Help - no sound!

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.

Help - no sound!

Postby Peter_ » Fri Oct 21, 2016 1:01 am

Here is my next problem:

While the playback sound in Dorico did work the first day it does not work anymore now (with same test project).

Current symptoms:

• During playback only in the first Mixer channel strip I can see an activity (in this test project I have only one player). No activity in the Output strip and in the Reverb strip (as it was in the first day).

• Also in the first day the Halion window showed up. Now it isn't visible anymore. How can I open it?
Peter_
Junior Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Ulf » Fri Oct 21, 2016 7:43 am

In the Device Setup, could you please check that the correct driver is loaded?

Next thing to try, go to Play Mode and choose Play > Apply Default Playback Template.
If that doesn't do, could you start a new simple project and try what that does for you?

For the HALion window, go to Play Mode. On the right side you see the list of instruments. To the left of "HALion Sonic SE" there is a button with a strangely shaped 'e'. Click on that (maybe twice) and the HALion window shall come to front.
Steinberg employee
User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 129 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Peter_ » Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:03 pm

Currently I use the the Generic ASIO driver:

Generic ASIO driver.png
(22.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet


But also the other drivers do not work.

When using this command:

Apply Default Playback Template


This made the Halion window show up. Also now when playing the score there is activity in the Mixer Output strip. Also when clicking on the Halion keyboard there is activity in the output. But I don't hear anything. (Yes, other sound applications can be heard). Also, when looking at the Windows sound configuration mixer the Halion device is not shown.

When I create a new project the sound does work. Then I reload the first test project where the sound does not work.

I attach the not working project here:

test 1.zip
(153.92 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Peter_
Junior Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 3:30 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby belkina » Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:16 pm

I also have no sound in any file. Visually there is activity in the Halion Sonic window, and I can also get sound by loading it into my DAW, so it is working, but no sound comes from Dorico.

I don't see where in the interface to Dorico or Halion I can check the device driver or audio prefs, anything like that.

???
belkina
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby belkina » Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:18 pm

How do I access the Device Driver, I can't find it anywhere?
belkina
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Ulf » Fri Oct 21, 2016 1:15 pm

Please check in the Edit menu: Edit > Device Setup
Steinberg employee
User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 129 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby belkina » Fri Oct 21, 2016 1:56 pm

Thank you. May I suggest that the Play menu would be a better place for that?
belkina
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 12:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby PaulWalmsley » Fri Oct 21, 2016 2:01 pm

It's also available in the Play menu. I think there also a link in the Preferences dialog.
Architect & Developer - Steinberg London
User avatar
PaulWalmsley
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 9:24 pm
Location: Steinberg, London
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 423 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:10 am

In fact we moved it from the Play menu into the Edit menu and into the Preferences dialog, because it seemed important enough that it should be in the same place as other application-wide dialogs, like Preferences (which is also in the Edit menu on Windows).
User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 4201
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 3377 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby rgonski » Mon May 22, 2017 4:55 pm

I have the same problem with sound - it was working fine then suddenly nothing. No activity in the level meters in the mixer or the Halion Sonic SE window. Have selected the correct device in device setup, have done the Play > Apply Default Playback Template which reset Halion, but still no sound.

I'm not aware of having changed anything between the working and non-working versions.

On previous occasions when this has happened, I've had to create a completely new project (which then works) and then copy and paste the data across.

iMac i7
Apogee Quartet
MacOS Sierra
rgonski
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:13 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Ulf » Tue May 23, 2017 7:51 am

rgonski wrote:I have the same problem with sound - it was working fine then suddenly nothing. No activity in the level meters in the mixer or the Halion Sonic SE window. Have selected the correct device in device setup, have done the Play > Apply Default Playback Template which reset Halion, but still no sound.

I'm not aware of having changed anything between the working and non-working versions.

On previous occasions when this has happened, I've had to create a completely new project (which then works) and then copy and paste the data across.


Could you please send me that non-sounding project file to u dot stoermer at steinberg dot de ?
Also, please zip up the folder /Users/<yourname>/Library/Preferences/VSTAudioEngine and also send me.
From the project data and log files I should be able to figure out what is wrong.
Steinberg employee
User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 129 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Ulf » Wed May 24, 2017 10:04 am

rgonski wrote:I have the same problem with sound - it was working fine then suddenly nothing.


Rgonski sent me his project file and it turned out to be the known 'missing port mapping' issue.
I applied my little magic and it's now working again for him.
Steinberg employee
User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 129 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Rebecca Louise » Thu May 25, 2017 7:30 pm

Same problem, it was working fine, now no sound.
The green lights go up and down showing it is active, now no sound.
No sound in the HalionSE window either. (plz forgive the terms, I'm a composer, not a tech.)

A new project in a template works fine.

Could you post the fix? This has happened in multiple documents, so fixing one may not fix the next one.

What to do? Thx for the help!
Rebecca Louise
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 11:46 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Fri May 26, 2017 9:33 am

You should be able to fix the problem yourself as follows:

1. Quit Dorico.
2. Find the affected project in the Finder or in Windows Explorer.
3. Make a copy of the affected project so that you're not tinkering with the original.
4. Change the file extension of the project from .dorico to .zip. Confirm that you want to do this when the operating system asks you whether you're sure.
5. Unzip the zip archive: on Mac, you can simply double-click it; on Windows (which I don't have access to right now) I believe you can right-click and choose to uncompress a compressed folder.
6. Go into the folder that has been created: it will contain four items, one of which is a folder called supplementary_data. Go inside this folder.
7. Delete the vstaudioengine folder from inside the supplementary_data folder.
8. Now go back to the folder that contains four items (e.g. score.dtn, scorelibrary.dtn, etc.), but NOT the parent folder, i.e. the folder that contains these four items.
9. Select these four items (again, NOT by selecting the folder that contains these four items), right-click and choose to archive (Mac) or compress (Windows) them.
10. A new zip archive called something like archive.zip will be created. Change the filename and the extension from .zip to .dorico.
11. Now open up your fixed project in Dorico and you should find that it will reload all of the default sounds again for you.
User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 4201
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 3377 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Ulf » Sun May 28, 2017 9:50 am

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:11. Now open up your fixed project in Dorico and you should find that it will reload all of the default sounds again for you.


Daniel forgot to mention that you need to go to the Play Mode and choose the menu item Play > Apply Default Playback Tempate. Only after that the default sounds will get loaded.

And probably needless to say, don't forget to save your new project.
Steinberg employee
User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarter
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 129 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Rebecca Louise » Sun May 28, 2017 4:44 pm

Thank you! Working now.
Rebecca Louise
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 11:46 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby kenm » Fri Jun 16, 2017 1:01 pm

Is there a description somewhere in the existing documentation of the play back system? I have read this thread with interest, but also the realisation that there are a lot of terms in it whose meaning I have yet to learn.
kenm
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 8:50 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Sat Jun 17, 2017 7:46 pm

No, I'm afraid as yet there is basically no formal documentation for Play mode. This is obviously a high priority for us to develop once our new writer has got her feet under the desk.
User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 4201
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 3377 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Peter Roos » Sun Jun 18, 2017 6:47 am

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:No, I'm afraid as yet there is basically no formal documentation for Play mode. This is obviously a high priority for us to develop once our new writer has got her feet under the desk.



Speaking of which ... Daniel, are you still looking for someone to help document the program / write a comprehensive manual? I saw an ad a while ago. Cheers.
Peter Roos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 7:12 pm
Has thanked: 318 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Help - no sound!

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:13 am

No, we're not looking any longer. As I have said in this thread and elsewhere, we have employed a new writer, but she will not be starting with us for another couple of weeks, and then she will need some time to become familiar both with Dorico and with the documentation toolchain before she can start publishing updates.
User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 4201
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 3377 times


Return to Dorico

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AFT, András at Steinberg, ludwignobel, MarcLarcher, Pietzcker, Stephen Taylor and 7 guests