor, shift-arrows and shift-clicks don't actually extend the selection, but move the "most recent end" of the range.

Of course, it's actually not quite that simple, because Dorico's selections can be more complicated than just ranges. In fact, a better model to copy could be how file selection works in Finder (Mac) and File Explorer (Windows). I don't even know all the corner cases they're doing, but somehow they have managed to combine Cmd-clicks and shift-ranges in a way that does what I expect. In fact, it works so well that when I use it I don't even notice that they're actually doing something quite clever. Roughly, I think that shift-arrow and shift-click move the most recent end of the most recently selected contiguous range or something like that.

FredericChiasson
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: How to select every note on one stave?

Post by FredericChiasson » Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:00 am

Indeed. I wonder also what replaces the double-click (for selecting everything in a bar) and triple-click (for selecting all music from an instrument) from Sibelius?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5655
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: How to select every note on one stave?

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Sun Oct 23, 2016 2:05 am

We will be working on improving the ease of making large selections in Dorico as soon as we can, and I would expect some improvements in the first update, coming soon.

jasmusic
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:37 am
Contact:

Re: How to select every note on one stave?

Post by jasmusic » Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:43 am

I've been struggling with this today, and have reluctantly returned to Sibelius for the time being - any idea when the first update will be? A triple click would be really useful.

andgle
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to select every note on one stave?

Post by andgle » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:25 pm

Maybe assigning a key command to 'Select to the end of flow' will help you?
Anders

macOS Sierra

User avatar
SeeWhat
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 10:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: How to select every note on one stave?

Post by SeeWhat » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:27 pm

jasmusic wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:43 am
I've been struggling with this today, and have reluctantly returned to Sibelius for the time being - any idea when the first update will be? A triple click would be really useful.
jasmusic, you're replying to a one year old thread and there have been a lot of updates in this year
Win10 pro 64; RME multiface; Sibelius 8.5; Dorico 1.10.10; Cubase Artist 7.5 ; Cubase Elements 9; Melodyne; Adam S2-A.
My native language is french, my english SoSo...

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boye, Chris Davey, David Tee, louram, Oboino and 10 guests