Instrument group names

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
axgeertinger
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 6:06 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Instrument group names

Post by axgeertinger » Fri Dec 30, 2016 1:12 pm

The documentation says that
In some works for large forces, there may be multiple groups, for example, in Britten's War Requiem, which has three distinct groups, or Walton's Belshazzar's Feast which requires two separate off-stage brass groups. These make it necessary to be able to assign players to these groups for the purposes of, among other things, properly bracketing and labeling their staves in the conductor's score.
This seems to suggest that instrument groups can be labeled in the score – a feature long missing in Sibelius, for instance. However, I cannot figure out how to make such a group label appear in the score. The documentation does apparently not say how. The group's name in the left setup panel does not seem to have any options to make it visible.

Another question about instrument names: How do I add a line break to the instrument name? For instance, I would like to have something like
Trombone alto
Trombone basso
when these two share a staff. Dorico only lets me have a single line.

I would also like to have woodwinds, horns etc. to have the numbers 1 & 2 (one above the other) on shared staves.
Both situations - group names and instrument names with line breaks - are shown in the attached example. How do I achieve that with Dorico?

Best,
Axel
Attachments
instrument group names.png
(35.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5655
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument group names

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Dec 30, 2016 10:43 pm

None of the things you have described in your post are implemented yet, Axel, but all of them are planned just as soon as we can manage to add them.

Runter vom Sofa
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:15 pm
Location: Horten, Norway
Contact:

Re: Instrument group names

Post by Runter vom Sofa » Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:03 pm

I'll bump this instead of creating a new thread.

I would like to have both the individual instrument names for each separate staff, and the names of the bracketed groups (tubae, chor I, chor II, chor III, chor IV) visible in the score. Is this not yet possible? In such case, has anyone found a workaround?

Edit: a slight kind-of-workaround: Move music frames rightwards, add text frames to the left of each choir, midway between the upper and lower staves. Enter text.

Reactor_UK
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:10 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument group names

Post by Reactor_UK » Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:55 pm

Daniel,

Do you plan to have groups of instruments, say horns 1-8 (ie Mahler) whereby the staves can be split into multiple staves (say, 4 staves, such as horns 1&3, 2&4 3&6 and 4&8) or any combination as required.

Often I may need multiple instruments, flutes etc, however, I would like to be able to indicate on the stave flute 1 and not have the 2nd, 3rd or 4th in the score at the bars they aren't actively playing (I don't mean until the next flow).

Then, for that stave to become flutes, 1&2, 1,2&3 and any combination and to go to their own staves.

Sorry for the long winded question.

Kindest regards. Darren
Cubase Pro 9, Dorico, (another notation application) and too much hardware, vsts to list.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5655
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument group names

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:13 pm

Yes, we certainly plan these kinds of features for bringing music for multiple players onto a smaller number of staves, but it’s a big and complicated area, and it’s something that will take some time for us to get right. I think it will be a real “killer feature” when we get there.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boye, Chris Davey, David Tee, louram, Oboino and 10 guests