VSL and 1.0.30

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by fratveno » Sun Mar 05, 2017 6:33 pm

That's a handy solution, for sure! (It may be worth reminding folks that those Cubase expression maps are for VSL Special editions only, and not readily usable for those into the full libraries, without modification.)
(re-tired)

dbudde
Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:28 pm
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by dbudde » Sun Mar 05, 2017 6:36 pm

I'm finding the full library expression maps are OK. Granted I haven't done a lot of things yet, but not sure where you are seeing problems. Are you opening the correct presets?
Late 2019 MacBook Pro 64GB - OS X 10.15.1

fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by fratveno » Sun Mar 05, 2017 6:47 pm

I'm sure you are right about that. I'm only using custom matrices myself, and hence only custom Xmaps... I see now that some are available for some of the full libraries as well.

The problems I noticed when I checked out the SE ones some time ago, were that when imported into Dorico there were several duplicates of the same techniques, which I assumed were a result of parameters potentially useful in Cubase, but not applicable to Dorico. Those duplicates caused erronous behavior in my tests, and the cleanup work seemed to take more time than writing them from scratch.
(re-tired)

dbudde
Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:28 pm
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by dbudde » Sun Mar 05, 2017 6:49 pm

Thanks. I'll keep an eye out for that kind of issue.
Late 2019 MacBook Pro 64GB - OS X 10.15.1

dbudde
Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:28 pm
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by dbudde » Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:15 pm

I just looked through the full library woodwinds and brass expression map and there are a bunch of duplicate items but they all have the same parameters except for CC1 which is either 0 or 127. But none of the presets (at least the ones I checked) use that controller. So unless Dorico has a problem with duplicates, as long as it picks one then things should work OK, as has been my limited experience so far.

CC1 is often used in the VSL presets for vertical matrix switch. But in the presets associated with the expression maps, speed control is used for the vertical switch.
Late 2019 MacBook Pro 64GB - OS X 10.15.1

User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by gerrie » Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:41 pm

fratveno,
I'm aware of the fact that adding more instruments require to set the VST and Midi channel manualy in the instrument/player pane. The point is that when doing so Dorico will still not asign it properly. Only when applying the default playback template (Halion) and than changing to VEPro again makes things work. And even then sometimes the audio output of some channels don't reach Dorico while they give VU activity and are definitely routed correctly.
I think there are some fixes yet to be done here.
Do you know how to use VE Event Input in Dorico? You can choose it in the VST Instrument pane but how do you choose these 16 channels in VEPro? Midi Ports are something else, I suppose.
I'll try and experiment more for a while, but when I want to concentrate on the score I'm afraid I have to work with Halion for the time being.

fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by fratveno » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:01 pm

You connect the event input to the same VEP instance and select which of the 16 VEP MIDI banks you want to use.

Otherwise I'm not experiencing your problem...are you on Mac?
(re-tired)

User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by gerrie » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:19 pm

Sorry, I just managed to use event input; when you choose a midi port in the plugin you open a midi port with 16 new channels.
It works. I'm on a PC, but the software is the same I think. Now I hear the instrument when inputting in Dorico, not when playing back. Changing to first midi port - then it plays back also. It's a mistery..

fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by fratveno » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:37 pm

When things get mysterious, it has often helped to restart D. and reopen the file...

Also, ensure that you are routing the event input to a different bank in the Vep server. The main connection uses vep bank 1, so the event input must be routed to bank 2+... set in the event input connect dialog.
(re-tired)

User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by gerrie » Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:17 pm

Yes, I did.
I write down what I do now: I restart D. (VEPro is still loaded with instruments) - New empty project - Add solo player (Flute) - D. loads Halion Sonic + Flute Combi on channel 1. - Change VST instrument to VEPro - Connect plugin to instance in VEPro - This works perfectly.
Then I add a second solo player (Piccolo) - I set the VST and midi channel manually in the instrument pane. - There is no midi arriving at the concerning channel in VEPro. I really can't figure out why.

Thanks for the trouble

fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by fratveno » Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:35 pm

I look at it tomorrow again, are you on Vep5 or 6?
(re-tired)

fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by fratveno » Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:22 am

gerrie wrote:Yes, I did.
I write down what I do now: I restart D. (VEPro is still loaded with instruments) - New empty project - Add solo player (Flute) - D. loads Halion Sonic + Flute Combi on channel 1. - Change VST instrument to VEPro - Connect plugin to instance in VEPro - This works perfectly.
Then I add a second solo player (Piccolo) - I set the VST and midi channel manually in the instrument pane. - There is no midi arriving at the concerning channel in VEPro. I really can't figure out why.

Thanks for the trouble
There's one step you have to do, which I forgot to mention... (having done it so many times, it's probably already become second nature - not an excuse, just an explanation :) ) When you have added the new instrument(s), go to the Play menu and select Load Sounds for Unassigned Instruments. This will load another instance of Halion, but you can then change it to VSL and it will work. So, your suspicion that Halion needs to be loaded first at all times is basically correct. I think this wil change in the future.
(re-tired)

User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by gerrie » Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:00 pm

Hi,
I finally managed to make instruments connect to VEPro one by one. Before Load Sounds for Unassigned Instruments you have to be shure there is no VST set. The loaded Halion has to be ignored (no sounds or GUI loading anyway) and you can set the VST and midi channel in the instrument pane. When you don't make any mistakes things work. Haleluja.
I'm on Vep6. Next thing is trying to add more instruments, use Event Input when exceding 16 channels, add expression maps, etc. To do this for every new project is a bit cumbersome though.

Thanks anyway

fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1447
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by fratveno » Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:20 pm

the load sounds... procedure works for me regardless ... maar so lang dat het werkt zijn we allemaal blij :)

BTW, you can select your Expression maps on the left, and export those in a library, then reload that library in other projects...
(re-tired)

User avatar
gerrie
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:23 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by gerrie » Mon Mar 06, 2017 1:10 pm

OK, so you can export all your Expression maps at the same time..

Unfortunately I discovered that when using VSL percussion expressionmaps, monitoring and inputting notes do sound but playback doesn't, when removing the Expressionmap (default) playback works again..

cyril
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:46 am
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by cyril » Fri Mar 10, 2017 6:51 pm

Hello
Do you have a link to the VSL Expression Maps for Cubase
Thanks
Best

Cyril
MacPro 2010 12 core 2.93 ghz 32 GB Mac OS X 10.11 2722 Rocket Raid Sata III card with 8 x ssd
VSL lib on a Raid 0 of 4 x 256 GB ssd Sata III - Raid 0 of 4 x 64 GB for other libs
System on a 1 TB ssd
Audio Motu PCI system 84 ins / 64 outs
Kbd : P80 Yamaha, S88 Komplete Kontrol, DX7, S25
I-Controls Pro, 2xMidi expression pedals
Synth : many.... (Emu, Rolland, Yamaha, Korg ...)
---
Macbook pro Retina 2.7 ghz 16 GB
---
Mac Mini server 10.10 (server EyeTV, Itunes, WEB, and Backup )
--
Logic X, MainStage
Dorico
Band in a Box, ORB composer
VSL : MIR PRO, Appassionata Strings I, Solo strings , Wind and Brass Complete, Dimension Brass, Overdrive
Kontakt 5, Omnisphere, QLSO, QLSC, CS 80, Arturia V6, Maximo, Genesis, Lunaris, Realivox
Final Cut pro
Camera full HD

dbudde
Member
Posts: 660
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:28 pm
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by dbudde » Fri Mar 10, 2017 6:53 pm

They're in your MYVSL account under Notation related.
Late 2019 MacBook Pro 64GB - OS X 10.15.1

cyril
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:46 am
Contact:

Re: VSL and 1.0.30

Post by cyril » Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:13 pm

Thanks
MacPro 2010 12 core 2.93 ghz 32 GB Mac OS X 10.11 2722 Rocket Raid Sata III card with 8 x ssd
VSL lib on a Raid 0 of 4 x 256 GB ssd Sata III - Raid 0 of 4 x 64 GB for other libs
System on a 1 TB ssd
Audio Motu PCI system 84 ins / 64 outs
Kbd : P80 Yamaha, S88 Komplete Kontrol, DX7, S25
I-Controls Pro, 2xMidi expression pedals
Synth : many.... (Emu, Rolland, Yamaha, Korg ...)
---
Macbook pro Retina 2.7 ghz 16 GB
---
Mac Mini server 10.10 (server EyeTV, Itunes, WEB, and Backup )
--
Logic X, MainStage
Dorico
Band in a Box, ORB composer
VSL : MIR PRO, Appassionata Strings I, Solo strings , Wind and Brass Complete, Dimension Brass, Overdrive
Kontakt 5, Omnisphere, QLSO, QLSC, CS 80, Arturia V6, Maximo, Genesis, Lunaris, Realivox
Final Cut pro
Camera full HD

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”