Playback tempo

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
rmweiss12
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:38 am
Contact:

Playback tempo

Post by rmweiss12 » Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:49 pm

Is there any way to change the tempo in playback (like in Sibelius)?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 5655
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Playback tempo

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Sat Dec 31, 2016 11:11 pm

There is no tempo slider, if that's what you're looking for, but you can change the playback tempo by adding a tempo mark in your music, and indicating the precise metronome mark you want, e.g. by typing Shift+T and then entering something like "Allegro q=132". Dorico will show the quarter = 132 metronome mark by default, but if you don't want to see it, you can switch off the metronome mark's display via the Properties panel.

rmweiss12
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:38 am
Contact:

Re: Playback tempo

Post by rmweiss12 » Sun Jan 01, 2017 6:46 am

Thanks Daniel. A tempo slider would be great though.

gratkowski
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 10:21 am
Contact:

Re: Playback tempo

Post by gratkowski » Sat Jan 14, 2017 5:33 pm

I would highly appreciate a tempo slider as well.

gratkowski
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 10:21 am
Contact:

Re: Playback tempo

Post by gratkowski » Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:51 pm

me too

JeromeF
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 3:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Playback tempo

Post by JeromeF » Tue Aug 08, 2017 3:19 pm

IMHO - Since Dorice (which its unique value upon competitors) having a sequencer and ability to change play duration separately from the printed notes, and having ability to support VST3/2 of my own plugins, it means that Dorico is aiming to provide a useful playable composition.
However a live and breathing composition in order to sound realistic (as opposed to robotic) should be able to support live tempo with editable Tempo graph (like in Cubase). Otherwise all of its smart support of VST,sequencer etc. is meaningless if I have to use Cubase anyway in order to play the composition fairly.

User avatar
PaulWalmsley
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 9:24 pm
Location: Steinberg, London
Contact:

Re: Playback tempo

Post by PaulWalmsley » Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:30 pm

We do hope to add tempo profile editing in a future version, along with support for automation.
Architect & Developer - Steinberg London

JeromeF
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 3:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Playback tempo

Post by JeromeF » Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:11 pm

That's great. Thanks for your reply. I'll wait for that

Rob Elliott
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Playback tempo

Post by Rob Elliott » Tue Aug 29, 2017 5:12 pm

One more vote for tempo slider
"What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?"


W7 - 64 bits - 24 gb ram / i7

User avatar
mipi
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 5:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Playback tempo

Post by mipi » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:25 am

And one more vote for a slider here. While checking for mistakes or thinking how to arrange, usually I was using such slider on Sibelius to change tempo just temporary. Writing each time metronome marks which you do not need in a final version, hiding them ant etc. is a quite inconvenient and time consuming way to work. Hope so much somebody from Dorico team will confirm this will be added in some future updates.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boye, Chris Davey, David Tee, louram, Oboino and 9 guests