Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
User avatar
Terry Jones
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Terry Jones » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:18 pm

ShikiSuen wrote:
Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:03 pm
Terry Jones wrote:
Fri May 05, 2017 4:02 pm
wcreed wrote:Just an FYI that EW released Play 5.0.2 today, with VST3 suport.
Now the $64,000,000 question... dare I risk updating to it. ;)
PLAY 5 VST3 is a real shyte among what you should trust.
I used this plugin in PreSonus Studio One 3.5, finished several MIDI arrangement projects, and I hadn't found a crashing case yet.
I have actually updated and tried it since my last post and it seems to work just fine with Dorico. Now I just need the VST/Expression map side of things to catch up a bit and I'll be happy.

User avatar
Terry Jones
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Terry Jones » Wed Sep 20, 2017 5:26 pm

Brian Roland wrote:
Fri Aug 25, 2017 4:43 pm
VidPlayVST seems to be working OK in Dorico under Windows 10.

I'm not sure of the actual GUID, but this worked for me in the Whitelist:

Code: Select all

VidPlayVST64
00000000000000000000000000000000
Now that really is interesting and one of the big misses for me so far in Dorico as I mostly work scoring films.

JonathanK
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 2:33 am
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by JonathanK » Sun Jan 21, 2018 2:29 am

UVIWorkstation version 2.6.15 works in Dorico 1.2 on a MacBook Pro running macOS 10.12.6 (Sierra). I use this with UVI's World Suite.

User avatar
k_b
Member
Posts: 988
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by k_b » Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:29 am

Sound Canvas VA Software Synthesizer does work, once it is whitelisted:

Image

https://www.roland.com/global/products/sound_canvas_va/
Attachments
Sound Canvas VA Software Synthesizer.png
(447.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Dorico Elements 2.1.10, Dorico Pro 2.1.10

semibreve [whole note] - minim [half note]
crotchet [quarter note] - quaver [eighth note] - semiquaver [sixteenth note]

Gone To Lunch
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 12:19 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Gone To Lunch » Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:41 am

How about splitting this list into Mac and Windows ?

Gone To Lunch
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 12:19 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Gone To Lunch » Sat Jun 16, 2018 3:03 pm

To help us expand the whitelist, please post in this thread including .... the relevant lines from the vst2whitelist.txt file, i.e. the plug-in filename and the GUID (the long alphanumeric string).
MOTU MachFive 3.2.1.0
OS X El Capitan 10.11.6

I haven't given the string as I don't know what/where it is ?

Gone To Lunch
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 12:19 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Gone To Lunch » Sat Jun 16, 2018 11:02 pm

I withdraw my recent post that MOTU MachFive 3.2.1.0 works ok.

I posted too early because I successfully loaded it, and assigned sounds to each stave, but none of them show up in the mixer.

And neither do the Vienna VSLs either.

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Senior Member
Posts: 2101
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by MarcLarcher » Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:50 pm

Dear Gone to lunch,
You mean you can see them in the right panel of Play mode, use them as playback instruments (assigning the players in the left panel some instruments from those plug-ins) but they do not show up in the mixer after that? And probably don't play either? That's odd...
Could you post a picture of your Play mode window showing the assignments on the players panel?
OS X 10.13.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 8863
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:25 am

You must make sure you use the multi-output version of MachFive, assuming there is one.

User avatar
k_b
Member
Posts: 988
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by k_b » Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:10 am

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:06 am
At the moment, only Kontakt is whitelisted in the VST 2.x plug-in whitelist, so that it appears in Dorico by default. We would like to expand the whitelist for our first post-release update to include other VST 2.x plug-ins that we know are working properly with Dorico.

If you would like help making whitelisting VST 2.x plug-ins for your own installation of Dorico, please see our Knowledge Base article.

To help us expand the whitelist, please post in this thread including the following details:

1. The name of the plug-in you have successfully tested, ideally including the version number if applicable.
2. Your operating system.
3. The relevant lines from the vst2whitelist.txt file, i.e. the plug-in filename and the GUID (the long alphanumeric string).

Thanks!
Daniel, this is the first message to be read when it comes to getting VST2 PlugIns to work with Dorico.
It does link to an outdated Knowledge Base article which has some wrong information still and might cause trouble.
It still shows the name of the whitelist text file as whitelist.txt - which will not work in Dorico 2

[edit] ah I have just seen, the article has been updated! Thank you.
Dorico Elements 2.1.10, Dorico Pro 2.1.10

semibreve [whole note] - minim [half note]
crotchet [quarter note] - quaver [eighth note] - semiquaver [sixteenth note]

SteamingT
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by SteamingT » Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:00 pm

I have whitelisted the following plugins and found them all to work properly:

Keyscape 1.1.2c
Omnisphere 2.4.2c
Trilian 1.4.4c
Pianoteq Standard 6.2.0
EZDrummer 2.0.2
Superior Drummer 3.1.2
ARIA Player VST 1.504

I run Dorico on my MacBook Pro Retina Mid 2012 with MacOS High Sierra 10.13.5

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Senior Member
Posts: 2101
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by MarcLarcher » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:04 pm

If I may... Pianoteq 6.2 is not a vst2. plug-in, but a vst3 (and an excellent one)
OS X 10.13.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

dbudde
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by dbudde » Thu Jun 21, 2018 8:13 pm

Pianoteq 6.2 has both vst2 and vst3 support. If you whitelist it as vst2 and remove the vst3 file it will load the vst2 version. Owtherwise it will load the vst3 version.
MacBook Pro 16GB - OS X 10.14 beta

User avatar
lockstocknbarrel
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 6:31 am
Location: portland or
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by lockstocknbarrel » Sun Jul 01, 2018 6:37 am

"ARIA Player VST_x64
565354474152416172696120706C6179"

I'm trying to get aria player vst 64 going as well... is the number line beneath "ARIA Player VST_64" a universal number (realizing it's probably not) or is that referencing the windows registry folder it resides?

Thanks
relax, they're just balls

Brian Roland
Member
Posts: 774
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 5:24 pm

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Brian Roland » Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:03 pm

lockstocknbarrel wrote:
Sun Jul 01, 2018 6:37 am
"ARIA Player VST_x64
565354474152416172696120706C6179"

I'm trying to get aria player vst 64 going as well... is the number line beneath "ARIA Player VST_64" a universal number (realizing it's probably not) or is that referencing the windows registry folder it resides?

Thanks
That is a plugin ID, and it is universal and Unique to the ARIA Player, and the same on all Windows systems.

It is no longer needed in a Dorico whitelist. With the latest Dorico 1 or Dorico 2 versions, you only need the plugin names in the whitelist:

ARIA Player VST_x64
ARIA Player Multi VST_x64

With Dorico, I'd suggest using the Multi Version, as it allows you to designate each instrument slot to unique Dorico Mixer channels.

Derrek
Senior Member
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Derrek » Sun Jul 01, 2018 5:37 pm

You will likely find the Aria Player (Multi) more useful, since it lets you output the different instruments/channel slots to different channels in the Mixer.

ARIA Player Multi VST_x64
Dorico 2.1.10, Finale (v25.5), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3, CuBase newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac High Sierra as alternate)
US English Keyboard

Peter Roos
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Peter Roos » Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:55 am

I'm trying to use East West's Spaces reverb, in combination with NotePerformer 3.

Is that possible?

I followed the instructions I found online, about how to "whitelist" a VST2 effect / instrument. But it doesn't seem to work.

Thanks!

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 8863
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:14 pm

In theory you can certainly use Spaces with Dorico, though I've not actually used it myself. This support article is up to date, so if you follow the steps in there you should be all set. If you still have problems, I suggest you start a new thread along with some more details of what you have tried, and perhaps also zip up the contents of your VSTAudioEngine2 folder from /Users/your-username/Library/Preferences and attach it to your post.

Peter Roos
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Peter Roos » Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:39 am

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:14 pm
In theory you can certainly use Spaces with Dorico, though I've not actually used it myself. This support article is up to date, so if you follow the steps in there you should be all set. If you still have problems, I suggest you start a new thread along with some more details of what you have tried, and perhaps also zip up the contents of your VSTAudioEngine2 folder from /Users/your-username/Library/Preferences and attach it to your post.
Thanks Daniel!

This works - I can include two instances of Spaces on each of NotePerformer 1 and NotePerformer 2, see screen picture.
Attachments
Capture64.PNG
(942.67 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Peter Roos
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Peter Roos » Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:01 am

Update July 22, 2018: Spaces 2 by East West - still in beta testing, to be released next week - works with Dorico as well.

Follow the instructions posted by Daniel above about whitelisting VST2 plugins.

Image

Peter Roos
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 7:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Peter Roos » Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:16 am

You can use both of them at the same time, by the way (Spaces 1 and 2).

Image

ps Daniel - check out the GUIs - is that sexy, or what? Look at all those big shiny knobs.

Steve Martin
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Steve Martin » Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:15 am

Hi there,

could someone please help me out here? Thanks if you can :-)

I've noticed some instruments I have in my vst dorico folders are not there.
The instruments I can see are Kontakt 5, note performer, Vienna ensemble and East-West Play, but I cannot see my Ivory Piano, and Garritan CFX piano, which then means I have to whitelist these - I'm guessing that "whitelist" means that once these instruments on my notepad are inserted into the certain file defined by the instructions, on starting up next time, the vst engine will find these and add these to the vst instruments that are available. I hope that I'm correct here.


I've seen the instructions for getting my vst instruments into Dorico [2] that is. Here they are -I need to ask what one of them means first:

"Enter the file name of the desired VST plug-in without file name extension. Please strictly comply with the spelling and case of the original file name."

I'm not sure where I get the file names from for these instruments? Do I get them from my Steinberg vst instruments folder where the dll files are? Thanks if you can give the info.

And for the following instruction:

"Start a new line for each VST2 plug-in you like to add to your whitelist."

I'm not sure what that means for me to do. Does it simply mean that after I've added the name, I hit the "enter" button to start a new line with a different instrument in the document?



thanks kindly for any advice and help someone can give me here :-)

Steve M.

Derrek
Senior Member
Posts: 1665
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Derrek » Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:31 am

The name of the VST should be the name of the .dll without the .dll extension.
Answer to #2: Yes, hit the Enter button to start a new line.
Dorico 2.1.10, Finale (v25.5), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3, CuBase newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac High Sierra as alternate)
US English Keyboard

Steve Martin
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Steve Martin » Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:46 am

Hi Derrek,

thank you for that info. I'll get started and see what happens!

Steve

Steve Martin
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Let us know which VST2.x plug-ins are working in Dorico

Post by Steve Martin » Wed Aug 01, 2018 4:15 am

Thank you Derrek,

wow - worked perfectly. You're a champion! Fantastic!

best,

Steve

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ips, Vaughan Schlepp and 9 guests