Copy-paste barlines?

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.

Copy-paste barlines?

Postby LeifG » Fri Mar 17, 2017 5:14 pm

I just set a piece in open meter, but with bar lines scattered around for clarity - meaning I had to manually input quite a large number of bar lines. I created the first and tried to copy it, so that I could insert the rest as easily as possible. But it didn't work, as I apparently couldn't copy the bar line (or at least insert it). Is this expected behavior?
LeifG
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:15 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Copy-paste barlines?

Postby Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Mar 17, 2017 10:09 pm

It is the expected behaviour, at least for now. You can insert new barlines either by typing Shift+B and then typing e.g. | into the popover for a normal barline, or you can select the note before which you want the barline to be inserted and click the appropriate button in the Bars and Barlines panel, but you can't copy and paste them.
Daniel at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 3852
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Has thanked: 98 times
Been thanked: 2961 times

Re: Copy-paste barlines?

Postby LeifG » Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:12 pm

If anyone should be interested, I realized that I can record a macro inputting a barline, then run last script to insert more. Since I have a shortcut for Run Last Script, it takes only one keystroke from now on. This function is very nice for repetitive actions, the best part being that the programming part consists of actually doing the task once. Couldn't be bore intuitive.
LeifG
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:15 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times


Return to Dorico

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Vaughan Schlepp, wader and 3 guests