change bar number

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
k_b
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:18 pm
Contact:

change bar number

Post by k_b » Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:10 am

Sorry I can not find a way to change the bar numbers.
Any help welcome :-)

User avatar
Robby Poole
Member
Posts: 447
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 3:35 am
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by Robby Poole » Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:44 am

I believe you click on the bar line, it turns orange, right click the bar line. From the sub menu Bar number change, open the dialogue. That should help you get started.

Robby
Dorico 1.1.10
Finale (since v2.2), Sibelius (v1.2 through 7.3),
Mac Pro 2.7 GHz 12-core Intel Xeon E5, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD

User avatar
k_b
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by k_b » Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:14 pm

Thank you Robby, super!

andgle
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:36 pm
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by andgle » Fri Nov 25, 2016 5:31 pm

Is there a way to hide the bar number change in all parts? I can only do it in individual parts
Anders

macOS Sierra

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5624
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:48 pm

No, you have to hide them individually via properties in each layout at present.

Vaughan Schlepp
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by Vaughan Schlepp » Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:38 am

Is there an easy way to exclude a bar from the numbering scheme? I'm thinking of 1st and 2nd endings when they're implemented but sometimes it would be handy now.
MacPro (late 2013), 16GB RAM
MacBookPro (early 2011), 8 GB RAM
Sierra (OS 10.12.6)
Dorico 1.1.10
Finale 3.2-25.4, Sibelius 5-7

Rob Tuley
Member
Posts: 887
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: change bar number

Post by Rob Tuley » Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:41 am

Vaughan Schlepp wrote:Is there an easy way to exclude a bar from the numbering scheme?
That is one of the options in the "Add bar number change" dialog.

Vaughan Schlepp
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by Vaughan Schlepp » Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:16 am

Thank you! I was just suppressing the number, which doesn't change the numbering. I also have to get used to working on the barline before the affected bar. In Finale it's the barline after it.
MacPro (late 2013), 16GB RAM
MacBookPro (early 2011), 8 GB RAM
Sierra (OS 10.12.6)
Dorico 1.1.10
Finale 3.2-25.4, Sibelius 5-7

Runter vom Sofa
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:15 pm
Location: Horten, Norway
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by Runter vom Sofa » Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:02 pm

For some reason, choosing "Add bar number change" does not open a dialogue here. I have tried with several barlines in the score and with other items too. What am I doing wrong? (What I want is the first bar of a single flow project to be numbered 169.)

pianoleo
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by pianoleo » Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:09 pm

Don't click on the barline, click on the white space in the stave to select the whole bar and THEN right-click and select bar number change from the menu.
This only works in Write mode.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius 8.5, Logic Pro X, Dorico 1.1.10 etc.
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997)

Runter vom Sofa
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:15 pm
Location: Horten, Norway
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by Runter vom Sofa » Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:27 pm

Thank you very much!

User avatar
Cyrdup
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by Cyrdup » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:20 pm

pianoleo wrote:
Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:09 pm
Don't click on the barline, click on the white space in the stave to select the whole bar and THEN right-click and select bar number change from the menu.
This only works in Write mode.
Hello I'm still struggling to change bar numbers.
I did what you said, but no dialog box...
What do I do wrong?
2017-09-10.png
(86.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I Use Dorico Version 1.1

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Member
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by MarcLarcher » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:22 pm

What about the Bar numbers menu, just under the first line showing on the list ?
OS X 10.11.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and a sometimes music engraver
French is my native language

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5624
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:31 pm

Cyrdup, add a note in that bar, then select that. It won't work with a bar rest selected (unless it is an explicit bar rest, which in this case I suspect it is not).

User avatar
Cyrdup
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: change bar number

Post by Cyrdup » Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:47 pm

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:31 pm
Cyrdup, add a note in that bar, then select that. It won't work with a bar rest selected (unless it is an explicit bar rest, which in this case I suspect it is not).
Thank you very much!!
It worked just fine :)
And thanks for Dorico!
I'm a big fan ;)

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Robert Enns and 12 guests