Sends & reverb in Play-mode

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
MatsHall

Sends & reverb in Play-mode

Post by MatsHall »

Short question:
Anyone out there who can tell me how the sends and reverb fader works in the mixer?
Custom PC, Windows 10 • MacBook Pro • Dorico 3.5 • Sibelius Ultimate • GPO 4 & 5 • Garritan JABB • NotePerformer 3
http://www.matshalling.se

Daniel at Steinberg

Re: Sends & reverb in Play-mode

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Could you ask a more detailed question that outlines what precisely you want to know?

I'm no audio expert (far from it) but I believe the general principle is that the first send slot goes to the global effects channel, which has the REVerence reverb instantiated by default. It's not clearly labeled (or indeed labeled at all) but basically the amount of signal sent from that slot determines the mix of inputs that goes into the effects channel. The fader in the effects channel in turn specifies how much of that combined signal then goes to the master output.

MatsHall

Post by MatsHall »

Ah, I'm sorry for a very unclear question! This is probably a stupid question but I'm a totally audio/mixer-newbie. :oops:

• Well, when opening the send on one channel nothing comes to the reverb channel. How does this work, what are the steps?

• In more general terms, how do I assign one send slot to a certain channel/effect?
Custom PC, Windows 10 • MacBook Pro • Dorico 3.5 • Sibelius Ultimate • GPO 4 & 5 • Garritan JABB • NotePerformer 3

MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member

Post by MarcLarcher »

Dear MatsHall,

As a former sound engineer, actually I must say that what is really unclear is the mixer itself. I did not understand either how to send sound to the reverb, simply because there does not seem to be a routing option for the sends, so we do not choose what it feeds. It might be somewhere in the operating manual, I confess I did not even looked for that (simply because I do not need the mixer by now !)